Products I Regret Buying

Standard
regrets

Products I Regret Buying

Though I generally try to stay positive on this blog, I did a “Products I Regret Buying” post a really long time ago and thought it was time for another one.  Some of these items are newer and some I’ve been sitting on for a while, knowing that I was going to get around to this post eventually.  I personally find posts like this very helpful because in a sea of positive reviews, it’s good to see what product I should not waste my money on.  Obviously we are all different, and just because a product didn’t work for me doesn’t mean that it won’t work for someone else.  However, it’s important to note when a product has problems and then you can decide for yourself if it is worth the risk.

regretsLorac

Lorac Self-Tantalizer Body Bronzing Gradual Self-Tanner

Let’s start with my one higher-end product.  This is Lorac Self-Tantalizer Body Bronzing Gradual Self-Tanner.  I didn’t get the full size product, so this is the travel sized bottle.  I had heard some great reviews for the Lorac self-tanner, but after using it three times, I think it’s terrible.  It looks splotchy on me no matter how I apply it.  With my hands it was a streaky mess.  With a glove I didn’t get streaks, but had odd splotchy places.  Granted, there could be some user error involved, but I didn’t have that problem with other self-tanners I’ve tried.  I’m sensitive to self-tanner smell, and this one was really strong.  I wasn’t thrilled with the color and felt it looked too fake.  Even after it dried, I had problems with transferring color onto clothing.  The worst, though, was that one time my legs got splashed with water and you could see the streaks in my tanner where the water dripped down my leg.  This was on day 2, so it should have been completely dry and set by that point.  This is a terrible product in my opinion, especially for the price.  A full sized bottle is $34.  No thank you.

regretsCabana

Wet n Wild ColorIcon Bronzer in Reserve Your Cabana

I’m going to surprise some of you with Wet n Wild ColorIcon Bronzer in Reserve Your Cabana.  I know that this is a hugely popular product for a subtle highlight.  I’m not into really intense highlighting products, so I thought that it would be perfect for me.  I’ve tried to use it every which way, but Reserve Your Cabana just doesn’t do anything for me.  I think it looks chalky on my skin and the limited payoff isn’t worth the hassle of trying to make it work.  I often see this product pop up in favorites videos on youtube, and I just don’t get it.  I appreciate that, because WnW is so inexpensive, I didn’t waste very much money on it at all, but I still think Reserve Your Cabana is not worth the hype and I could do without.

regretsPrimer

Pixi Brightening Primer No.1 Pearl Essence

Next is the Pixi Brightening Primer.  Now, don’t get this confused with the Pixi Flawless & Poreless Primer which is really great.  To be fair, the Brightening Primer isn’t really bad, per se, but it wasn’t what I was expecting.  The formula is nice and it certainly does brighten, but it’s a little too much going on for my taste.  The primer contains pearl powder that leaves a satin finish with a touch of shimmer on the skin, which looks beautiful at first.  I have dry skin, so I wanted to help it out by giving myself a little illumination.  When my makeup was first applied, it gave a lovely lit from within glow.  The problem came half way through the day as my foundation began to fade.  I looked in the mirror and I looked like an oil slick.  Keep in mind, I have dry skin.  The shiny appearance was all due to this brightening primer.  I felt like I was reflecting light like a disco ball.  As stated above, I prefer subtle highlight and the pearl powder was way too much for me.  I’ve had this product for a long time, and I’m pretty sure that I got it right as it was on it’s way out of Target, but you can still purchase it online.  It has also made me really wary of other liquid illuminators and brightening primers.  I would steer clear, unless you are serious about your illumination.

regretsmascara

Essence I Love Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara

A product that is getting a lot of notice right now is the Essence I Love Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara.  I had seen several really positive reviews about this mascara, so I picked it up a few months back.  I was really surprised at how much I dislike it.  Seriously, I hate this stuff.  First of, it didn’t provide me with any volume at all.  It did give me nice length, but it’s called Crazy Volume, not crazy length.  I had flaking issues every time I wore it.  The worst thing, though was how badly it clumped.  This was a recipe for horrible clumpy spider lashes.  No thank you.  I’ve enjoyed Essence in the past and it’s a very affordable brand, but this is a truly crap product for me.  Mascara is tough to review because everyone has a different expectation or preference for their lashes.  Like I said, this product is getting a lot of positive feedback, but I am not a fan.

regretsRevlon

Revlon Photoready Eye Primer + Brightener

Finally is the Revlon Photoready Eye primer + Brightener.  This product sucks.  It is so terrible.  It has a clicky pen dispenser, and the idea is that it can double as an eye primer and an under eye brightener.  Unfortunately, the product has a greasy formula that will make your shadows crease.  It also doesn’t really brighten because it is so sheer that it completely disappears.  It’s hard to say how long it lasts on the skin because you can’t see it at all.  Truly, of all of the products that I have mentioned today, this is the worst of the lot.  Don’t waste your money on this product.

I hope that this post can save you some money by knowing what products to avoid.  Again, I’m not saying that these products can’t work for other people, and some have many good reviews, but they certainly didn’t work for me.  Hopefully you found this helpful.  If you have tried any of these products, let me know in the comments below what your experiences were.

6 responses »

  1. I’m always looking for a good primer, so I noticed your endorsement of the Pixi Flawless and Poreless Primer. it’s a little expensive, but I was able to score a travel-size tube on eBay for $12 including shipping. That’s less than half the price of the full-size tube and the travel-size is half the size, so I feel like I did okay. I’m looking forward to trying it. Thanks!

    • Yes, the Pixi primer is pretty expensive. For that kind of money, I’d rather buy Benefit Porefessional (which is great), or something along that line. For a non-silicone primer that will save you some $, try Revlon Photoready primer. It’s also really good and it provides a “soft-focus” quality to the skin. I’m partial to silicone primers, but I do really enjoy Revlon Photoready. HTH!

      • I normally use the ELF primer with Benefit Porefessional on top of that and under the foundation. I’ve used the Photoready too but I don’t think it’s that much better than the ELF, which is incredibly cheap. I’ll try almost anything that will do the job.

  2. I found this post weirdly enjoyable! I have the Wet n Wild bronzer you mention and actually really like it as a highlight, but I definitely agree that it’s chalky. It ends up looking okay on me, but my skin’s pretty oily and I’d imagine it could be a problem on drier skin types.

  3. This post cracked me up! I’ve noticed that whenever I buy products you recommend on this blog, I’m really happy with them (Milani baked blushes, NYX stay matte powder, NYX glide on eyeliners, Maybelline color whisper, etc.), but when I strike out on my own, it’s a crap shoot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

