Tag: (Beauty) Things I Suck At

Standard

suck

There is a tag going around youtube called “Beauty Things I Suck at” (don’t blame me for the poor grammar, I didn’t name this tag).  I think it’s really fun and comforting to see what areas people find frustrating in the vast world that is beauty.  Have you ever seen a gorgeous makeup look on a model or an actress, but when you tried to replicate it at home it turned into a big mess?  Are you often left wondering “How in the world did the DO that?!”  We all have those things in our makeup routine that are more difficult than others.  Many of the people who have beauty blogs and youtube accounts are not makeup professionals, but are enthusiasts who want to share the tips and tricks they have learned along the way.  I am by no means a beauty expert and there are a load of things I struggle with.  Here are the beauty thinks that I think that I suck at.

bad-hair-day

Hair:  I am terrible at doing my hair.  You may have noticed that I have almost no hair related posts at all here on BiBB.  That’s because I suck at doing my hair.  Like, a lot.  I have Ultra-straight, fine hair that does not like to be manipulated in any way.  It doesn’t like to curl, or do anything other than hang limp.  I’d love soft beachy waves, but it will not happen because my hair is as stubborn as I am.  And I do not know how to play with my hair.  I can’t even french braid it, that’s how bad I am.  The only thing I know how to do is dye it myself, which I do every few months.  I’d say, 90% of the time my hair is in a ponytail.  That’s just how I roll.

tanning

Fake Tan:  I am not the biggest fan of fake tanners because I really don’t like the smell.  Consequently, I have never gotten in the habit of using it.  As you probably know from experience, false tanners take some getting used to in order to master how to apply them without leaving streaks.  Since I apply them so rarely, I haven’t figured out how to get that smooth natural looking application.  I’m also not sure how often I need to re-apply.  Do you all have problems with it washing away in the shower?  I’d like my “tan” to last a few days, but I’d also like to bathe during that time.  I end up splotchy and streaky.  I really need to master my technique because, as it stands, I suck at applying false tanners.

Unbenanntm

False Lashes: We have already discussed here in BiBB that I am not good with false lashes.  Mostly it’s because I have a fear that I am going to glue my eye shut, or else get the glue in my eye and be blinded forever.  Or maybe that I’m going to rip all of my lashes out trying to remove the lashes.  I realize that these are ridiculous fears, but I still have them.  I am determined to remedy the situation and, though I don’t plan to master false lashes, I at least want to achieve a casual relationship with them.  In the meantime, though, I am seriously lacking.

article-new_ehow_images_a02_3j_ss_apply-liquid-eyeliner-800x800

Liquid Liner:  I suck at applying liquid  liner.  I just can’t do it unless it’s in marker form.  The tubes  with the little brushes?  No way!  My hand just isn’t steady enough.  Along the same lines, I can not do a winged liner look.  It just looks crazy on me.  My eye and lid shape just doesn’t fly with winged liner (hehe, see what I did there?), so I don’t even try anymore.  My liner of choice is a pencil, because I just can’t do liquid.

Closeup of a young beautiful woman.

Highlight:  To be fair, I only discovered highlighting and contouring a couple years ago.  I just can’t get the hang of it though.  I feel like, no matter how light a hand I use, I look like a disco ball.  I always highlight under my brow when I do my eyeshadow, but I rarely use a cheek highlight and I never highlight anywhere else.  It just looks weird to me.  I see pictures of women with beautifully highlighted features, but I can’t seem to pull it off myself.  I prefer using a shimmery blush and applying it high on the cheekbones.  I have highlighting products that are both powder and cream, but I pretty much suck at using them.

That’s it for now.  I’m sure that there are many more things that could use some work, but these are the things that came to mind.  This tag was  really fun to do.  We are all human, we all have foibles and areas  that need to be improved.  It’s comforting to know that you aren’t the only one who can’t figure something out, you know?  If you have any tips or ticks for me on how to improve in these areas, I’d love to hear them.  And definitely let me know in the comments what beauty things you suck at.  🙂

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. This is a fun post! I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who sucks at certain beauty tasks. Self-tanner remains very elusive to me, as does the fine art of French braiding! 😉

Leave a Reply

