Rimmel BB Cream Epic Fail

Standard
Rimmel BB Cream

Rimmel BB Cream

I have been hearing such great things about Rimmel’s new 9-in-1 Skin Perfecting BB Cream.  There are a lot of people who really like the formula so I wanted to give it a try, even though I am not the biggest fan of American drugstore BB Creams.  This Rimmel version, people said, was different.  Well, I certainly found it different all right.

Rimmel BB Cream

Rimmel BB Cream

Here is what Rimmel has to say about their 9-in-1 Skin Perfecting BB Cream: “Primes, moisturises, minimizes pores, conceals, covers, smoothes, mattifies, brightens, and helps protect. Lightweight, ultra comfortable formula instantly gives a flawless, 100% natural finish. SPF 25.”  Rimmel 9-in-1 Skin Perfecting BB Cream Comes in three shades, Light, Medium, and Medium dark.  The formula is thick, and because of its thickness offers more coverage than some of the other BB Creams on the market.  I found that it didn’t want to blend into my skin well, and takes a bit to work it in.  Also, it seems to dry pretty fast, so you need to blend it out as quickly as possible.  Below you can see what it looks like partially blended on my hand.  Can you see how it looks a little dry and patchy?

Rimmel BB Cream

Rimmel BB Cream- partially blended

When worked into the skin, Rimmel BB Cream has pretty decent coverage, which is unusual for a typical BB Cream.  It has a semi-matte finish, also unusual for a typical BB Cream.  There is a very strong scent to the product that I was not a fan of.  I thought that on my hand, the finish looks smooth and even.  The swatch here looks really good in my opinion.

Rimmel BB Cream- blended out

Rimmel BB Cream- blended out

Unfortunately, I had a completely different experience when applying Rimmel BB Cream to my face.  First, I want to say that I do not think my results are typical.  I believe that I had an allergic reaction to the product, so take this with a grain of salt.  Here is my experience trying to use Rimmel’s 9-in-1 Skin Perfecting BB Cream.

First, I tried to apply it on bare skin and I could not get the product to blend out on my face.  Trying with both my fingers and a brush, it looked spotty and patchy, and just terrible.  I washed it all off immediately.  Next I tried just one small area on my face over Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, thinking that a primer would help it apply more evenly.  Still, it looked patchy and uneven, like it did not want to blend out at all.  It balled up when I tried to blend and was a complete disaster.  It was like my skin didn’t want anything to do with this BB Cream.  I gave up and went to take swatch pictures for the blog on my hand.

Since my swatches came out so well, I decided to try the BB Cream one more time.  I had needed to blend a lot on my hand to get the smooth finish, so I figured that maybe I hadn’t blended enough when I tried to wear it.  Also, my skin had been pretty cold in the morning, so maybe now that my skin was warmer it would blend better.  I tried again, making sure to blend really well with my fingers, and working on small sections of my face to avoid the quick dry time.  It still looked horrible, dry and patchy, and it emphasized my pores.  I tried smoothing it out with a brush to no avail.  Completely disappointed, I moved on with my day so that I could at least test longevity for my review.

After about fifteen to twenty minutes, I noticed that my face felt really hot and my skin kind of stung a little.  I looked in the mirror and was shocked to see that my cheeks were so red that they looked almost purple under the makeup.  I immediately went to wash my face, which made it sting even more.  My cheeks and forehead were bright red and very hot.  I applied moisturizer and some Tarte Maracuja Oil to my whole face to sooth it, but it took hours for the heat and redness to go away.  I don’t know if it was the fragrance or what, but something in that BB Cream completely reacted with my skin in a very bad way.  It was terrible.

Shocked and totally embarrassed tomato face

Shocked and totally embarrassed tomato face

Now, like I said, these results are not typical.  I have heard some great things about Rimmel 9-in-1 Skin Perfecting BB Cream.  I obviously do not agree, but that doesn’t mean that everyone will have a bad reaction to it.  I would certainly be wary if  you have sensitive skin.  Also, just to be on the safe side, be sure to purchase from a store that takes returns and keep your receipt.  I got my tube for 50% off, so it’s not a huge loss, but I am still going to return it.  For me, Rimmel 9-in-1 Skin Perfecting BB Cream was an epic fail.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. I also found it to be hard to blend, but appreciate the ease of a SS/primer/fdtn, the coverage it provides, and the semi matte finish. It’s not what I would expect of a high end product, but it does the job for $7

  2. Ooh, that stinks! As a fellow sensitive skin-haver, I totally understand! I’ve learned the hard way that I’m highly allergic to pretty much everything Garnier makes, so I’ve been where you are. Hope your face recovers quickly! And thanks for the heads-up about this BB cream; now I know to avoid it!

  3. Love the shocked and embarrassed tomato face! I know I’m a jerk, but this review made me laugh out loud. There is just something funny about a skin perfecting cream doing evil things to your face. I am so sorry that you had this experience! Is it better now?

Leave a Reply

