Revlon Pacific Coast Lip Butters and Baby Sticks

Standard
RevPacificCoastReview

Revlon Pacific Coast Collection by Gucci Westman

A little while ago in a “spotted” post, I showed you a display of the Revlon Pacific Coast Collection by Gucci Westman.  The collection includes 2 shades of Colorstay 16 Hour Eyeshadow Quads, Colorstay Cream Gel Liner, 4 shades of Colorstay Longwear Nail Enamel, 4 brand new shades of Lip Butters, and introduces the new Revlon Baby Sticks for Lips and Cheeks in 3 shades.

Revlon Pacific Coast Collection by Gucci Westman

Revlon Pacific Coast Collection by Gucci Westman

The display also offered a look book using four different combination of the products in the collection.  I passed over most of the collection, but I did snag one of the new Lip Butters and of course I had to try one of the new Baby Sticks.  Out of the four new shades, I chose the Lip Butter in Wild Watermelon.  I also chose the Baby Stick in Sunset, which looked like the darkest shade.

RevWildwatermelon

Revlon Lip Butter in Wild Watermelon

Wild Watermelon is a juicy pink-toned red.  I’m sure that you are all familiar with the Lip Butters by now, and Wild Watermelon has the same great formula as the regular Lip Butter line.  It’s pigmented, applies smoothly and easily, and feels great on the lips.  Revlon can’t go wrong by giving us more shades.

WildWatermelon

Revlon Lip Butter in Wild Watermelon

RevBabyStick1

Revlon Baby Stick for Lips & Cheeks

Now, I am sure that you are most interested in these new Baby Sticks.  Revlon Baby Sticks for Lips & Cheeks are small gel stick blushes, in the same vein as Tarte Cheek Stains.  Here is what Revlon has to say: “New for your PACIFIC COAST look!   The collection’s must-have “it” item for the season is a limited-edition lip & cheek stick. Gives you a perfect flush of color and soft dewy finish with a non-sticky feel.  Using fingers or a brush, dab a small amount of cream blush on apples of cheeks. Apply 2-3 dots of color along cheekbones.  Available in 3 Spring shades: Tahitian, Sunset and Pink Passion“.

RevBabyStick2

Revlon Baby Stick in Sunset

First off, let’s all take a moment to appreciate how freaking adorable this little guy is.  From the cute name to the super compact, travel-friendly stick itself, the marketing guys at Revlon nailed it.  I wanted to mention this first because it is the only good thing I could come up with.  These Revlon Baby Sticks for Lips & Cheeks are an utter disaster.  I only have the shade Sunset, but after my experience I Googled reviews of the product and saw that the other shades are equally terrible.

Price:  The Baby Sticks are very small at .01 oz of product.  That’s fine, except that they are retailing for $9 (or more) each.  I’m sorry, but that is flat out ridiculous.  $9 for this tiny little thing?  Revlon, you’re crazy!  You may remember me ranting about how expensive Revlon’s Photoready Cream Blushes are at around $13 each, but at least they are .44 oz of product.  $9 for .1 oz is outrageous and not worth it.

Feel and smell: Sunset has an unpleasant, waxy gel formula that feels sticky and kind of gross on the skin.  To me, the stick smells like a box of crayons that have been sitting around for 20 years or so.  It’s a waxy, musty smell that lingers on the skin.  The more product that you apply, the more waxy it feels.

Pigmentation:  Sunset has no pigmentation at all.  To get it to show up in the swatch below, I had to swipe it on my hand over and over again.  It’s not practical to put enough on the cheek to show up because the waxy build up is so uncomfortable.  I couldn’t get it to show up on my lips at all, so matter how much I tried to apply.  It’s terrible.  From the swatches that I have seen online, Tahitian is just as bad as Sunset.  Pink Passion looks to have more color pay-off, so if you are determined to try the Baby Sticks out, opt for that one.

SunsetBabyStick

Revlon Baby Stick in Sunset

All in all, I think that the Revlon Baby Stick in Sunset is a complete fail.  It’s truly terrible and definitely going back to the store.  Wild Watermelon is a great shade and I highly recommend it for bright Spring/Summer lips.  I have heard that the formula is a little altered for the Lip Butters in the Pacific Coast collection, but I did not experience a difference with Wild Watermelon.  Have any of you purchased from the Pacific Coast collection?  What was your experience with the products?  Did any of you get one of the Baby Sticks?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

9 responses »

  1. That’s too bad about the Baby Sticks; they look so promising! I appreciate the review of those, since I was considering buying one.Thanks for saving me nine bucks! 🙂

  2. Yea!! New lip butters. Sad about the Baby stick. I did wonder how they were going to make a lip cheek combo work. the feeling and texture I want for my lips is nothing like what I would want on my face. You can’t win them all Revlon.

  3. I got the Baby stick in the peach color. i can’t find the name on the product. But I had the same experience as you did. I can’t see even the slightest bit of color no matter how many times I swipe it. Not on my face nor on my lips. Its a terrible product and is going back.

    • I can’t believe how bad they are. Like, did anyone at Revlon even test them? I’m sorry that you had as bad an experience as I did with them. Yes, they definitely need to go back.

Leave a Reply

