Maybelline Color Tattoo in Seashore Frosts

Standard
seashorefrosts2

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Seashore Frosts

Today I have the new Maybelline Color Tattoo in Seashore Frosts to show you.  Seashore Frosts is part of the new Summer 2013 collection.  Like I mentioned earlier this week, the new Summer 2013 Color Tattoos are mostly duochrome shadows, and Seashore Frosts is one of the most unique shades in the collection.

seashorefrosts3

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Seashore Frosts

Most of you are probably pretty familiar with Maybelline’s Color Tattoos by now.  If for some reason you haven’t come across them, Maybelline Color Tattoos are long-wearing cream shadows that have great pigmentation and a great formula.  They do not crease or fade, even when worn alone.  The Summer 2013 collection has a slightly different formula than the previously released Color Tattoos, even the other limited edition shades.  I found that Seashore Frosts is a lot creamier than my other Color Tattoos.  However, other than the extra creamy texture (which does make application a bit more finicky), I didn’t notice any other difference between Seashore Frosts and the normal formula.  Like the other Color Tattoos, Seashore Frosts does not crease, and lasts all day.

seashorefrosts1

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Seashore Frosts

Seashore Frosts has kind of a light denim blue base, but it also has a golden bronze  flip to it.  In some lights it leans a little green, and in others the metallics look almost copper.  The picture of the pot above is in normal indoor lighting.  The picture below is in sunlight, and you can see how the shimmer takes on a reddish-copper cast.  All of the photos in this post (just like almost all of my posts) can be enlarged for a closer look.

seashorefrosts4

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Seashore Frosts

As with most duochromes, it is practically impossible to capture the true color in a photo.  The shade is truly stunning in person and these pictures do not do it justice.  I did try, though.  Seashore Frosts is a little more sheer than the shades in the core Color Tattoo line, but that is by design for this collection.  Even so, the shadow can be easily built up to full opacity.  I opted to show you one layer in these swatches, so you could see what I mean by Seashore Frosts being sheer.

seashorefrosts6

Seashore Frosts in indoor lighting

Here, in indoor lighting, Seashore Frosts looks mostly blue.  You can definitely still see the gold flip, but it does not distort the base color.  Again, the shadow can be built up for a more dramatic look.

seashorefrosts7

Seashore Frosts in sunlight

In sunlight, the gold is much more apparent in the swatch and the base color takes on a slight green cast.

seashorefrosts8

Seashore Frosts in sunlight

Though not the best picture, you can see that in certain lighting the bronze really comes out and starts to turn a little coppery.  Again, these pictures don’t do it justice, Seashore Frosts is really unique.

Personally, I love Seashore Frosts.  I think it is absolutely gorgeous.  I can’t wait to try it out over a black base.  I’m sure that it would look stunning over black.  Out of all the new shades in the Maybelline Summer 2013 collection, you definitely do not want to miss out on Seashore Frosts.  I am positive that this shade will go quickly.  Seashore Frosts is a limited edition shade.  The collection is just now popping up in stores, so if you haven’t come across the display, keep checking.  You should be able to find it soon.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. I love the color tattoos; I have a couple of colors and they look fantastic just on their own. I didn’t know they were coming out with a summer line I might have to do some research :).

  2. Pingback: May 2013 Monthly Favorites | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

