Top 10 Drugstore Products that I Can’t Live Without

Standard
top10

Drugstore Top 10

I have a ton of makeup.  This is not news.  In this blog, I bring you a lot of great products in my reviews, and I show you what I’m loving in my Monthly Favorites posts.  I try to mix things up so that it stays fun and interesting (How boring would it be if I had the same favorites every month?).  Because of that, it can be tough for you to keep track of what the really great items are with the ever revolving door of products on this blog.  That’s why I want to show you my top ten items for makeup and skincare.  These are items that I use all the time, all year round.  They could be in my favorites every single month.  I will repurchase them all when I run out, and have repurchased some of them many times.  The best part is that these are all drugstore (and Ulta, Target, etc.) products, so they are budget friendly.  These are (in no particular order) my top 10 items that I don’t want to be without.

top10brulee

Wet n Wild ColorIcon Eyeshadow in Brulee

The first item is the Wet n Wild ColorIcon shadow in Brulee.  This may not look like much in the pan, but I use it with almost every eye look that I do.  It is the perfect “magic eraser” shade to flawlessly blend out the edges of any shadow.  It is my go-to brow-bone shade. I use so many shimmer shadows on my lid, it’s nice to finish off with a matte shade.  Also, I don’t love skimmer shades under my brow-bone because that area is a little puffy on me and I don’t want to over-emphasize it.  Brulee is fabulous and goes with everything.  I have backups of this shadow because I do not want to be without it.

top10brush

Sonia Kashuk Medium Fluffy Eyeshadow Brush

Along the same lines, is this Sonia Kashuk Medium Fluffy Eyeshadow Brush.  This is the perfect blending brush.  I finish all of my eye looks with this brush (usually with the Brulee eyeshadow) and it works like a dream.  It is fluffy, but dense, and allows for really good control.  I find Sonia Kashuk at Target.  I bought a back up of this brush because I love it so much.

top10liner

NYX Slide-On Eye Pencils in Brown Perfection and Golden Olive

I’m sure that this is no shock, but my absolute favorite liners are the NYX Slide-On eye pencils.  I like several other brands, but these Slide-On liners are the perfect formula for me.  They don’t smudge, and you don’t have to set them with a powder.  Now that I have used Zero for a few months, I can say that they are dead-on dupes for the Urban Decay 24/7 liners.  I use Brown Perfection and Golden Olive all the time, and they are my favorites.  They are really fantastic.  I hope that NYX keeps making them because I will continue to buy them as long as they are available.

top10wipes

Neutrogena Makeup Remover Wipes

To remove my makeup, I use Neutrogena Makeup Remover Wipes.  I love the ease of makeup wipes, and have tried several brands.  Ponds, LA Fresh, the Target brand… none of them work for me the way the Neutrogena ones do.  I use the wipes to remove my eye makeup, and a lot of other wipes sting my eyes.  Neutrogena wipes don’t sting at all, and they don’t strip my skin.  I always wash my face with cleanser afterwards to really get my face clean.  I vary what cleansers I use, but the Neutrogena wipes are a staple.

top10jergens

Jergens Ultra Healing lotion

Another item that I can not be without and use every day, is Jergens Ultra Healing lotion.  I like to use body butters and scented lotions too, but I change those out all the time.  One thing that never changes that I have been using for years is Jergens.  It may not be the most fun or flashy product, but I will always have Jergens Ultra Healing lotion.

top10remover

e.l.f. Makeup Remover Pen

The e.l.f. Makeup Remover Pen has been a wonderful addition to my collection.  It’s the king of product that makes me wonder how I lived without it.  The remover isn’t too oily or creamy, so it doesn’t smear where I don’t want it, but it removes the problem areas really well.  It has a semi-precise point, so I can even get mascara smudges on the lid without removing the eyeshadow underneath.  For only $3.00, this is such a good product.

top10mauve

Maybelline Color Whisper in Made-it-Mauve

I am completely in love with Maybelline’s Color Whisper in Made-it-Mauve.  It is the perfect color for me.  The Color Whisper formula is comfortable and hydrating on the lips, and Made-it-Mauve is just gorgeous.  I keep coming back to it.  I can wear it all year long, no matter what the season.  I love it, and will definitely repurchase when I run out.

top10olay

Olay Regenerist Regenerating Serum (fragrance-free)

Another staple for me is the Olay Regenerist Regenerating Serum (fragrance-free).  It has been so great for making my dry skin less dry. I use this silicone-based serum to lock in moisture and help heal my skin discoloration.  It has softened my fine lines and helped a lot with redness.  It makes my skin feel velvety soft and healthy.  I’ve been using this Serum for about a year and a half now, and have no plan on stopping.

top10sechevite

Seche Vite top coat

Seche Vite is the only top coat I use.  I’ve tried other ones, but I love how Seche Vite smoothes out wonky texture and can save a bad manicure without having to repaint.  It dries rock hard in a flash.  Seche Vite is a cult favorite for a reason.  It works.  I also use the base coat, but the Seche Vite top coat is my favorite.  The only bad thing about it is that it thickens up before I get all the way through the bottle.  That’s really annoying because I usually like to use every last drop of a product before I toss it.  However, Seche Vite is so good, that I am willing to put up with that.  I have repurchased, and will do so again.

top10neutrogena

Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment

Finally, one product that I really can’t live without is the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment.  Neutrogena had discontinued this product, but there was a public outcry and they brought it back.  Thank God!  I had used this product for over a year when it was discontinued.  I’ve had to go several months without it, using other products trying to replace it.  I’ve been using Paula’s Choice Beta Hydroxy Acid lotion, but I don’t really like it.  I have the lotion, as opposed to the gel) because it is the formula recommended for dry skin, but it doesn’t blend in very well.  I’ve been breaking out and having more redness over the last few months, and I am sure it is because I’ve been without the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment.  Right now it is available again on Neutrogena’s website and Walgreens’ website.  I haven’t seen it in stores again yet, but I am sure that it is coming soon. Those with dry skin, don’t be scared off by the name of this product.  The Neutrogena Treatment contains 2% salicylic acid, and is a good BHA exfoliator for all skin types.  It has actually helped a lot with my Rosacea redness.  It definitely has moisturizing ingredients, and those with oily skin may not even need to add a light moisturizer on top of it.  It is such a good product and I don’t want to be without it again.

Those are my Top 10 products from the drugstore for both makeup and skin care.  They all make a difference in my routine, especially the skincare items, and I miss them when I am out.  How about you?  What are your go-to products that you don’t want to be without?  Let me know in the comments below.

11 responses »

  1. Thanks for the recommendations; I always love finding out what other people use. I’d been curious about the Elf makeup-removing pen but haven’t tried it, so I’ll put that one on the list! My go-to acne product has always been Proactiv Repairing Treatment (alas, salicylic acid doesn’t seem to work for me; gotta go with benzoyl peroxide!), but I’m curious about the Neutrogena lotion and might have to give it a shot! Maybe I’ll alternate it with the stronger stuff in the winter. Thanks again!

  2. Thank You. This is great as I get so boggled minded looking at all the products on the shelves and either walk away with nothing or just grab one. This will be helpful on my next visit to the drugstore.

  3. Pingback: May 2013 Monthly Favorites | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

