e.l.f. 28-Piece Beach Beauty Day Palette

Standard
elfBeachBeauty1

e.l.f. Essential 28-Piece Beach Beauty Day Palette

I’ve been meaning to get a review up for the e.l.f. Essential 28-Piece Beach Beauty Day Palette for almost a month now.  Where is time going?  Though summer may be winding down for some of you, here in NC we are finally getting a break in the stormy weather and it feels more like summer now than it did all through July.  So, these lovely beachy colors still apply.

elfBeachBeauty2

e.l.f. Essential 28-Piece Beach Beauty Day Palette

The Beach Beauty Day Palette is actually a really neat little palette.  These “beauty book” style palettes that e.l.f. offers seasonally are rather hit and miss, but I was pleased with this one.  Here is what e.l.f. has to say about the 28-Piece Beach Beauty Day Palette: “This convenient 28 piece makeup collection for your eyes, lips and face allows you to create any look that reflects your personal style. The small sleek design is great for travel and on-the-go beauty touch-ups!  Includes: 16 eyeshadow shades, 8 lip colors, 2 blushes, 2 bronzers and a dual-ended applicator.”

elfBeachBeauty3

Beach Beauty Day Palette Eyeshadows

I feel like e.l.f. has really stepped up the quality of their eyeshadow palettes recently.  They have always been decent for how inexpensive they are, but they have also been hit and miss.  Some shades were fabulous, while others were poorly pigmented and chalky in previous editions.  The Beach Beauty Day Palette, however, really delivers in pigmentation and blendability.  It helps that all 16 shades are shimmery.  Shimmer shades is where e.l.f. really shines.

elfBeachBeauty7

Beach Beauty Day Palette Eyeshadow Swatches

Here are some random swatches of the shadows in this palette.  This was over bare skin, no primer.  As you can see, the shadows swatch really well.  The lighter shades are more sheer, but overall, the shadows aren’t bad.  I don’t know if e.l.f. changed their formula or what, but they have been releasing much more consistent palettes in my opinion.

elfBeachBeauty4

Beach Beauty Day Palette Blush and Bronzers

Also included in the Beach Beauty Day Palette are two blushes and two bronzers (though e.l.f. uses that term loosely).  Let’s start with the blush shades.  The larger blush on top is a very pretty peach color.  It has a satin finish with subtle shimmer, very nice for the summer.  The smaller blush is a bubble gum pink shade.  It also has some shimmer, but I’d call it a satin finish.  Both blushes have decent pigmentation and perform well.  The larger bronzer is matte and a good color choice if you have fair skin.  If you have darker skin, it will probably be too light for you, but it’s a great bronzer if you can pull it off.  The smaller shimmery bronzer is ridiculous.  It’s this really intense, warm bronze shimmer shade that is way more appropriate as an eyeshadow than a bronzer.  I like shimmery bronzers in the summer, but I can’t imagine anyone pulling the shade off.

elfBeachBeauty6

Beach Beauty Day Palette Blush and Bronzer Swatches

Again, these swatches are over bare skin.  These are concentrated swatches, but even so, you can see that the darker bronzer probably won’t work no matter how you try to sheer it out.  It’s a gorgeous eyeshadow, though.  The other three face products in the Beach Beauty Day Palette are great additions, especially if you have a lighter skin tone.

elfBeachBeauty5

Beach Beauty Day Palette Lip Colors

The Beach Beauty Day Palette includes 8 lip colors.  I’m not the biggest fan of lip color pans, and I’m especially against palettes that mix cream and powder products with no barrier between them.  E.l.f. didn’t provide any protection for the lip colors, so the powder eyeshadows flaked into them a little.  Of course you can clean them up so that they are still usable, but it’s ugly and annoying and easily solved with smarter packaging.  The lip colors themselves are pretty sheer.

elfBeachBeauty8

Beach Beauty Day Palette Lip Color Swatches

Here are some random swatches of the lip colors.  They can be built up, but they aren’t the best quality.  I like that e.l.f. tried to provide some variety in the lip colors, but the shades are so sheer that it’s hard to see a big difference between some of the shades.  As far as the lip colors go, I am not a big fan.

Overall, I am pleased with the e.l.f. 28-Piece Beach Beauty Day Palette.  It’s quite a bit of product for a very low price.  if you have been disappointed with e.l.f. “Beauty Books” in the past, give this one a try.  The Beach Beauty Day Palette is a cute, travel sized option that can provide a bunch of summer looks.  E.l.f. also offers the Beach Beauty Palette in a “Night” version with different color options.  The Beach Beauty Day Palette is available at Target or on eyeslipsface.com for $6.00.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

Leave a Reply

