Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation

Standard
FitMe1

Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation

Today I am reviewing the Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation.  I was so excited when this foundation was announced because the stick form is so easy and hassle free, and also so travel friendly.  Foundation in stick form is so rare for the drugstore, and I’m thrilled that the major drugstore brands like L’Oreal and Maybelline are branching out and bringing the innovations of higher-end brands into the drugstore.  So let’s see how Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation stacks up.

FitMe2

Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation

First, here is what Maybelline has to say about the Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation: “Our first gel stick foundation with an anti-shine core.  Fresh gel foundation blends to a flawless matte finish. Get flawless, shine-free skin instantly and on-the-go for tailor-made mattifying coverage. The anti-shine core has ultra-lightweight powders built in to the stick foundation to instantly dissolve excess oil. Available in 12 oil-free shades“.

Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation holds .32 oz of product, which is not a lot and will go quickly.  Just like the original Fit Me liquid foundation, the stick has sheer coverage that can be built up to the lighter side of medium at best.  The gel formula is creamy and smooth, and it glides on like a dream.  It is not drying in any way.  It is lightweight, and feels very nice on the skin.  Maybelline recommends blending out with your fingers, and I second that.  I prefer using either my fingers or a sponge blender for this one.  I felt that my brush buffed out too much of the product and significantly cut down on the already sheer coverage.

For those familiar with the original Fit Me foundation, the shade range doesn’t match up.  I am the shade 130 Buff Beige in the original liquid formula, but 130 Buff Beige in the Fit Me stick is too dark for me unless I am self-tanning, which I was not in the swatch picture.  So, be careful when choosing shades.

FitMe3

Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation in 130 Buff Beige

The Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation gives a semi-matte finish.  If your skin is pretty clear, you may want to skip powder on shorter makeup days.  However, if you need more coverage, or need staying power then you will want to top with a good powder.  Unfortunately, Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation has pretty poor longevity.  It starts to fade out on me withing four hours.  I can’t speak to the oil-control claims because I don’t have oily skin.  I can say that on my dry skin it did not sink into fine lines, but it did slightly cling to dry patches.  There was a day when my skin was having major drying issues, and Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation definitely emphasized the flaky areas.  But on my normal days when I didn’t have extra dryness, I didn’t see any problems with clinging, so it really depends on what your skin is doing.  In general, I feel that the Fit Me line is designed for people with good skin.  If you have clear skin with minor flaws that you want to even out, both Fit Me foundations are good options.  However, if you wear foundation to cover acne scars or discoloration, then you will need to pair the Fit Me foundations with other corrective products.  Personally, I like to use certain BB Creams as primers underneath sheer foundations to give myself extra coverage without having to apply a million layers of foundation.

Overall, Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation is a good idea, but misses the mark for me.  I will still use it on light makeup days when I’m running errands or something like that.  I do really love how fast and easy it is to use because of the convenient stick form.  Being so travel-friendly it is easy to take Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation with you and touch up your foundation at work or on the go.  I like it enough that I’ll use it up, but it isn’t anything to rush out and get.  Pick Maybelline Fit Me Shine-Free Stick Foundation up if it’s on sale, but don’t pay $8-$10 for so little of just an average product.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. I think I’ll give this one a pass. Thank you for such a thorough review! I’ve recently discovered the Cover Girl 3-in-1 foundation, and love it for my combination skin. Although it claims to be primer, foundation, and concealer in one, I still use my Benefit Dr. Feelgood as a primer on my oily spots underneath it. I also put a light dusting of a dimethicone/silica powder over it, also on my oily bits. If you have not as yet tried the Cover Girl 3-in-1, I highly recommend it. It’s one of the few foundations that actually lives up to all the hype the YouTube “gurus” have been giving it!

    • The Cover Girl 3-in-1 foundation is on my list of foundations to try out and review. I’ve heard so many great things about it. I don’t know if I will love it as much as those with oily skin, but I definitely want to give it a go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

