EOTD: Peacock Inspired Eyes

Standard
Peacock Inspired Eyes

Peacock Inspired Eyes

I didn’t have much going on today because I am taking it easy after almost giving myself a concussion yesterday.  I slammed my head against the corner of my kitchen cabinet.  So, since I was just kickin’ it, I thought that I’d do an EOTD post.  I’ve been wanting to do a peacock inspired look for a few weeks, but hadn’t gotten around to it.  I used golds, greens, and blues.  This was me just experimenting, but I really like the way it came out.  I played up the green today, but if I try this again, I may bolster the blue.  This look would be a great one for winged eyeliner and false lashes, but since I was just playing, I kept it simple.  I hope that you like it.  🙂

PeacockEye2

PeacockEye3

PeacockEye4

PeacockEye5

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

10 responses »

    • Thank you! I’m not sure if I agree that eye color has as much to do with pulling off different looks as much as skintone and hair color. I think it’s much harder for a fair skinned blond to pull off bold colorful looks than someone with slightly darker coloring. That being said, however, I have see some incredible looks on girls with all types of coloring. I guess it’s just a matter of knowing what works best for you. Some examples of blue-eyed girls who rock their eye looks are xSparkage.com and lisanneblogt.wordpress.com

  1. That is GOR geeeeee ous! For the bottom lid, did you just dust gold eyeshadow over liner, or do you have a liner in that beautiful shade? I need to get some liner… is NYX my best bet?

    • Thank you! 🙂 Actually on the bottom lid I used my NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Cucumber (also as a base all over the lid) and then lined both the top and bottom lash line with “The Stroke” from the Balm Jovi palette. It’s just a Navy Blue shadow with slight shimmer, so you don’t have to use that particular shade. It’s what I used in the crease, and looks more blue in real life. For some reason the pictures turned out really green. Any navy blue should work over Cucumber. I may have used some gold in the inner corner, but I don’t remember. If so, it came from the Coastal Scents sample quad that I got in my last Ipsy bag. For pencil liner, yes, I’d recommend NYX Slide-on pencils. They are my favorite pencil liners right now. Rimmel recently came out with Scandal-Eyes Kajal liners that are getting rave reviews, but I haven’t had a chance to get any yet. For higher-end, I’d say stick to Urban Decay or Stila. Do you need rec’s for liquid or gel, or do you pretty much stick to pencil?

      • Pencils work best for me… I have a pesky hand tremor that makes it tough to do liquid or gel without looking like it’s my take on a seismograph. 😛

        In addition to the Tarte mascara, I picked up a couple of NYX slide-on pencils (sparkly black and brown), a NYX eye shadow palette (Met My Romeo), and the NYX stay matte powder foundation. I’m looking forward to playing with the stuff. 🙂

        • Cool! Meet my Romeo is one of the new Love in Florence Palettes. I totally want one in Eat, Love, and Be Fab. I am trying to convince myself not to buy a bunch of the New NYX spring eyeshadow palettes and trios because Lord knows that I don’t need any more eyeshadow, but they look so good! I think that you will really like all of the stuff that you picked up.

Leave a Reply

