August 2013 Monthly Favorites

Standard
augfavs2013

August 2013 Monthly Favorites

Before I get into my post for today, I want to let you know that NYX is on sale on Hautelook today.  They have some new offerings and interesting combinations, so be sure to check them out at hautelook.com.  It’s already the 4th of September, so it’s time for Monthly Favorites again.  For those of you who are new to this blog, “Monthly Favorites” are the items that really stood out to me that I reached for over and over again throughout the month.  I was kind of all over the place in terms of makeup throughout August.  I didn’t have a “look” that I kept returning to like I’ve sometimes had in past months.  I do have a good number of products that I continued to reach for, though, so let’s get started.

CGoutlast

Cover Girl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 foundation

A new foundation to me this month is the Cover Girl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 foundation.  I believe that this came out at the beginning of the year and I had been meaning to try it for a long time.  I was hesitant because it’s a long-wearing foundation and those tend to be drying.  I finally gave it a shot after several recommendations and positive reviews and, despite my dry skin, I really enjoyed it.  Cover Girl claims that it is: “All-in-one foundation with a long-lasting formula that fuses primer, concealer, and foundation in one easy step! The 3-in-1 formula provides a flawless look that lasts all day long.”  Though I don’t agree that it is truly a 3-in-1 product, it is a decent foundation.  Let me know if you want me to do a full review of the Cover Girl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 foundation.

SigmaF80

Sigma F80

I have been absolutely loving my new Sigma F80 Flat Top Kabuki Brush.  I jumped on the 20% off sale that Sigma offered last month.  I didn’t think that I would love it as much as I do.  I had heard so many people talk about how great it is, but I didn’t think that there would be that much difference between the F80 and the really good low-cost brushes that I own.  I was wrong.  I don’t know why, maybe it’s how densely packed the bristles are or how super soft they are, but the F80 blends foundation like a dream.  I am going to do an in-depth review of all of the Sigma brushes I purchased during the sale, but I can say right now that the F80 lives up to the hype.

augfavsPrimer

e.l.f. Mineral Infused Face Primer in Tone-Adjusting Green

I’ve been using the e.l.f. Mineral Infused Face Primer in Tone-Adjusting Green.  I think I’ve mentioned the regular clear e.l.f. Mineral Infused Face Primer in a past favorites post.  I wanted to give the green primer a try because of my issues with redness.  I’m not normally a fan of green products because they either sheer out completely and do nothing, or else they give the skin an alien looking gray cast that is really unflattering.  But I figured that, even if I didn’t like the green aspect of it, I knew that I would like the formula of the primer and I did.

augfavsswatch1

e.l.f. Mineral Infused Face Primer in Tone-Adjusting Green

As you can see the primer comes out a a dark mossy green color, which was a surprise.  I didn’t expect it to be so dark.  The right side of the above picture is the primer half-way blended out so that it would still show up on camera.  The color sheers out completely when blended, so I didn’t see it doing much tone adjusting.  It’s not going to cancel out major redness.  Despite that, it is still a good primer and I am certainly getting use out of it.

augfavsMilani

Milani baked bronzer in Soleil

Since it is still summer, I’ve been pulling out my Milani baked bronzer in Soleil.  I don’t usually use shimmery bronzers, but I do like a bit of shimmer in the summer time.  I have reviewed all of the Milani baked products on this blog and mentioned them several times.  In short, they are awesome, go get some (especially the blushes).  This gigantic bronzer is going to last me forever.  I really enjoyed it all through August.

Laceblushby3

Sleek Blush by 3 palette in Lace

I placed an order with Sleek Makeup in July and am really glad that I did.  Sleek is a UK brand that I’ve been wanting to try for years now.  I plan to do a brand review on all of the Sleek products that I got, but one item was definitely a favorite through August.  The middle shade out of the Blush by 3 palette in Lace is called Guipure.  It is an absolutely gorgeous shimmering rose gold that I’ve become completely addicted to.  All three of these blushes are lovely, extremely pigmented and long-lasting, but Guipure caught my attention and did not let go.  I’m looking forward to showing you my Sleek haul and doing reviews because I think that you will be very interested in the products.

augfavsTaupe

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Taupe

I may have mentioned the Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal in Taupe before, but it is worth mentioning again.  I love lining my under eye area with this shade.  It defines without being too bold, and is perfect for the day time.  Rimmel products are so inexpensive and these kajal liners are of great quality.  I’d say Taupe is a must-have.  I have a review on the Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal liners, so simply enter the name into the search box if you want to read more about them.

augfavsMascara

Jordana Best Lash Extreme Volumizing mascara

A new mascara that I have really been enjoying is  the Jordana Best Lash Extreme Volumizing mascara.  I picked this up at Walgreens because I want to possibly do another $20 makeup challenge and wanted to try some inexpensive mascaras.  It was only $3.99, but it performs really well.  I’m impressed.  I have walked out the door with only one coat of mascara on because this does so much for my lashes.  I have sad, puny, short lashes, so I need length and volume.  Jordana delivers for me.

augfavsHoney

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Honey

Finally, For lips I have been loving my Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Honey.  I knew that I would.  I really love those soft mauve-ish, my lips but better shades, and Honey is just that.  I don’t like wearing shades that are too nude because I think I look like a corpse, so shades like this are my version of a natural lip.  I’ve mention the Revlon Balm Stains to death on this blog, so I won’t say too much about them here.  Honey is a perfect no-brainer lip color that you don’t have to think about and looks good with anything.

augfavsswatch2

(L-R) Taupe, Guipure, Honey, Soleil

Here are the swatches of the color cosmetics.  First is the Rimmel liner in taupe, followed by Guipure, that rose gold blush in the Sleek Blush by 3 palette.  The next two swatches are Revlon Honey Balm Stain, and then Milani’s baked bronzer in Soleil.  For some reason Honey is looking pretty dark in this picture.  In real life, it’s a lot lighter.  Check out that gold flip when Guipure hits the light.  It’s such a beautiful blush and no need for an extra highlighting product.

So that’s it.  Those are my favorites for August.  Let me know in the comments below if you want me to review any of the products that I mentioned in this post.  September is shaping up to be a really good month.  The Husband’s birthday is next week, and I will be running in my first 5K this month as well.  We are also gearing up for a Disney World trip in October that I am very excited about.  Summer is winding to a close and I am really excited for Fall.  My favorite time of year is Fall and Winter, so I will not miss the Summer at all.  I can’t wait to be in sweater dresses, leggings, and boots again.  How do you feel about the end of summer?  Let me know.  🙂

5 responses »

  1. I’ve got to pick up one of those balm stain thingies, and Honey looks as though it would be a perfect shade for me. I’m with you — those pink/mauve shades are so flattering.

Leave a Reply

