L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder

Standard
LorealLiquidPowderRev

L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder

As promised, today I have L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder to review.  My sister allowed me to borrow her bottle to try out for the blog, so I have the shade 314 Creamy Natural.  Here is what L’Oreal has to say about their Magic Nude Liquid Powder: “Get the ultimate un-makeup look with Magic Nude Liquid Powder Bare Skin Perfecting Makeup with SPF 18. Revolutionary liquid transforms on contact, leaving a soft powder like finish. This foundation is so amazingly lightweight it’s like wearing no makeup at all! Just shake and apply – it’s magic!

First off, let me say that I am really glad to see innovative products like this in the drugstore.  Though I don’t think Liquid Powder is the first of it’s kind, L’Oreal’s version is certainly something different as far as drugstore makeup.  That’s pretty cool.  L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder comes in 12 shades that all run pretty dark.  Creamy Natural is only the third shade in the line, but it is definitely too dark for me.  It isn’t imperative to get a perfect match, however, because the foundation is so sheer that you can fudge the shade and still be fine (more on that later).

L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder comes in a heavy glass bottle with a small opening and no pump.  The bottle does not hold the standard one full fluid once, but holds .91 fl oz instead.  Though I like the luxe feel of the bottle, overall I hate the packaging.  This foundation would have been much better served with a pump because when the say Liquid powder, they aren’t kidding around.  The runny texture can be a huge mess during application.  If you try to pour the foundation on a sponge or the back of your hand, it has the potential to run everywhere.  Unfortunately, the super small opening makes it a pain to get any foundation out of the bottle without pouring.  Look how small it is compared to Revlon’s Nearly Naked below.  It is very poorly designed.

bottleComp

L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder compared to Revlon Nearly Naked

The directions for application that L’Oreal has for the Magic Nude Liquid Powder are: “Shake Well. For best makeup result, pour just a few drops onto fingers and apply directly onto skin. Not recommended for use with a sponge or brush.”  Don’t trust them, they lie.  I tried applying with my fingers and it was a mess.  It didn’t blend into my skin very well at all and clung to my dry patches.  It looked terrible and there was no coverage.  Next, though I figured a sponge would be the best application method, I tried a brush because that is my normal way of applying foundation.  After dotting it on with my fingers and blending it in with a brush, I liked the finish better (no more clingy flaky areas) but Liquid Powder still provided practically no coverage.  Also, the brush sucked up product like crazy.  Finally I went with a damp sponge.  This is definitely the best application method for a super runny formula like this.  I got a smooth, blended finish and was able to build up the coverage a bit with the second layer.  It was still definitely light coverage, but at least it wasn’t so sheer that you couldn’t tell I applied makeup.  It also has a pretty strong smell, somewhat reminiscent of flowers and alcohol.  The scent lingers.

LPswatch

L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder extremely runny formula

Magic Nude Liquid Powder never set fully matte on me.  It was more of a semi-matte finish that had a rather dull cast.  This foundation really did nothing for me.  I did not set it with a powder because  that would defeat the purpose, but unfortunately it could really use it.  Magic Nude Liquid Powder only lasted a few hours before it started to fade.  Around 4 or so hours in, it fades to nothing.  There may be someone with different skin who could wear Magic Nude Liquid Powder and like it, but I’m not that girl.  From start to finish, L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder was a huge fail for me.

In short, I’d recommend passing on L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder.  Though I appreciate the effort, the product really missed the mark.  I don’t have anything positive to say about the product, so let’s just leave it at that. L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder retails for around $12-13.  Save your money and try something else.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. Too bad, because this sounded like such a useful product for those who have good skin but need something to even out their skintone and perhaps a bit of mattifying, but don’t like the sometimes “cakey” look of conventional powder used alone.

  2. I really didn’t like it either. I could never get a good smooth and even look. I have a bad habit of touching my face all the time so it really didn’t last for me.

Leave a Reply

