Guest Post: NYX Love in Florence Meet My Romeo Palette

Standard

Hey everyone, I am recovering from a stomach bug and am not quite up for blogging.  My awesome friend Kelly was gracious enough to write up a guest post to share here on BiBB.  I think it’s important to occasionally hear reviews from someone who isn’t quite as obsessed (ahem) with makeup as your typical beauty blogger.  Luckily, Kelly decided to help me out with this review.  All of the pictures are her own and most can be enlarged by clicking on them.  You can experience more of her quirky writing style, wry sense of humor, and general neurosis over at readingwithanalyis where she talks about books, reading, and life as she sees it.  I also have a NYX Love in Florence palette to show you, and I’ll hopefully be putting that one up tomorrow.  In the meantime, here is Kelly’s review.

NYX Love in Florence Meet My Romeo Palette

NYX Love in Florence Meet My Romeo Palette

I recently purchased the NYX Love in Florence palette in Meet My Romeo, and I figured I’d be a good friend and share a review and some swatches.  First up, I’m usually a bit bemused whenever Teresa waxes about adorable product packaging, but look at that cute little plastic bow!  Yes – it’s adorable.  The case is also pretty easy to open, and the pans of product are of a decent size.  It is a little difficult to use a brush on those two long, narrow pans, but I was able to make it work.

kellynyx2

NYX Love in Florence Meet My Romeo Palette

I couldn’t find any color names for these shades, so I’ll just refer to them by number, 1-5.  I’ll go ahead and give a caveat… I’ve never done this swatching thing before, and I’m fairly certain I didn’t do it correctly.  I had a heck of a time trying to get the first two shades to even show up on my skin (I used my left inner arm), but I have read some reviews that these shadows are not as pigmented as one could hope, so perhaps this is not entirely a case of user-error.  Anyway…

kellynyx5flash

Meet My Romeo with flash

The top line of swatches is just the shadow over my bare skin, and the bottom line is over a layer of e.l.f. essential eyelid primer.  The image above shows all five colors snapped with a flash and indoor light.

kellynyx6

Meet My Romeo w/out flash

This photo shows pretty much the same thing except without the flash in indoor light.

kellynyx3

Meet My Romeo lighter shades

I also took some closer shots (without flash) to show the nearly nonexistent lighter colors (can you even see color 2 without the primer?).  Shade 1 is a pretty golden taupe with a good deal of both shimmer and sparkle.  Shade 2 is a very pretty (but under-pigmented) pearl shade.  When I actually put it on my eyelid (over a good primer, Tarte Cleanslate 360° Creaseless), it was pretty underwhelming, but when I applied a bit of it over some Wet ‘n’ Wild Coloricon shadow in Brulee along my browbone, the shimmer from shade 2 was just enough.

kellynyx4

Meet My Romeo darker shades

And here is a closer shot of the three darker shades (without flash).

My favorite shade of the bunch is probably 3, with 5 coming a close second, even though it’s a little patchy and the sparkle fallout is fairly ridiculous.  Shade 3 is a very shimmery plummy brown with a hint of pewter.  Shade 4 is a matte brown with just a hint of gray (dun, perhaps) that applied a bit patchy over bare skin but was fairly workable over the primer.  Shade 5 is a mostly-pewter matte brown with a goodly amount of gold sparkle.  As with shade 4, shade 5 was patchy over bare skin but worked great over the primer, except that the gold sparkle landed everywhere other than my eyelid.

kellyeyeduo

And here is an office-appropriate, quite neutral look using all five shades and the Wet ‘n’ Wild Coloricon shade Brulee (with shade 2 applied over for a hint of shimmer).  I also used NYX Slide On… liner in Brown Perfection and the Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara (LOVE… you are so right, Teresa!) to finish the look.

Bottom line

Pigmentation: Not super awesome… you really have to use a primer, and a good primer at that, and you have to load your brush with a lot of product in order for it to show up at all.  With the sparkle shades (1 and 5) there is some fallout.

Formula:  I really liked the formula of shades 1, 2, and 3 (the shimmer shades), even though I wished for more pigmentation.  For the two matte shades (4 and 5), the formula was a little bit patchy, but it still performed pretty well.  All five shades blended well with each other and with the Wet ‘n’ Wild Coloricon shadow I used.

Value:  I picked up this palette from Ulta when NYX products were BOGO 50% off, and I’m happy with the performance for a $4 price point.  Had I paid $8, I might have been a trifle bummed.

All told, I’m glad I picked up the NYX Love in Florence palette in Meet My Romeo.  I’ll be keeping an eye out for the other Love in Florence palettes that caught my fancy: Eat, Love, Be Fab; La Dolce Vita; and Ciao Bella.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

