March 2013 Ipsy Bag

Standard
March 2013 Ipsy Bag

March 2013 Ipsy Bag

It’s Ipsy time again, and I have my March bag to show you.  The theme for March is “The Great Escape” and the bag is all about beauty on-the-go.  Can I just say that the nautical theme makeup bag is so freaking cute!  It’s not the best quality, but it is really adorable.  Anyway, let’s get into the goods.

GlamRX Mini Freestyle Palette

GlamRX Mini Freestyle Palette

GlamRX Mini Freestyle Palette:  “The GlamRX Mini Freestyle Palette was made exclusively for ipsy Glam Bag subscribers. The magnetic base is the perfect spot to store pan-only eyeshadows (2 of which are included in this Glam Bag!), blushes & bronzers, or whatever you need for perfect for quick touch ups on the go! Whether you are headed off to spring break or just need a cute and clever way to store products in your bag, you can create the perfect makeup look and take it with you with your exclusive GlamRX Mini Freestyle Palette.”  I’m not sure how to price this one out.  The regular Glam RX Touch Up palette that this Freestyle palette was modeled after retails for $16.50.  In addition to the magnetic palette, it normally comes with a top layer containing makeup for touch ups.  I’m going to gauge this is worth $8.00, since we got half of the original product.

Yaby Eyeshadow refills

Yaby Eyeshadow refills

Yaby Eyeshadow refill:  “Whether you want to make a dramatic statement or just add a veil of color to your eyes, the yaby eyeshadow refills are extremely easy to work with. Can be used wet or dry and the smooth texture allows blending with ease. All shadows are vegan friendly and the pans are reusable for mixing.”  Retails for $3.15 each at yabycosmetics.com.  I believe that these are full-sized refills.

Juice Beauty Hydrating Mist

Juice Beauty Hydrating Mist

Juice Beauty Hydrating Mist:  “Juice Beauty Hydrating Mist tones, hydrates, and refreshes your face and hair while on the go, anytime of the day. Hydrate with the refreshing blends of organic juices for a fresh, radiant complexion.”  Retails at $22 for 6.75 oz at juicebeauty.com.  Sample size 1oz, worth $3.27

LA Fresh Travel Lite Makeup Remover 8ct Pouch

LA Fresh Travel Lite Makeup Remover 8ct Pouch

LA Fresh Travel Lite Makeup Remover 8ct Pouch:  “LA Fresh Travel Lite portable towlette wipes are perfect for jetsetters, go-getters, outdoor enthusiasts and multi-taskers everywhere. Towlette packets are small in size, designed for practicality and are easy to apply discreetly. Each item is carry-on friendly and slim enough to slip into a pocket, purse or wallet. Perfectly portable, La Fresh makes beauty a breeze when you’re on-the-go.”  8-pack retails for $1.99 at lafreshgroup.com

IpsyMarch2013bagAll in all, my grand total worth of March’s Ipsy bag is $19.56.  It’s more than my $10 subscription fee, but not by nearly as much as usual.  I usually get five items in my bag, but this month was only four.  I’m a little ambivalent about this month’s bag.  On one hand, I’m very excited about the small magnetic palette that I received.  I’ve been thinking about getting a Z-palette or something similar to de-pot my drugstore palettes.  It’s great to have a small “tester” magnetic palette to see what I think before I invest in a larger one.  Plus, this is the perfect size for my Coastal Scents samples and these Yaby shadows.   On the other hand, the bag overall is a bit underwhelming.  I have no interest in the LA Fresh wipes at all.  Yaby is a Canadian brand, so even if I like them, I probably won’t purchase because shipping to the US is like $25.  I’m interested in trying the Juice Beauty hydrating mist, but I still haven’t really made up my mind if I like March’s bag or not.  It’s certainly not the best bag that I have received from Ispy, but this is my sixth month and the first one that didn’t excite me.  That’s a pretty good record in my opinion.  I can’t love them all.

How about you?  For those who are Ipsy subscribers, did you like this month’s bag?  let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. I did not like the shadow. I will never wear turquoise eye shadow. The rest was okay. It wasn’t as good as past bags, but I will still use the other stuff.

  2. Sorry to hear you’re a bit underwhelmed by this month’s Ipsy bag! I don’t subscribe to Ipsy, but I’ve tried some of the LA Fresh wipes before and, for what it’s worth, I found that they did a decent job of removing makeup without irritating my eyes. Maybe you will grow to love them…? I hope you can at least enjoy using the eyeshadows and the palette! 🙂

    • I’m bound to get items that I don’t love, but that’s okay. It’s all part of having a service like this. I’m still very impressed with Ipsy overall. Thanks for letting me know your opinion on the LA Fresh wipes.

  3. i ended my resub in jan. so far feb and this one are not interesting. there is 5 items, palette, 1shadow, 1 shadow, mist, wipes.

    • I guess that I consider the eyeshadows as one item because they are the same. That’s okay, though. The subscription is clearly stated as 4-5 items, but we usually get 5. Overall, I still like Ipsy.

Leave a Reply

