Monthly Favorites for July 2013

Standard

Wow, it’s already August 7th!  Crazy!  I am a bit late with my July favorites, and I have a lot of them this month, so let’s just get right into them shall we?

713SelfTan

Jergens Natural Glow and St. Tropez Mitt

I have been doing some self-tanning, and I really like the combo of the Jergens Natural Glow gradual tanner and the St. Tropez tan applicator Mitt.  Jergens Natural Glow has a new formula this year and it’s much better scent-wise.  I am extremely sensitive to that self-tan smell.  It bothers me even when others can’t smell it, so I have a hard time choosing a tanner.  Though the Jergens Natural Glow isn’t scent-free, it’s a milder smell.  If I apply it at night, I’m sleeping while it develops and the scent doesn’t bother me.  I like a gradual tanner because it’s more forgiving if I mess up the application.  I like the color that Jergens Natural Glow (Medium to tan) gives.  I think it looks natural and isn’t orangey.  I also love that it fades evenly because I don’t keep up with my tan like I should.  I’ll do good for a couple weeks and then slack off.  When Jergens Natural Glow fades, it does so evenly and doesn’t leave funky patches or splotches.  It’s a good formula, especially for the price.

713StTropezGlove

St. Tropez tan applicator Mitt

The St. Tropez tan applicator Mitt has completely changed the way I self-tan.  It is so much easier to get a nice, even tan without steaks.  I picked this up for around $5-$6 at Ulta at the beginning of the summer, but I know Ulta has it’s own brand of tanning mitt for around the same price, so it doesn’t have to be the St. tropez brand.

713lipbutter

Nivea Lip Butter in Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss

I’ve been using the Nivea Lip Butter in Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss and really like it.  I wasn’t originally the biggest fan of these lip butters, and I am still not as fond of the Raspberry Rose’ Kiss, but I’ve been won over by the Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss.  The scent is amazing!  It’s so delicious that I want to constantly be applying the lip butter to my lips.  I don’t know that I’ll buy another one because I much prefer my lip balms in stick form, but I have definitely been enjoying Vanilla & Macadamia Kiss.

713liquidmousse

Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse

I have two foundation favorites this month.  After all of my foundation testing lately, I wanted to go back to some that I know and trust.  Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse is a wonderful formula for my skin.  It blends in seamlessly and looks beautiful.  I get the coverage and staying power that I want and never have problems with this foundation.  I’ve mentioned it in favorites many times before and still love it.

713whippedccreme

Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Makeup

I also revisited my Revlon Colorstay Whipped Creme Makeup.  It’s running low, but I have a back up because I didn’t want to be without it.  I’ve mentioned this foundation a million times before, so I won’t go into too much detail.  I think this is one of the best foundations in the drugstore.  The coverage and finish are fabulous.

713elf

e.l.f. Warm Bronzer

I’ve been doing a natural golden bronze look for a good portion of July, and so I pulled out my e.l.f. Warm Bronzer.  I’ve been swirling the shades together and applying it all over my cheek as a blush and highlight combo.  It gives a subtle hint of peachy color and shine that looks really natural, but has that summer glow.  I swatched all of the color cosmetics below, so you can see what I mean.

713WnW

Wet n Wild Sparkle ‘Til Morning

I’ve been loving the Wet n Wild Sparkle ‘Til Morning 8-pan palette.  Even though this was released for winter, I’ve always thought of this one as a summer palette.  It sort of reminds me of the Too Faced Summer Eye palette a little bit.  I’ve been using this for a lovely golden bronze eye with a touch of color.  The gorgeous rust and turquoise shades really make this palette stand out, taking a neutral eye up a notch .  Love it!

713wnw2

Wet n Wild Sparkle ‘Til Morning

Here is a closer look at those two shades.  I know that the Wet n Wild Sparkle ‘Til Morning palette was limited edition, but hopefully WnW will re-release it like they did with the baked palettes and the matte palette.

713Juniper

Juniper Oil-Free Face Moisturizer

This next item I don’t actually have a photo of because I just had a sample, so I snagged this image off of theBalm’s website.  It’s the Juniper Oil-Free Face Moisturizer.  I was originally hesitant because I can’t stand the smell of Juniper, but this stuff is fantastic!  It doesn’t smell like Juniper at all, thank goodness.  The sample that I had was actually pretty big, so I was able to get four uses out of it and really got a chance to experience this rich moisturizer.  TheBalm says: “Juniper Oil-Free Face Moisturizer has a wonderful lightweight texture, perfect for anyone who prefers to live an oil-free lifestyle! A mixture of humectants ensure that your skin is perfectly hydrated throughout the day.  Paraben-free, Synthetic Dye-free, Phthalate-free, Cruelty-free & Made in the USA.”  Though theBalm lists the Juniper Oil-Free Face Moisturizer as for normal to combo skin, I thought is was lush and extremely moisturizing on my dry skin.  This 50 ml jar is available at thebalm.com for $20.  I loved it.

713candle

Bath & Body Wick 3-Wick candle in Tuscan Herbs

Finally, a non-makeup item, the Bath & Body Wick 3-Wick candle in Tuscan Herbs.  I picked this up during the semi-annual sale.  It is a unique scent, and not for everyone, but I love it.  It makes my kitchen smell divine, like basil and parsley and fresh greens.  I’m not sure if the scent is still available at B&BW, but you can still find this candle on Amazon.

713swatches

Wet n Wild Sparkle ‘Til Morning and e.l.f. Warm Bronzer

Here are the swatches of the color cosmetics.  The first two are those shades that I mentioned from the Wet n Wild Sparkle ‘Til Morning palette.  The third swatch is the e.l.f. Warm Bronzer all swirled together.

I hope that you enjoyed my favorites.  July went by in a flash, and I feel so behind.  My two-year blogiversary is coming up on the 12th, and I will be announcing a giveaway to celebrate.  I have a ton of products waiting to be reviewed.  I also plan on doing another 3 looks, 1 palette series.  Busy, busy, busy.  I hope that all of your summers are going well.  Are you excited about fall coming?  I certainly am.  I love fall and winter.  And of course, there will be a ton of new products coming out over the next few months.  🙂

One response »

Leave a Reply

