Revlon Bohemian Eyeshadow Tutorial

Standard
Bohemian Eye Look

Bohemian Eye Look

I have a tutorial for you today.  I picked up the Revlon Photoready Primer, Shadow, plus Sparkle Eyeshadow Palette in Bohemian the second week of February when Revlon was 40% off at Rite Aid.  I just fell in love with the color combination.   It reminded me a little of the Too Faced Summer Eye palette that came out last spring.

Revlon Photoready Eyeshadow palette in Bohemian

Revlon Photoready Eyeshadow palette in Bohemian

These Revlon Photoready Eyeshadow palettes are interesting because in addition to the three eyeshadows, they claim to have a “primer” shadow as well as a sparkle top-coat.  In reality, the “primer” functions simply as just another eyeshadow, and works well as a brow highlight.  I’ve been wearing this palette quite a bit lately, and wanted to do a tutorial to show you how the shadows work.  This color combo has been popular lately, and I keep seeing similar shades appearing.  If you don’t have the Revlon Photoready Eyeshadow palette in Bohemian, just use whatever similar shades you have in your collection.  You can enlarge all of these photos for a closer look if you feel you need it.

Revlon Photoready Eyeshadow palette in Bohemian

Revlon Photoready Eyeshadow palette in Bohemian

Here is a look at the shadows that I will be using.  The shadows in the Revlon Photoready Eyeshadow palette in Bohemian are not all that pigmented, so be sure to prime your lids to help them out.  A good option to really make the colors pop would be NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencil in Milk, which I have used many times with this look.  Today, though, I used Too Faced Shadow Insurance as my primer for a more subtle effect.

Step 1

Step 1

Step 1: I started by applying the center teal/blue shade to my lid with a flat shader brush.  Stay on the lid and don’t pull it up into the crease.  We want the blue to just peek out from under the other shades.

Step 2

Step 2

Step 2: Next we want to use the peachy pink shade that’s on the top of the palette.  This is our transition color, and it will help blend the brown out when we apply it later.  I used my e.l.f. Studio Angled Contour brush to sweep the peachy shade on and above the crease.

Steps 3-4

Steps 3-4

Steps 3-4: You couldn’t really see much of a difference in the pictures of these two steps, so I am just going to combine them.  Step 3: With a somewhat fluffy crease brush, apply the brown shade to the crease and the outer portion of the lid.  I find it best to stamp the color onto the lid and then blend it up.  Blend until the brown transitions smoothly into the peach.  Step 4: Take that champagne “primer” shadow and, with a fluffy brush, swipe it under the brow for a browbone highlight.  I completely forgot to do it today, but you could also dab a little of that same shade to highlight the inner corner.

Step 5

Step 5

Step 5: As a totally optional step, you can now add a little of the sparkle top coat to the lid.  (This was nearly impossible to photograph.)  The shadows in the Bohemian palette are all pretty shimmery, so you don’t really need to add any more sparkle, but it can be fun.  There is major fall-out with the sparkles, so apply your face makeup after your eyes, or use a mixing medium (or water) on your brush.  Today I used a dry brush because I didn’t want super intense sparkle.

Bohemian Eye Look

Bohemian Eye Look

When you have everything blended the way you want it, add liner and mascara, and you are done.  If you want the blue to pop a little more than it does here, feel free to go back in with your paddle brush and add a little more shadow to the lid.  For today, I preferred to keep it as it was.  I lined my eyes with NYX Slide-On Pencil in Brown Perfection, which is one of my favorite eyeliners.  I smudged both the top and bottom liner with a sponge-tip smudger.  I’m testing a new mascara, so today I used Physicians Formula Organic Wear Fake Out Mascara.

Bohemian Eye Look

Bohemian Eye Look

I really like the look, and the way the colors work together.  If Bohemian in any indication, these Revlon Photoready Eyeshadow palettes are fun, but finicky.  As I mentioned earlier, they are not the most pigmented shadows ever, so a primer is a must.  Also, they do cause a lot of fall-out, so you have to be careful when applying.  However, I really like the combination of shades that they have.  The palettes are really pretty and, I think, worth a try if they are on sale.  I do not recommend paying $9-$10 for them, which I  believe is regular price.  I also don’t think that you need to rush out and get every palette in the line.  However, I do think that if you pick up one or two when they are discounted you may be pretty happy with them.  I’m glad that I got Bohemian and have been getting a lot of use out of it.  I hope that you like the look.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

