Monthly Favorites for April 2013

Standard
april2013favs

April 2013 Favorites

Okay, somebody put this year on fast forward because I am seriously not keeping up.  How is May Day already?  Say what?  My niece Aubrey turned seven today.  I love watching her grow up and seeing her mind develop as she becomes her own person.  She’s got such a fun and funny personality.  The first day of a new month also means that it’s time for my monthly favorites.  These are the items that stood out to me and that I kept reaching for over April.  I went pretty minimal on the makeup for most of the month.  I didn’t have a lot scheduled for April, so I took it easy on the makeup and when I did wear it, I went for a more natural look.  I did manage to round up some favorites, though, so let’s get started.

elfprimer13

e.l.f. Mineral Infused Face Primer

I can’t remember if I have mentioned e.l.f. Mineral Infused Face Primer before, but I’ve had it for awhile.  I really like the silky smooth texture of silicone primers, and that is exactly what this is.  The Mineral Infused Face Primer is a fragrance-free silicone primer that, for me, does a great job of filling in my pores and smoothing over any dry patches to prep my face for an even foundation application.  The only issue I have with this primer is that the pump sucks.  My pump is defective, in fact, so I have to unscrew the lid to get to the product.  It’s a common problem, and e.l.f. needs to change the packaging, but the primer itself is really nice, especially when you get it on one of e.l.f.’s many sales.

zapper13

e.l.f. Zit Zapper

E.l.f. says of it’s Zit Zapper: Zap zits away with the unique blend of Salicylic Acid, Tea Tree Oil, Witch Hazel and Camphor. This special clear roll-on formula helps to fight and prevent acne, reduce redness and swelling, minimize pore size and clear skin.  I know one theory is that irritants like witch hazel are bad for oily skin because they can stimulates excess oil production and make things worse.  However, I have dry skin, so I can get away with it.  I’ve been having problems with breakouts this month, and the e.l.f. Zit Zapper really came through for me to help make my blemishes go away quickly.  This product will not appeal to everyone, but for my skin, it worked like a charm.

taupe13

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in Taupe

I’ve already reviewed Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliners, and so you know that they are great.  I’ve really been loving the Taupe shade as a bottom lash liner.  When I do a more natural look, I don’t necessarily want a dark brown or black liner in the bottom lash line, but leaving them bare is odd looking.  This Taupe shade is the perfect happy medium.  It defines just enough, but still looks natural and “barely there”.  Love it.

truffle13

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

You know how much I love the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters, and I have been especially loving Pink Truffle throughout April.  On my lips, it’s a dark pinky-nude shade that looks natural, but also looks like I put some effort in.  My lips are decently pigmented on their own, but I love lip products that are just a few shades darker than my natural lip color.  Pink Truffle is one of those.

brownie

Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balm in Brownie

In a similar vein, I’ve been loving Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balm in Brownie.  it has been a long time since I reviewed these balms on the blog, but I still think that they are awesome.  Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balms are so creamy and luscious on the lips.  They feel fantastic, and have really good pigmentation.  I strongly recommend them.  Brownie is a dark Nude shade, not as dark as Pink Truffle above, but also with less pink tones.  I looks beautiful on my lips.

terracotta13

NYX Powder Blush in Terra Cotta

Last month I featured NYX Powder Blush in Mocha, and this month I’ve been reaching for Terra Cotta.  Oh my goodness, I love this shade.  I really love shimmery blushes for spring and summer, and Terra Cotta is a gorgeous shimmery rose gold color.  If you have warm or neutral skin, this is a great blush for you.  Cool tones might not want to go for it, but anyone with yellow undertones will love it.  And Terra Cotta would be a gorgeous highlight for those with really dark skin.  Terra Cotta is a great blush for the warmer months.

aprilfav13swatch

April 2013 Favorites swatches

Here are some swatches of the color products that I mentioned.  The Rimmel liner in Taupe is across the top.  On the left is a concentrated swatch of NYX blush in Terra Cotta.  Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle is the center swatch, followed by Palladio Brownie on the right.  Like I said, in April, I went for more neutral or natural tones.

Now, let’s talk about my no-buy.  I announced in my last favorites post that I was going to attempt a no-buy for the month of April, and you know by now that I failed miserably at it.  The moment I mentioned I was going to stop shopping for the month, I was bombarded with all of these sales and deals that were too good to be true.  I caved.  I caved big time. There has been a lot of retail therapy happening lately.  But instead of beating myself up and dwelling on my epic failure, I am going to look ahead and try again.  So, I am stating once again that I am putting myself on a no-buy.  I am going to avoid buying anything unnecessary during the month of May.  I’m determined to stick to it this time, and not give in to temptation like I did last month.  It’s really easy to get caught up in the hype, and I am really bad at resisting a good bargain.  One of my biggest weaknesses as far as spending is concerned is that I have such a hard time passing up a big sale.  And, frankly, shopping makes me happy.  I’ve been having a hard time of it the last several months, and shopping makes me feel better.  But, I have so much makeup that I do not need to buy anymore for awhile.  So that’s why I am going to try this no-buy thing again. Hopefully I will have better luck at sticking to it this time.

That’s all for my favorites.  I hope that you saw something that you liked.  🙂

9 responses »

  1. I really want to try this zit zapper! I also have relatively dry skin, so when I get pimples (chin, usually), I get really dried out by acne creams/cleansers. I guess I would rather have a patch of dry skin on my cheeks than pimples on my chin, but it would also be nice if I could find a product that didn’t make me choose.

    • It didn’t make them magically disappear, but it did speed up the process a lot. For me, they usually take a solid week from feeling one forming to it being healed, and then another several days for the redness to go away completely. The Zit Zapper cut the process down to about two or three days, with another few days for the redness to dissipate.

  2. I was also wondering about the zit zapper and almost picked it up. I feel seeing it today is a sign I should go back and get it. I too have been having break outs lately on my chin. WTH I am 45 Wasn’t this supposed to happen decades ago? Love the colors in your faves this month.

    • LOL, I know right? Having to treat wrinkles and pimples at the same time is just not fair. The Zit Zapper is only $1, so it’s not much of a risk. I thought that it helped me, so give it a try.

  3. Good luck on your second attempt at the no-buy! I’ve tried that several times and never really succeeded, but I have managed to cut down on at least SOME of my spending. That’s something! Here’s hoping you find success. Oh, and I still really want to try those Rimmel eyeliners! 🙂

Leave a Reply

