Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers

Standard
RimmelLacquer1

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers

Today I have two of the Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers for review.  I’m sorry that this review is so long in coming.  I actually thought that I had already reviewed them earlier this summer, but I was mistaken.  I have quite a backlog of posts at the moment and it’s hard to keep track.  So, that being said, let’s get into the review.  I have the shades Light Year and Stellar.

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers were originally released as Apocalips in the UK.  I’m not sure why Rimmel changed the name for the US release, but I think Apocalips is way cuter.  On the upside, the collection’s name change is accompanied by many additional shades.  We have 14 shades of the Show Off Lip Lacquers here in the States, whereas the Apocalips collection only has 7 or 8 shades.

RimmelLacquer2

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers applicator

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers are basically liquid lipsticks.  They have very good pigmentation (like a lipstick)  and a bit of shine, but not nearly enough to be called a gloss.  The doe foot applicator has this nifty little well that deposits just the right amount of product on the lip without having to re-dip the wand.  Both shades that I own apply smoothly and very opaque.

I have a tendency to “eat” off my lip products, and for me, these only lasted a couple hours on my lips.  I have seen other reviews say that they last 3-4 hours, but you will definitely have to re-apply throughout the day.  As the bolder colors fade out, they leave behind a subtle strain, but I would not say that these are lip stains like the L’Oreal Shine Stains.  The main complaint that I have with the Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers is that they dry out as they dry down.  The silky feel that they have when applied does not last, and I definitely feel the need for more hydration.

RimmelLacquer3

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers (L) Light Year (R) Stellar

Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers come in shimmer shades and cream shades.  I have one of each.  Light Year is a medium to dark pinky-brown with subtle shimmer.  It looks super dark in the swatch on my hand, but you will see in the swatch below, it’s lighter on the lips.  Light Year is a gorgeous neutral color and would look wonderful on a wide range of skin tones.

RimmelLacquer5

Light Year

Stellar is a red-toned coral with a cream finish.  It is very bright, and very opaque.  This is a gorgeous, bold shade for people like me who don’t like bright pink, but still want a fun, bright lip color.  I did not use a lip liner in the swatch below, but I definitely recommend one.  This is the type of shade that migrates into fine lines.  It’s an easy fix, though.  I have been trying to branch out of my comfort zone in regards to lip color, and I am so glad that I picked up Stellar.  It’s really beautiful.

RimmelLacquer4

Stellar

Overall, there are pluses and minuses for the Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers.  Although I find them a bit drying (which is a huge minus for me) they are beautiful, easy to apply, and very reasonably priced.  They may be great products for people who aren’t as sensitive to dryness as I am.  They certainly have a large fan base.  I definitely think that Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers are worth a try, if you haven’t already.  But I would recommend just picking up one or two to see how you like them first before getting a slew of shades in the collection.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Great post! I wrote a review of these, too, if you’re interested: http://www.beautybreakdown.net/2013/07/rimmel-show-off-lip-lacquer-review.html

    I find that these lip lacquers tend to migrate a bit. One day I was wearing mine at work and glanced in the mirror only to find that somehow a bit of my lip product had made its way to..the middle of my chin. Figure that one out! Haha good thing I hadn’t been in a meeting or anything. LOL

    Anyway, thanks for the review! I really like the shade Stellar and might pick it up at some point! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Influenster Jolly Box | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

