New Instain Blushes by theBalm

Standard
instains1

Instain Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blushes by theBalm

Today I have a review of theBalm’s new Instain Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blushes.  These blushes are brand new and launched last month when theBalm’s new website launched.  Though I snagged them when theBalm was having their half off sale, they were back-ordered.  I received them the last week of April, and now that I’ve had some time to play with them, I can honestly say that they were worth the wait.  (All of my photos can be enlarged with a simple click.)

One of the great things about theBalm is the adorable packaging that all of their products come in.  The brand has a vintage pin-up theme in general.  The new Instain blushes are designed to look like the cover of a vintage magazine.  The blushes are named after patterns, with six shades in the line.  The six names are: Argyle, Swiss Dot, Toile, Lace, Houndstooth, and Pinstripe.  Like all of theBalm’s blushes, the Instain blushes have an outer sleeve that the thick cardboard compact slips out of.  The blush comes with a full mirror and a magnetic closure.  Across the top of all the blushes is printed the words “Wear it well… Vous va bien…

instainmirror

No matter how cute the packaging, it’s the formula that matters.  Here is what theBalm has to say about the Instain blushes: “theBalm’s long-wearing, STAINING powder blush is a fashion must have! With six shades, perfect for all seasons and skin tones, it will give your cheeks color that won’t quit.”  Honestly, that description says it all.  The Instain blushes are powder blushes with intense pigmentation that stays on your cheek all day long without fading.  Until you remove your makeup at night, these blushes aren’t going anywhere.  The formula is silky smooth, and not powdery or chalky in the least.  TheBalm has a history of putting out some fantastic blushes, and the Instain blushes are even better.

I purchased three of the six shades in Swiss Dot, Toile, and Houndstooth.  I couldn’t be happier with my selection.  All three blushes are extremely pigmented, so a light hand is a necessity.  My favorite blush brush, especially when I’m wearing dark or intensely pigmented blushes, is the e.l.f. Stipple Brush from the Studio line.

StudioStippleBrush

e.l.f. Studio Stipple Brush

It’s perfect for applying the right amount of color without going overboard.  There is a pretty good shade selection, no matter what your skin-tone.  Even if you are extremely fair, you can still get away with one or two shades of the Instain blushes.  If you have medium or dark skin, you will love the brighter, intense shades that the Instain line offers.  All three swatches below have one concentrated swatch on the left and a sheered out swatch on the right.  I used my Real Techniques Contour brush so that they would fit on the back of my hand.

SwissDotInstain

TheBalm Instain Blush in Swiss Dot

Swiss Dot is a gorgeous warm matte peach shade.  There is an orange undertone, but it is definitely peach on the skin.  This is a fantastic shade for the warmer months and pairs beautifully with bronzer.  Swiss Dot would look great on medium and darker skin tones, but don’t be afraid of it if you have lighter skin like me.  It’s still gorgeous applied lightly.  Those with truly fair skin may want to be careful because Swiss Dot may be too pigmented for you.  Then again, a light hand can work wonders, so even if you do have fair skin you may want to give it a try if you are usually bold with your blush choices.

SwissDotSwatch

TheBalm Instain Blush in Swiss Dot

ToileInstain

TheBalm Instain Blush in Toile

Toile is a warm, strawberry red-toned pink shade.  It is not for the faint of heart!  Toile is absolutely gorgeous, but anyone with light skin is going to have to be very careful when applying.  (I’m telling you, that stipple brush is my best friend when it comes to blush.)  I am pretty bold with my blush, so I wear Toile and love it, but those with medium and darker skin tones will have an easier time wearing it.  Those with fair skin, especially with cool undertones, shouldn’t even bother unless you want to look like you’ve been slapped across both cheeks.  Hard.  If you can pull it off, though, Toile is a really luscious shade.

ToileSwatch

TheBalm Instain Blush in Toile

HoundstoothInstain

TheBalm Instain Blush in Houndstooth

Houndstooth is a shade that anyone can get away with.  It is a pinky mauve that is a bit muted and much easier to wear if you have lighter skin.  The color can be built up for a bolder look if you have dark skin, but it is one of the two shades that are on the subtler side of things.  (The other is Argyle, if you were wondering.)  You still have to use a light hand because Houndstooth is still crazy pigmented like all of the Instain blushes, but It is more forgiving because the shade isn’t screaming color like the previous two shades I have shown you.  Houndstooth has a subtle shimmer on the skin.

houndstoothSwatch

TheBalm Instain Blush in Houndstooth

I hope that you enjoyed this review.  Like I said before, I love the shades that I purchased.  They are all beautiful.  I think that theBalm totally nailed it with the new Instain Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blushes.  I can see these easily becoming a cult favorite.  The blushes hold 5.5g of product and retail at thebalm.com for $22.  I know that $22 is a lot of money for a blush, especially on a budget beauty blog.  Since I snagged them during the half off sale, $11 wasn’t too bad.  I have to say, though, that I totally think that they are worth it.  I absolutely put the Instain blushes on par with the Tarte 12hr Amazonian Clay blushes.  Only you know what’s in your beauty budget, but the theBalm’s new Instain Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blushes are fantastic.

Instains2

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

  1. Great review! I was (foolishly) hoping these might be in theBalm’s Hautelook sale last week, but no dice. Hopefully I’ll be able to pick them up at some point! I have super-fair skin, so I’m glad to know that Houndstooth and Argyle would probably work for me. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Sale Alert: 50% off theBalm Cosmetics Today (5/6) | Beauty in Budget Blog

  3. Pingback: TheBalm 50% off Flash Sale | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

