Sally Hansen Special Effect Textured Nail Color

Standard
sugarmani1

Sally Hansen Special Effect Textured Nail Color

Today I am reviewing Sally Hansen Special Effect Textured Nail Color.  The Special Effect Textured Nail Colors are in two new lines, Sugar Coat and Fuzzy Coat, and there are eight shades in each line.  Textured polishes are all the rage right now.  Whether it’s Zoya Pixie Dust, or O.P.I. Liquid Sand, texture is in and Sally Hansen is capitalizing on it.  Let’s start with the Sugar Coat.

Sugarcoat

Sally Hansen Special Effect Textured Sugar Coat

Here’s what Sally Hansen has to say about their new Sugar Coat polish:  “Candy for your nails! This special effect nail polish includes rich, sweet colors that dry to a surprising matte finish with a sugary 3D effect.”  My sister bought Sugar Coat in Razzleberry for herself, and graciously offered to loan it to me to review here on the blog.  Now before we get into the review, I should point out that I am not the biggest fan of textured polishes.  I love top coat that gives you a glassy finish, so I am a bit biased.

I had a hard time wearing the Sugar Coat polish.  I felt like I had stucco on my nails.  It bothered me and I had to resist the urge to pick at it.  The instructions on the bottle recommend that you apply two thin coats of polish, so that’s what I did here.  The first coat applied mostly opaque, but though the “sugar granules” were plentiful, they weren’t 100% even across the nail.  The second coat completely fixed that problem, but I thought it gave the polish a goopy look.  It looked horrible when applied, but as the polish dried it shrunk up a bit to give it the proper “sugary” texture that you see in the photos.  From the pictures that I have seen online, these polishes look exactly like the China Glaze Texture polishes.  They dry down to a matte finish.  I recommend leaving the matte look, because when I applied top coat to my thumb it made the polish look a little sloppy or goopy.  I didn’t like it.

sugarthumb

Sugar Coat in Razzleberry with topcoat

Sugar Coat dried really fast, and was pretty easy to apply.  Unfortunately, the wear time left much to be desired.  It started to chip within 24 hours.  That might be due to the fact that the textured surface kept snagging on fabric and things like that.  It was like having sandpaper on my nails.  Personally, Sugar Coat is not for me.  If you are adventurous in your polish and like to try the latest trends, you may really like Sugar Coat.  I really didn’t.  Oh, and if you do decide to try it, be sure to use a base coat.  I forgot, and the vibrant blue Razzleberry completely stained my nails.  *sigh*  No bueno.  I did have a little better luck with Fuzzy Coat.

sugarmani2

Sally Hansen Special Effect Textured Nail Color

Fuzzycoat

Sally Hansen Special Effect Textured Fuzzy Coat

Here’s what Sally Hansen Says about Fuzzy Coat:  “The ultimate outfit for your nails! Sally Hansen continues to lead the nail category with new 3D, unique textures inspired by fashion. Fuzzy Coat transforms nails with a 3D textured, woven fiber effect.”  Basically, Fuzzy Coat is a clear top coat with very fine, matte plastic bar-glitter.  The shade that I am wearing is called “Fuzz-Sea” and the glitter is yellowy-green and sky blue.  It took three coats to get this nearly opaque look.  The Fuzzy Coat polishes will look great with one or two coats over a solid color base.  They behave just like a normal glitter polish, so the nail will have texture unless topped with a clear top coat.  The application was pretty even, and I did not have to “place” the particles to achieve this coverage.

fuzzynail

Fuzzy Coat in Fuzz-Sea

Fuzzy Coat wore better than Sugar Coat.  With no top coat, it chipped after two days.  With top coat, it lasts three or four days before chipping.  I really like the color combo that Fuzz-Sea contains.  I’ll probably get good use out of it this summer.  I’m not inclined to go out and purchase the other shades, though.  It’s cute, but bar-glitter is hardly revolutionary.  Removal of both polishes took some soaking, but no more than any glitter polish.

Again, if you paint your nails several time a week with the latest nail trends, then you will probably love these Sally Hansen Special Effect Textured Nail Colors.  They are around $5-$6, based on location.  I’m just not a fan of texture polish.  I have no desire to try O.P.I. Liquid Sand, and I thought those caviar nails last year were kind of ugly.  It’s all personal preference, but for me, I’m going to say no thank you to most of the Sally Hansen Special Effect Textured Nail Colors.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

