Getting to Know Me: The 90’s Tag

Standard

nineties-2Today I want to do something a little different.  I want to move on to the getting to know me portion of the programming.  I thought that I would do the 90’s tag, a fun little tag floating around youtube.  I love the 90’s and had a blast reminiscing about all of this stuff.  We will be back to our regularly schedule beauty blog tomorrow, but today is about bringing in the fun.  For reference, I graduated in 1997 so the 90’s spanned my late Elementary, Jr. High, and High School experience, plus a little bit of college.  So let’s get into it.

MySoCalledLifeCastFavorite TV Show– I freaking loved My So Called Life.  I wanted to be Rayanne so bad.  I was so angsty and emotional, so I thought it spoke to my soul.  Even though it didn’t start until 1997, I also really love Daria.  So much so, in fact, that I currently have the complete series on DVD and watch it often.  It totally holds up, unlike My So Called Life, unfortunately.

Daria_Logo.svg

Favorite Disney Original MovieI did not watch any of the Disney Original Movies that came out in the 90’s.  The last one I watched actually came out in 1989 (according to Wikipedia) and it was The Parent Trap: Hawaiian Honeymoon.  Yes, I watched the crap out of all of the Parent Trap movies, even the awful made for TV ones.  My favorite Disney Animated Feature of the 90’s (which is almost impossible to narrow down because I love animated feature films so very much) is probably The Hunchback of Notre Dam.  I loved that movie so much, and have the Soundtrack on CD in a box somewhere.  I thought that it was as groundbreaking as The Little Mermaid (1989) was as far as technical advances and amazing music.

commercialsFavorite Commercial– I don’t remember a lot of commercials from the 90’s (though I remember a ton of toy commercials from the 80’s), but I have two that stick out.  The first is the Milk Does a Body Good commercials where the puny kid is looking in the mirror and sees himself as he grows up into the hunky guy with the hot model girlfriend just by drinking his milk.  The other is the Hershey’s Kiss Christmas commercial where the Kisses are like a bell choir doing We Wish You a Merry Christmas.

The Disney AfternoonWhat would you watch when you got home from school?– In the early 90’s when I was still in elementary school, I’d watch the Disney Afternoon block.  I don’t remember the order, but it was Gummy Bears, Chip and Dale’s Rescue Rangers, Duck Tales (later replaced by Darkwing Duck), and Tale SpinAnimaniacs was in the mix at some point and Tiny Toons.  Once I hit Jr. High, though, I played sports and had other activities, so I didn’t get home until dinner time.  I’d be doing my homework while watching all of the Prime Time shows.

Favorite Nickelodeon  Show– I was not a huge Nickelodeon fan, but I do remember watching Clarissa Explains It All starring Melissa Joan Hart, and reruns of You Can’t Do That on Television.

mbmallmdFavorite Game–  I had this game that I loved called Mall Madness.  The game was set up as a mall and you were supposed to shop in different stores.  It was electronic, so sometimes the game would shout that there was a sale at a certain store and you’d have to book it over there before the sale was over.  I don’t even remember the object of the game, but it was all about shopping.  Is there any wonder where my shopaholic tendencies started?

mutltiple-pogsFavorite Collectable– Do you remember Pogs?  They were cardboard discs with different pictures and designs on them like bottle caps.  You had the heavy “Slammer” Pogs, and the game was like the 90’s equivalent of jacks.   There were so many to collect, and some people were all out serious about their Pogs.  I also had some of those treasure troll dolls with the funky hair.

good-luck-troll-dollsFavorite Beanie Baby–  I never collected Beanie Babies.  I may have had one or two, but I do not remember.

Super_Mario_Bros._3_coverart

Favorite Game Console and Game– I was addicted to the original Nintendo and Super Mario 3.  Loved it!

Favorite Candy– I was obsessed with Pop Rocks, but I can’t remember if that was the 80’s or the 90’s.  otherwise, I was all about Pixie Sticks, Jolly Ranchers, and Wild Berry Skittles.

nkotb

Nsync or Backstreet Boys–  I was too old to care about boy bands when Nsync or Backstreet Boys were really popular.  I did like New Kids on the Block when I was young, though.  I had one or two of their albums on cassette tape, and I had some posters of them on my wall from teenybopper magazines like Bop and Tiger Beat.

Guitar

Favorite Music Artist– There are too many to name because I really love so much of the music that came out in the 90’s.  In my opinion, the music of the 90’s was as good as the music of the 60’s (granted, I am biased).  Of course there are bands like Nirvana and Pearl Jam, which go without saying.  I also have a special place in my heart for The Offspring’s Smash album because it was constantly played with my volleyball team my Sophomore year.  I am a big fan of  Tori Amos, Garbage, and Alanis Morissette.  I could go on and on, but I’ll stop now.

Favorite Book– When I was younger, I read the Baby Sitters Club books and the Sweet Valley books.  When I got a little older, I moved on to the Christopher Pike thrillers.  I didn’t really have much time for reading when I was in high school, so I don’t really remember what books I read then.

tshirtringsWeirdest Fashion Trend– Okay, what was that little plastic ring thing called that you would loop your T-shirt through instead of knotting it?  What were we thinking?  Also, what’s with the super baggy pants that are falling off?  I’ve never understood that.  Clueless said it all: “So okay, I don’t want to be a traitor to my generation and all but I don’t get how guys dress today. I mean, come on, it looks like they just fell out of bed and put on some baggy pants and take their greasy hair – ew – and cover it up with a backwards cap and like, we’re expected to swoon? I don’t think so.”

Favorite Clothing Store– So I didn’t develop fashion sense until rather late in life.  My mom bought my clothes, and I am willing to admit that my mamma dressed me funny.  For example, when the grunge thing was at its height I asked for some flannel shirts for Christmas.  My mom had no idea what I was talking about, so she came home with a red and black plaid, full-on lumberjack flannel shirt.  I was not stylin’.  When I was with her, we shopped all over the mall.  Most of my stuff came from department stores, and I don’t think that I had one go-to store for all of my clothes.

priestley.jason

90’s Crush– During the height on my Tiger Beat/Bop years, I was in love with Jason Priestly.  Luke Perry was cute, but Brandon Walsh was my man.  Now that I think about it, I probably should have put Beverly Hills 90210 in my favorite TV shows answer because I watched it all the time in Jr. High.  I liked the show until the cast “graduated” and left High School.  The college years never work out.  (Just look at Saved by the Bell.)  I’ve also always really liked Johnny Depp, but then again, who doesn’t?

90s

I hope that you had as much fun with this tag as I did.  I’d love to hear some of your answers.  Let me know in the comments below what you remember from the 90’s.  Also, if you have a blog or a youtube and do this tag, let me know and I’ll check it out.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. This was so fun. I graduated high school in 1998, so we’re almost the same age. I read this whole post going, “OMG, I totally loved that!” and “OMG, that was so awesome!!” Super Mario 3 was my game (and to this day, the only video game I’ve ever loved) and “My So-Called Life” remains one of my favorite shows of all time. And I totally had a bunch of those weird plastic circle things that you tied your shirt into a knot with; I thought I was the only one who remembered those!! LOL

  2. I just got three of the brand new Maybelline Nail stickers. They are mirrored and awesome. I have been looking for a platinum mirror nail effect for 2 years and I finally got one. Can’t wait to use them.

Leave a Reply

