Pink and Gray Valentine’s Day Tutorial

Standard
Pink and Gray Look with Coastal Scents

Pink and Gray Look with Coastal Scents

You may remember this Coastal Scents quad that I featured in my January favorites.  I had received this sample on my last Coastal Scents order.  I got a couple of requests to do a tutorial using these shades, and I thought that this would make a good look for Valentine’s Day.  The shades that I am using are: Light Pink (TL), Elven Silver (TR), Gunmetal (BL), and Rosy Pink (BR).  You do not have to have these exact shadows to accomplish this look.  Just grab something similar from your stash and use your best judgment.  Your end result may not look exactly like mine, but that doesn’t mean that it won’t still look great.  I ran out of natural light, so I used a diffused flash for the tutorial which means that my shimmer shades look a bit more shimmery than they do in real life.  Otherwise, the tutorial came out pretty close to accurate.  So let’s get started.  🙂

Before you get too excited with the shadows, it is important to prime your lids.  Coastal Scents shadows are pretty solid without a primer, but for date night or special occasions you should use a primer just for added insurance.  You don’t want to have to worry about creasing or fading while you are kissing your sweetie or dancing the night away.  For this look, I primed my lids with Too Faced Shadow Insurance.

Step 1

Step 1

Step 1: I started by applying Rosy Pink to my lid with a flat shader brush.  Stay on the lid and don’t pull it up to the crease.  This look is more of a gray look with just a pop of color.

Steps 2 and 3

Steps 2 and 3

Steps 2-3:  Because of my flash situation, the pictures for step 2 and step 3 looked almost identical, so I’m combining them here.  For step 2 I applied Elven Silver to my crease with a windshield wiper motion.  Bring the color down a bit onto the edge of the pink so that there are no harsh edges.  In this look, Elven Silver is meant to be a transition shade, so don’t worry about the outer corner just yet.  For step 3, I applied Light Pink to highlight my browbone with a loose, fluffy brush and also to the inner corners with a small detail brush.

Step 4

Step 4

Step 4:  Next I applied Gunmetal in a high V-shape in the outer corner.  The point of the V is higher here than I normally go, but I wanted a more dramatic look.  You can use a smaller V, if you prefer.  Don’t worry that things are looking a little crazy.  You are now going to blend, blend, blend.  I used my e.l.f. Studio Angled Contour brush, but you can use a standard crease brush if that’s what you have.

Step 5

Step 5

Step 5:  Once I had Gunmetal blended out, I added another light layer of Elven Silver for a flawlessly smooth transition.  I used that loose, fluffy brush so that I wouldn’t over blend and erase what I did with Gunmetal.  Once you have everything blended out the way you like it, it’s time to move on to liner and mascara (and in my case, eyebrows).

Step 6

Step 6

Step 6:  To start with, I lined under my eye with NYX Slide-On Pencil in Jewel.  I could have simply used Rosy Pink again under the eye, and feel free to use your pink shadow, but my eyes were already irritated (as you could probably tell), so I figured that a pencil liner was the best bet.  Besides, I really like Jewel, and don’t find occasion to wear it nearly enough.  The point is, continue the pink look under the eye.

Step 7

Step 7

Step 7:  For the rest of my eye liner I used NYX Slide-On Pencil in Jet Black.  I lined my upper lash line, and my waterline all the way to the inner tear duct.  Again, that’s not something I do every day, but I wanted a more dramatic look.  A winged liner would look great with this, but I find that winging my liner looks very strange on my eye.  I think I have a weird eye shape.  Or maybe I just need to practice more.  I’m definitely not a makeup artist.  Either way, I never wing my liner because it doesn’t work for me, but that shouldn’t discourage you from winging to your hearts content.  To finish the look, curl your lashes and apply mascara.  False lashes might be a fun addition, but I just stuck with my wimpy little natural lashes.

VdayLook2

I hope that you liked the look, and that you found the tutorial easy to follow.  One of my goals this year is to do more tutorials and EOTD looks on this blog.  I also need to get over my fear of false lashes.  I’ve never used them, and have this ridiculous fear that I am going to glue my eye shut or something.  I know, I’m a big dork.  Anyway, let me know what you think of the look and how successful you think the tutorial was in the comments below.  I am really trying to improve, and your comments help me to be a better blogger.  I hope that some of you will give this look a try (not necessarily for Valentine’s Day).

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

10 responses »

  1. Looks beautiful! False lashes would really amp it up for a special date/dancing. The only downside with false lashes is that they are addicting! Once you wear them and you see how beautiful they make your eyes, you want to wear them all the time 🙂

    • Thanks! This is roughly what I was talking about earlier in email with the pink and grays. I’m sure that your elf palette has similar shades. You could totally use that periwinkle that you like in place of the silver in the crease.

  2. I love it! Those colors Look so pretty. And I love how you explain everything, very easy. I like how you do your eyebrows too. :). Happy V day!

  3. Great job on this! I love the step-by-step photos. I will be trying this one soon, for sure! Oh, and I’m with you on the fear of false lashes. I’ve tried them a few times, but I can’t seem to get the hang of the glue and they always come unstuck on the inner corner. I need to work on it some more!

Leave a Reply

