CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation

Standard
CGwhipped320

CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation

I am not the biggest fan of CoverGirl in general, but I had to give this Covergirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation a try.  The only other “whipped” mousse foundation that I’ve used is the Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme, and I wanted to test out another one.  Luckily, the foundation cost exactly the same as that horrible Revlon Baby Stick  that I returned, so I could exchange one for the other at my local Walgreens without breaking my no-buy.  (I asked The Husband, and he agreed that, since no additional money was spent, it didn’t count as buying anything.)

I actually really like CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation for my skin type.  It is definitely not a foundation for everyone, though.  Here is what CoverGirl has to say: “Our lightweight whipped crème foundation gives your skin a boost of moisture without the greasy, shiny finish. You’ll love the dreamy, 100% breathable formula that leaves your skin looking smooth, natural, and matte. Available in 10 shades to match your skin tone.

CGwhipped2

CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation

CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation comes in a much smaller jar than the Revlon Colorstay Whipped does.  It contains 0.2 fl oz less than Revlon, and the packaging is much less bulky and a lot more practical.  CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation is also a good three or four dollars less than the Revlon version.  Although CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation comes in 10 shades, it will be hard for many to find a good match.  The shade range is very limited when it comes to deeper tones, so those with darker skin won’t have much to choose from.  You also have to watch out for oddly pink or orange tones.  I chose 320 Creamy Natural because it was the best match that I could find.  I’ll be able to wear 320 as we head into summer and I get some color, but it will be too dark for me in the winter.  The shade below it, 310 had a very strong pink cast that would not have worked on me, though, so 320 is the best I can do.  I did not notice any oxidation with this shade.  There is no protective plastic or safety seals, so be sure to check your product before you buy to be sure that it hasn’t been tampered with.  The swatch below is coming out a little orange for some reason, but the true color is a lot closer to the picture in the jar above.

CGwhipped3

CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation- not blended

I did notice that CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation has a rather unpleasant scent that is typical of many CoverGirl foundations, but it fades quickly after application.  The formula itself is very nice, creamy and lightweight.  CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation is a lot lighter than Revlon Colorstay Whipped.  It also has less coverage.  CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation has a hydrating formula that sheers it out a bit, so the coverage starts out on the lighter side of medium and can be layered to reach the fuller side of medium.  It never quite achieves full coverage.  Don’t expect the same flawless finish as Revlon’s Whipped Creme Foundation.  CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation does look a lot more natural, though.  It has a semi-matte finish, not dewey, but also not flat matte either.  The formula blends easily and feel really nice on the skin.  It does not cling to dry patches, nor does it flake or cake up.  There are enough moisturizing properties in it to keep it looking smooth all over.

CGwhipped4

CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation- one layer blended out

The problem with all that creamy smoothness is that it seriously cuts into the longevity of the foundation.  I’m going to say that CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation is best suited for those with dry to normal skin.  You can pull it off if you have combination skin, as long as you are willing to set with a powder and touch up throughout the day.  Oily skin girls should stay away.  I have dry skin, but I have had a little bit of oil on my nose recently.  Not a lot, but enough that it behaves more like normal skin rather than dry.  I tried CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation both with and without setting it with powder (but always over primer).  Even on my dry skin, the foundation started breaking down after two or three hours when I didn’t set it.  By hour four or five there was a definite shine on my nose and a little in my T-zone, and there was very little coverage left.  When I did set it with powder I had better luck.  It didn’t start to break down around my nose until four or so hours in.  Either way, with no touch ups, the foundation will not make it through the work day.  If your skin is on the oilier side, it will fade on you even faster, and you will definitely need to blot.

I usually do not need my foundation to last more than six hours or so, and I am a little addicted to setting powder, so the longevity issues don’t bother me too much.  I actually really like the foundation, despite the problems.  It looks very good on my skin, and I’m glad that I got it.  However, CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation is definitely not for everybody.  If you have light to medium skin tone and it is on the dry to normal side, CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation was meant for you.  If you don’t fit that category, you may still want to try it out if you are curious, but realize that you may run into some problems.

I hope that I answered any questions that you might have had about CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation.  If not, go ahead and leave a comment below and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.  You can find CoverGirl Clean Whipped Creme Foundation at Walmart and Walgreens.  It will slowly be trickling into other stores, so keep an eye out for it.  If you have tried it out, let me know what your thoughts are in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. I’d been curious about this one, but now I’m glad to know this won’t work on my oily skin. Thank you so much! I think I will try the Cover Girl 3-in-1 foundation next instead.

Leave a Reply

