L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer

Standard
L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer

L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer

I was excited to try the L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer when I came across them.  It just looks so darned cute, like a lip pencil for your face.  I also figured that the handy shape would make touch ups on the go pretty simple.  I don’t normally use stick concealers, so I wasn’t sure if I would like the L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer, but I figured that I would give it a shot anyway.

L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer comes in six shades.  There are three shades in the Warm family and three shades in the Neutral family.  The shade ranges are: fair/light (1-2-3), light/medium (4-5), and medium/deep (6-7-8).  I chose N1-2-3 for myself, and my sister (who has darker skin than I do) let me borrow her W4-5 to swatch for you so that you can see the differences.

L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer in N 1-2-3

L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer in N1-2-3

Based on what I see from N1-2-3, the neutral shades have more of a peach-toned base than a yellow base.  When I used to use the L’Oreal True Match Pressed Powder I used a Warm shade (possibly W3, but I can’t remember for sure), but the W1-2-3 concealer looks too yellow for me.  N1-2-3 is a little light on my face, which is darker than my swatching hand, but not so much so that I can’t work with it.  I may consider swapping for the next shade up, but I feel like that will probably be too dark.  I wish L’Oreal had offered four shades in the range instead of three (1-2 fair, 3-4 light, etc.).  I think people would be better off finding a match if there had been eight shades in the line instead of just the six.  I’ve heard some complaints that many people are finding themselves in between shades and can’t find a good match.

L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer in W 4-5

L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer in W4-5

W4-5 looks a bit orange on my skin, even though I do actually have some yellow undertones (which you can’t really tell because of the lighting in the swatch picture below).  It blends out to a nice shade, though.  I would say that if you definitely have warm-toned skin you can opt for the W shades, but if you are unsure about it, the N shades would be a safer bet.  Try to find swatch pictures online, and shop at a store that takes returns.

L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer (Top: N1-2-3, Bottom: W4-5)

L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer (Top: N1-2-3, Bottom: W4-5)

The concealer gives light coverage that can be built up to medium coverage.  The swatches above are heavy handed and obviously not blended out so that you could see the color better.  You can cover minor spots and blemishes, but serious flaws will still show through.  Though the formula is indeed creamy and blendable, I personally did not like using L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer under my eyes.  It creased up on me and settled into fine lines.  If you are young and have smooth skin you may be able to get away with it, but I couldn’t.  Also, if you have major dark circles, this won’t be enough.  I did like it as a spot concealer for scars and blemishes, though.

The convenient self-sharpening shape allows for easy travel.  The cap even has little ridges so that it snaps into place and won’t get jostled off in your bag.  These are good things because you will probably have to re-apply after a bit.  I got about six hours of wear on my dry skin.  Those with oily skin will probably get closer to four, depending on where you apply and where your real problem oily spots are.  Re-applying is quick and easy.  You can blend with your fingers, no brush required.  The concealer dries to a somewhat powdery finish, but those with oily skin, especially, should set with powder.

All in all, I like L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealer, but I don’t love it.  You get 0.1 oz of product, and it retails for around $9-$11, depending on where you shop.  If you are looking for a travel-friendly spot concealer to cover minor flaws, this is a great product for you.  Otherwise, it’s a little underwhelming.  I’d wait for a sale before purchasing, and definitely do some research on shade selection.  Swatches are your friend.  🙂

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. I feel about the same with mine it works to carry with me for touch ups but it would not be my first choice which is too bad because I like the style of it.

Leave a Reply

