My Last Haul and an Announcement

Standard

announcement

Today is my mother’s birthday.  (Happy Birthday, mom!)  I can’t believe that it is already April.  Where has this year gone?  Anyway, I went shopping this weekend, and this is a collective haul of the makeup items that I purchased.  I also got some clothes, but I’m not sure if anyone would be interested in that, so I’ll stick to the beauty items unless you say otherwise.  It will be my last haul for awhile, because I have an announcement to make.  But first, let’s get into the goodies.

March makeup haul

March makeup haul

First off, the only Ulta 21 Days of Beauty steal that I took advantage of was this past Thursday, Tarte Pure Maracuja Oil.  I had a deluxe sample of this oil that I loved and savored, making it last as long as possible because I didn’t want to shell out the $48 for a full sized bottle.  Ulta offered it for $25, so I marked my calendar and snatched it up as soon as I could.  Though the price tag makes me choke, this oil is amazing and has done wonders for my skin.  I haven’t had a dry, flaky attack since I started using the oil.  I made it all through the winter with no major drying issues!   The oil really helped heal my face after the awful Rimmel BB Cream incident last week.  I was so excited to see it go on sale.  I hope that it’s a beauty steal again next time Ulta does their 21 Days of Beauty.

While at Ulta, I grabbed some of their 5 for $10 seasonal items for Easter baskets and such.  I threw in this set of Spring Fling Lip Glosses because I loved how sparkly they are.  I’ve been on a real shimmer/sparkle kick lately.  That’s probably what possessed me to pick up the Spring Fling Multi-Shimmer and Brush Set.  It’s a stackable set that features five shimmer powder and a brush.  Now that Spring is here, I’m feeling a sense of whimsy.

I picked up one of the new NYX Love in Rio eyeshadow palettes.  I’ve been eying En Fuego for weeks now, and finally picked it up.  I believe a review is in order.  I would have grabbed more, but the NYX selection was seriously wiped out in my local Ulta store.  I also grabbed a back up of my NYX Slide on eye liner in Golden Olive because the one I have is almost gone.  I wear this shade constantly.

Speaking of liner, I picked up two of the new Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Khol Kajal liners.  I already have the liners in Black and Taupe and love them, so I grabbed Deep Blue and Brown.  Don’t worry, a review and swatches  are on the way.

Now, for my announcement.  I am putting myself on a No-Buy for the month of April, possibly longer.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with the concept, a No-Buy means that I will not be able to shop for makeup, clothes, accessories… anything that’s not necessary.  If I run out of shampoo or toothpaste or something like that, obviously I can buy more.  But I can’t get anything frivolous.  If someone  wants to give me gift (like my husband or my sister) that also fine.  I have such a back-log of items for review that I shouldn’t have any problems finding things to post about.  I’m just feeling like I really need to use up some current items before I get anymore.  So you won’t be seeing any hauls or brand-spankin’-new items for a while.  I’m making this announcement publicly so that I can have some accountability.  I know that you will keep me honest.  😉

That’s it for today.  Again, I can not believe that it’s already April.  I didn’t even realize it until monthly favorites videos started to pop up on my Youtube channel subscriptions.  I’ll try to have my favorites post up soon.  I hope that you liked my haul.  Have you gotten any new items that you are excited about?

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. Good luck on the no-buy! I’m doing a project pan with a twist–I’m rewarding myself with wish list items. The goal is to use up the old and bring in quality new stuff that I’ve researched and know will work. Some examples: use all my skin care samples and current skin misc. and get the natural skin care stuff I’ve been dying to switch over to. Use two bottles of lotion I’m lukewarm about, and get a bottle of my favorite lotion. I have baskets of stuff to use and a reward for certain categories once everything is gone. It’s a great motivator for me and in the end I get to replace a bunch of junk with a small handful of quality items. Works for me anyway, lol!

  2. Happy birthday to your mom! I enjoyed this post & would like to see the clothes you got, too! Good luck on your spending hiatus; I tried that back in February & was mostly successful, LOL.

  3. I’m with you on the shimmer and sparkle… there’s just something fun about sparkling like a wee fairy. 🙂 Best of luck on the spending hiatus! I’ve tried that on books and been mostly successful, but it’s difficult to stick to it sometimes!

Leave a Reply

