May 2013 Monthly Favorites

Standard
May 2013 Monthly Favorites

May 2013 Monthly Favorites

It’s the last day of May which means that it’s time for Monthly Favorites!  You may also be wondering about the new background.  I decided to try switching to black instead of white for a while to see what it changes.  I may not stick with the black, but I wanted to try it out.  I take all of my pictures in natural light by a window, so I often have lighting problems to deal with.  I feel like things go really blue, and I’m hoping that it will be minimized without the white background.  We’ll see.  Let me know what you think of the black.  Now, onto my favorites.

Neut3in1

Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment

If you read my recent post about the top products from the drugstore here, you know how I feel about my Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment.  This product really does well for my skin.  I am so thrilled that it is back on the market.  I hope that Neutrogena never takes it away again because I had a really hard time trying to replace it in my skincare routine.

SmashboxPrimer

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

I had two samples of Smashbox Photo Finish Primer, and I’ve been really loving it.  I am a big fan of silicone primers, so it is no big shock.  The primer smooths over my skin like velvet, and makes my foundation lay perfectly on top.  I do not think that it is necessary to shell out the money for a higher end primer because there are so many good ones at the drugstore.  But, having sad that, I really have been enjoying the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer all month long.

MayIAR

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser

I don’t know why I got away from using the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser, but I sort of “rediscovered” it this month.  I do not have very dark circles under my eyes or heavy bags to deal with, so I don’t need to do a lot with my under eye area.  The light, brightening coverage that this product offers is perfect for me.  I really like Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser, but I wish it didn’t have the sponge applicator.  I know that the ease of the sponge is a selling point for some people, but I hate that I can’t really clean it.  The sponge applicator doesn’t put me off the product, but it is the one thing that I really don’t like about Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser.  Otherwise, it’s great.

UDallnighter

Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray

Urban Decay had a big sale going on in April and I picked up a few things (just one of the ways I blew my no-buy last month).  I got the full size All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray for only $14.  As you know if you follow me, I am a little addicted to setting my makeup with powder.  Since I have dry skin, I can sometimes look too made up or the powder looks cakey.  The All Nighter Setting Spray really solves all of those problems.  It makes my makeup look less powdery and more like skin.  It also, of course, keeps my makeup in place and going strong on my longer makeup days.  Especially now that the weather has warmed up, I have really been loving Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray.

SFtatoo

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Seashore Frosts

I reviewed Maybelline Color Tattoo in Seashore Frosts when I first got it.  I’ve really been liking it.  I’ve been wearing it on the lid with a medium matte brown in the crease.  The brown brings out the gold in the shadow and it really looks good.  I didn’t get any of the other new summer shades because my May no-buy started, but I am so glad that I got Seashore Frosts.

SFtatoo2

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Seashore Frosts

Here is a swatch in the sunlight so you can see the duochrome and shimmer.  It is such a beautiful and unique color.  Check out my review here for more info and more swatches of Seashore Frosts.

EnFuego

NYX Love in Rio palette in En Fuego

Last but not least, I’ve been loving NYX Love in Rio palette in En Fuego.  Of all the Love in Rio palettes, En Fuego really called out to me.  The charcoal grey, plum, and shimmery taupe look so beautiful together.  This trio is nicely pigmented.  They blend really well together, and look so good with my brown eyes.  You may remember that the Love in Florence palettes had mixed reviews, but I really like the two Love in Rio palettes that I bought.

EnFuego2

NYX Love in Rio palette in En Fuego

Here is a swatch of the En Fuego shadows.  Aren’t they so pretty?  If you have green or brown eyes, this combo would look really good on you.  I’m not sure about blue eyes.  Since I don’t have blue eyes, I’m not sure what shades work the best.  But this looks gorgeous on my brown eyes.

That’s it for my favorites, and now for an update on my no-buy.  Unlike my epic fail for April, I was able to stick to my no-buy through May.  Yay!  I did have one fail at the beginning of the month when Cherry Culture had the 40% off NYX sale.  There were a few things that I had not been able to get when Ulta had 40% off NYX, so I wanted to get them while I could.  Other than that, literally within the first few days, I stuck to the no-buy all month long.  I am really glad that it’s over and I can buy makeup now, but I am going to try to keep myself limited.  I will pick something up if it is really interesting, but I am not going to go quite so crazy when it comes to shopping.  I am definitely a girl that goes to retail therapy when I get stressed or upset, and I want to try to break that habit.  This no-buy was a good start.

So, that’s it for today.  I’m glad that it’s the weekend again.  I got so spoiled after a four-day weekend with The Husband for Memorial Day.  I got used to having him around during the day.  I think we are going to try to make it to a movie and maybe see my sister this weekend.  What about you, do you have any weekend plans?  Let me know in the comments below.

6 responses »

  1. Congrats on your successful no-buy! I have yet to succeed with one of those, so knowing that you did is a bit of an inspiration to me. I’m just powerless against a good sale! LOL

    Tonight my husband and I are going to a craft beer festival kind of thing at a local history museum (yes, I’m confused by the correlation there, too), but no big plans for the weekend beyond that. I hope you enjoy your weekend!

    Love reading your blog! 🙂

  2. I like that en Fuego palette also I would like to try that All nighter.
    Going to an art crawl tonight with my neighbor and not sure what else is going on this weekend.

Leave a Reply

