Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing System

Standard
OlayFEcleanse

Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing System

I purchased the Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing System months ago (hence the white background in the pictures) and am now ready to review it.  With skincare items like this I wanted to use it for a good long while so that I could give an accurate review over time.  I already own the Olay Pro-X cleansing brush and love it, but I don’t use it every day because of my skin sensitivities.  I wanted the Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing Brush because I wanted to use a smaller brush just on my nose where I have large pores on days that I don’t use the Pro-X.  The Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing System is around $12-$14, so it’s pretty affordable.  Here is what Olay has to say: “Liberate your skin from dirt, oil, and makeup for fresh, fearless, unstoppable freshness.   An ingeniously designed power brush to get around your face’s contours—the T-zone, hairline, and nose—for a 400% better clean compared to basic cleansing.  Fresh has never felt, or looked, so good.”

OlayFEcleanse1

Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing System

The Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing System comes with a small Powered Cleansing Brush and a 20ml tube of Shine, Shine Go Away cleanser.  The cleanser is alright, though nothing special.  It provides a nice clean feeling, but is a pain to wash off because of the thick formula.  The brush, which is the main focus of  this review, is perplexing.  It has some wonderful qualities, but ultimately falls short.  Let me break it down for you.

OlayFEcleanse2

Size Comparison: Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleanser vs Canon camera lens cap

First of all, the cleansing brush is really small.  Here is a size comparison between the Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleanser and a standard Canon camera lens cap.  I actually really like the size.  The brush is travel-friendly, and the small triangle head is perfect for getting around the contours of the face, especially around the nose.  The unique size and shape is exactly the reason I bought it in the first place, wanting to target the nose area.

The brush has one speed with an on button and an off button located on the handle.  It takes one AAA battery that is replaceable.  Simply unscrew the knob at the bottom of the brush and the head rises.  You can then pull out the head, replace the battery, and screw it back in.  It is a vibrating head, not one that rotates.  I am okay with that, especially since my Pro-X has a rotating head.  The problem I have with the Cleansing brush is the brush head itself.

OlayFEcleanse3

Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleanser Head

Olay claims that the system offers a “Facial cleansing brush with super-soft bristles”.  They lie.  The Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleanser does not have brush bristles at all.  Instead, it has small rubber nubs.  I think that they are ineffectual and ill suited for this type of device.  When I first started to use the cleansing brush, it made my nose tickle and itch so much that I could hardly stand it for more than a few seconds at a time.  Eventually I got used to the sensation, but it has never been comfortable.  The rubber “bristles” don’t lather up the cleanser very well, so it doesn’t feel like you are getting a good cleanse.  The nubs just don’t have enough give to be either comfortable or effectual.  Since I started to use it, I have noticed no difference in my skin, and I strongly dislike the feel of the brush.  It’s just not worth it.

The Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid! Powered Contour Cleansing System could have been a really good product.  They weren’t off by much.  Unfortunately the poorly designed brush head on the Cleansing Brush makes the product a fail for me.  I haven’t use it nearly as often as I should have, considering how long I’ve had it, and I put that solely on the bad design.  Save your money and invest in something else.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

