Nivea Lip Butters

Standard
nivealipbutters1

Nivea Lip Butters

Nivea Lip Butters have been all the rage in the beauty community for the last couple months.  You would think that these lip balms were a miracle cure.  And, of course, along with the feverish love came the loathing, with people saying that they were over-hyped and not that great.  I have to say that all of the hype piqued my curiosity.  When I was at Walgreens a couple weeks ago I happened upon a display of these lip butters on sale for $1.99 each, so I snapped a couple of them up so that I could do this review.

Nivea Lip Butters

Nivea Lip Butters

For their Lip Butters, Nivea claims: “Rich formula melts onto lips providing long-lasting nourishment to make all your kisses better. Enriched with Shea Butter and Almond Oil to intensely moisturize and soothe dry lips for long-lasting care“.  Nivea Lip Butters are petroleum-based lip balms that are extremely soft and creamy.  They are potted, unfortunately, so you have to dip your fingers (or a Q-tip) in them to apply.  For me, that is their biggest flaw and one reason that I am not raving about them.  I generally hate and avoid potted lip products, so it’s a huge negative for me, but other people may not find it that big of a deal.  I think that they are intensely moisturizing on the lips, almost like a lip treatment.  Even after the product fades, my lips don’t feel dry.  The texture isn’t waxy like chapstick, but creamy like a lotion.  I find myself re-applying, not necessarily because I need to, but because I love the feel and the scent so much.  There are four “flavors” of Nivea Lip Butters in the line: Smooth Kiss (unscented), Caramel Cream Kiss, Vanilla and Macadamia Kiss, and Raspberry Rosé Kiss.  I opted  for the last two.

nivealipbutters2

Nivea Lip Butter in Raspberry Rosé Kiss

Nivea Lip Butter in Raspberry Rosé Kiss smells like a raspberry flavored ice cream or frozen yogurt bar.  It doesn’t exactly smell like raspberries.  There is something else there that tempers the scent and cuts the tartness of a true raspberry scent.  Raspberry Rosé Kiss is the softer of the two lip butters and is especially creamy.  This lip butter does have a slightly pink tint to it, but it is hard to see.  It’s very difficult to get a precise application, so I have to be careful not to stray outside the lip line to avoid a milky cast.

nivealipbutters3

Nivea Lip Butter in Vanilla and Macadamia Kiss

Nivea Lip Butter in Vanilla and Macadamia Kiss is my favorite and smells simply divine.  The scent is warm vanilla bean with rich nuttiness that is just heavenly.  I could bathe in the stuff.  Vanilla and Macadamia Kiss is not as soft as Raspberry Rosé Kiss which means it is easier to work with and apply.  It is just as moisturizing, but feels less sloppy in the lips, if that makes sense.  Vanilla and Macadamia Kiss does not have any tint and goes on mostly clear with just a touch of white.

nivealipbutters4

Nivea Lip Butter Swatch

Here is a swatch of Raspberry Rosé Kiss so you can see what I mean by a milky cast.  Both lip butters are transparent, but not exactly clear.  Vanilla and Macadamia Kiss has less opacity than Raspberry Rosé Kiss, but both are easily sheered out so that all you see is a glossy sheen on the lips.  I prefer to use my Nivea Lip Butters when I’m not wearing other lip products.  They are fantastic at night before you go to bed.

All in all, I really like the Nivea Lip Butters, but there are two very big negatives that may keep you from buying them.  One, as previously stated, the packaging is not great.  I loathe potted lip products, and I’m not sure how travel friendly the tins are.  I wouldn’t want the lid to pop off in my purse.  I have not carried them around with me, but be careful with them if you choose to do so.  The second major drawback is the price.  Like I said, I stumbled upon a sale, but Nivea Lip Butters retail for around $4.00 each, which is a lot for what they are.  Granted, they are a pretty decent size at .59 oz/16.7 g, but still.  I am not thrilled with the inflated price tag, and I’m sure many off you aren’t either.  I think that the Nivea Lip Butters are a great product, but are they worth the price and the hype?  I would repurchase Vanilla and Macadamia Kiss if I can find it on sale again, but I would personally not buy the other three scents.

What about you?  Have you tried any of the Nivea Lip Butters?  What are your thoughts?  Do you think that they are worth all the hype?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

  1. before nivea I was using carmex which i still use but mostly during the cold NY winters then i felll in with the ravs of EOS lip balms granted for awhile i def l;oved them but them came nivea and I have to say they are moisterizing I go lookinf for it more now than EOS.

  2. You really sold me on the macadamia scent. I’ll have to hunt that one down. Too bad you don’t like the pots. Perhaps you can use the others as cuticle balms? I don’t know if the tint is too much for this purpose.

Leave a Reply

