June 2013 Ipsy Bag

Standard
Ipsy62013a

June 2013 Ipsy Bag

It’s Ipsy time again.  I’m going to say it right now, I love my Ipsy bag.  I got some great stuff this month.  This post is a little late because Ipsy had some strange shipping issues going on.  I can’t remember if they have used this shipping company before, or if it’s new, but their distribution was crazy.  My tracking info said that the bag shipped from NC (where I live) and then spent three days in KY.  After that, it headed to GA and then back to NC to me.  Consequently, I didn’t get my bag until four or five days later than I usually do.  But enough about shipping.  Let’s get into the bag.

The theme for June was “On the Wild Side”.  Here’s what Ipsy has to say: “As the warm months start to set in, we want you to channel the edgier side of style with products that are undeniably “On the Wild Side.” This month, your June Glam Bag has incredible brands like Cailyn, Chella, J.Cat Beauty, Freeman Beauty, NYX, & Starlooks to help you achieve the most current and trendy looks that are bound to turn heads.”  I received five products in my June bag, and four of them were full size.  I am extremely pleased with all of them except one, which was an epic fail.

Ipsy62013nyx

NYX Cream Blush in Tea Rose

NYX Cream Blush in Tea Rose: “Adding a healthy glow to cheeks is effortless with the variety of blush styles and shades available from NYX Cosmetics!  The NYX Cream Blush offers radiant color for a dewy, sultry, long lasting finish!” Product is full size and priced at $6.00 from nyxcosmetics.com.

Ipsy62013starlooks

Starlooks Lip Pencil in Tickle Me Pink

Starlooks Lip Pencil in Tickle Me Pink: “Starlooks’ long-lasting, full-coverage Lip Pencil enhances the shape of your lips and gives them perfect definition. This creamy, moisturizing formula glides on softly to smooth lips and ensure lipstick stays in place, while extending its wear. Can also be used as an all-over, highly-pigmented lip color. Comes in several shades and various finishes to pair with any Starlooks Lipstick, Lip Gloss, or Tendergloss!  Starlooks Makeup Line is entirely Lead Free, and Cruelty Free.”  I think this is also full size.  If so, it’s worth $12.00 over at starlooks.com.

Ipsy62013cailyn

Cailyn Cosmetics Line-Fix Gel Eyeliner

Cailyn Cosmetics Line-Fix Gel Eyeliner with Built-In Brush in Purple: “Whether you are trying to create the eyes of a runway model or the classic look of a 60’s Hollywood star, the Cailyn Line-Fix Gel Eyeliner can make any style possible! The easy to use built-in brush makes it perfect for taking on-the-go. Create a chic yet casual look right before work, and then update it for a night out with the girls. The Cailyn Line-Fix Gel Eyeliner brushes on smooth and stays moist just long enough for wearers to perfect their look. Once dry, the gel is smudge-proof and waterproof for 24 hours. The highly concentrated pigment of the liner creates lusciously smooth lines and is safe for sensitive eyes.  Choose from 13 rich, deep, luminous colors.”  This liner is full sized (4g), and priced at $21.00 at cailyncosmetics.com.

Ipsy62013pssst

Psssst! The TRUE Original Dry Shampoo

Freeman Beauty Psssst! The TRUE Original Dry Shampoo: “Psssst! is the TRUE original Dry Shampoo to put an end to bad hair days! Passed down from generation to generation, and friend to friend, this 40-year Dry Shampoo legacy now includes a system of essentials, dedicated to extending the life of your hair color and style. Lightweight, talc-free formula soaks up oils, sweat, and product build-up, taking hair from dirty, flat and matte to refreshed and revived. Water not required: just spray, brush and go for hair that feels and smells freshly shampooed! Stash in your gym bag, work bag, or overnight bag.” This is the travel sized can available for $2.99 at freemanbeauty.com.

Ipsy62013jcat

J.Cat Beauty Sparkling Cream Palette in Suzie

J.Cat Beauty Sparkling Cream Palette in Suzie: “Everyone loves a little sparkle! Add a healthy dosage of sparkle in your life with the cream palette that comes in a variety of complementing colors. The creamy texture allows the sparkle to be applied easily with an applicator onto your skin.  This product should be used on the body and not on the eye area.”  Product is full size and priced at $4.49 at jcatbeauty.com.

The grand total worth of my June Ipsy bag is $46.48.  I love this bag.  I already own three of the NYX Cream Blushes, so I know I like the formula and Tea Rose is not a shade that I already have.  The Starlooks lip pencil is smooth and nicely pigmented.  I can’t wait to use that and the Cailyn gel liner, which has a lovely creamy formula.  I am so glad that I got Purple, which will be fun to play with.  I’m running out of my Batiste Dry Shampoo, so Psssst! comes at a really good time.  Maybe I’ll do a battle of the brands here on the blog.  And I had no idea that it was a Freeman brand product.  I love the Freeman masks.  The only dud, and it’s a big one, is the horrible JCat glitter palette.  First off, I’m not really one for body glitter.  Second, it’s a terrible formula.  I thought at first that I’d save it for Halloween, but the formula is chunky and patchy.  It makes a huge mess and looks horrible on the skin.  I’ll probably pass it along to my seven year old niece to play with.  What was Ipsy thinking?  Oh well, one bad product can’t spoil how great the bag is overall.  June rocked!

Ipsy62013b

June 2013 Ipsy On the Wild Side

Ipsy is $10.00 a month (plus tax if you live in certain states).  I’ve been a subscriber since October and have been very happy.  I think Ipsy is a great subscription, and definitely recommend it.  Follow this referral link to sign up for your own Ipsy bag.  I can’t wait to see what is in store for next month.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

6 responses »

  1. Ahhh I love Ipsy! The only difference between your bag and mine was that I got a set of false eyelashes (with glue) from J. Cat instead of the dry shampoo. I’m glad I read this post, though; I didn’t realize the cream palette wasn’t supposed to be used on the eye area! If that’s the case (and it is, apparently), I have no idea what to do with it. Oh, well; as you said, everything else in the bag was great! 🙂

    • Yeah, this month was awesome. I agree with you that I prefer the dry shampoo to the lashes. I’m still working my way up to falsies, whereas I love dry shampoo. I can’t wait until next month!

      • Yes, I hope they keep it up lol! I love dry shampoo lately when my hair is a bit flat and dull, wish I could find a good one for brunette hair though. haha and me too, I am alright with falsies, I still feel like a newbie with them though lol. Next month’s sneak peek has got me excited for the bag!

        • I really like the Batiste dry shampoo for dark hair. I can’t remember the exact name right now, but it’s on a brown can and says specifically that it’s for dark hair. It’s a good one.

          • ooo I will have to try it out! Thanks for the suggestion! I have only tried the suave dry shampoo which smells really good, but better for blonde hair, and the Tresemme one. lol

Leave a Reply

