Ipsy September 2013

Standard
IpsySept2013

Ipsy bag for September 2013

Wow, it’s been a crazy several days!  The Husband had his birthday on Thursday and took Thursday and Friday off to celebrate.  We had another birthday celebration for a friend from work, and in the midst of all of this birthday fun, I ran my first 5k on Saturday.  I’m sorry last week was lacking in posts, but boy howdy, I’ve been busy.  🙂  Anyway, I got that signature pink envelope in the mail that can only mean one thing.  It’s Ispy time again!  September’s theme is “Classic Beauty”: “From Mona Lisa to Monroe, classic beauties have made us swoon from generation to generation. It’s a month to showcase all the gorgeous you’ve got with September’s “Classic Beauty” Glam Bag“.

IpsySept2013jf

John Frieda Full Repair Shampoo and Conditioner

John Frieda Full Repair Shampoo and Conditioner:  “John Freida’s Full Repair Full Body Shampoo contains Inca Inchi Oil, which is rich in omega-3 and reverses the look and feel of damaged hair. A strengthening formula that weightlessly restores hair for full, bouncy styles.  The shampoo protects brittle strands and reduces split ends, while the conditioner detangles strands and reduces the risk of breaking and snagging when combing or brushing hair.” Ipsy is using drugstore.com as the distributor, and the full size bottles are priced at $6.59 for 8.45 fl oz.  The samples are both 1.5 fl oz, and are worth $1.17 each.

IpsySept2013big

Elizabeth Mott It’s So Big Volumizing Mascara

Elizabeth Mott It’s So Big Volumizing Mascara: “An ipsy exclusive launch! This mascara was created using a unique formula that delivers BIG volume and lengthens and curls your lashes without smudging! The hourglass brush ensures that you get the right amount of mascara applied to each lash. Use the It’s So Big Volumizing Mascara with the Lash Card and watch your lashes grow bigger with each layer!”  Full size is $19.99 for 10 ml at elizabethmott.com.  Sample size is 4 ml, worth $7.99.

IpsySept2013nyx

NYX Eyeshadow in Earthy Shimmer

NYX Single Eyeshadow in Earthy Shimmer:  “The NYX Single Eyeshadow packs a punch of color and is incredibly easy to blend. Go edgy or understated effortlessly, and enjoy the luscious, long-wearing color from sunrise to sunset…and beyond!”  This is a full-sized product, worth $4.50 at nyxcosmetics.com.

IpsySept2013sl

Starlooks Kohl Eye Pencil in Obsidian

Starlooks Obsidian Kohl Eye Pencil: “The Starlooks Obsidian Kohl Eye Pencil glide across delicate lids without pulling. Try using this creamy liner to create a smoky eye or use it as a base for eyeshadows on your entire lid. Available in 11 stunning and super saturated shades!”  This is a full size product, worth $12.00 at starlooks.com.

IpsySept2013em

Em Life Palette- Career Life sample

Everyone also received a fold out card for Michelle Phan’s new cosmetic line with a paper sample from one of her new palettes.  This was a freebie and not incuded in the total worth of the bag.

Em Life Palette- Career Life:  “Beauty look: a sophisticated neutral color palette to create a variety of professional looks. Key color palette: just-right tones of brown, gray, taupe and plum for eyes and soft, neutral tones of rose, mauve and peach for lips and cheeks.  36 total shades (24 eyeshadow, 4 blush, 8 lip).”  The full palettes are $75 at emcosmetics.com.

IpsySept2013tag

Ipsy September 2013

The total worth of my September Ipsy bag is $26.83.  I have to say that this bag doesn’t thrill me.  The last four or five bags have been so exciting, but this bag doesn’t have the same wow factor for me.  There were a lot of different products offered this month, and I would have liked some of the others instead.  I’m excited to get the NYX shadow because I love NYX and I always want more green shadows. 😉  I actually already have the full size John Frieda Full Repair Shampoo and Conditioner in my shower right now.  I’ll definitely use the travel size for my vacation in October, but I would have like to sample something that I didn’t already own.  Plus, I feel as though they should have counted as one sample set as opposed to two different samples, so I feel that I got shorted.  I have so many mascara samples right now that I don’t really need another one, and the same goes with eye liners.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure that I’ll get use out of all of these products, but I’d have liked some of the other ones that I saw sent out better.  That being said, the bag is definitely worth more than my $10 subscription fee.  I’m sure that some of the bags sent out this month were great, judging by the products offered, mine was just a little less to my taste.

I’ve been an Ipsy subscriber for almost a full year now, and I’ve been very happy.  A ho-hum bag is the minority.  Usually I am thrilled with my Ipsy bag, and I’ve never been truly dissatisfied with my bag.  If you are interested in your own Ipsy bag, please use my referral link to sign up.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. It’s interesting to see what you got. I got a few different things than you did, but I still wasn’t thrilled with my bag, either. Weirdly enough, I actually think my favorite thing was the free card sample from Em Cosmetics! Oh, well – one underwhelming month doesn’t inspire me to throw in the towel. I still love Ipsy! 😉

  2. I got the Pop lip crayon and I love it!!! I was actually more happy with this month’s bag than my August bag. I love that we got a full eyeliner (haven’t tried it yet) and I take the samples of mascara and use them in my purse and overnight bag. I got the gel eye masks and will use those this weekend. Loved my bag! Love your blog, too 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m glad that you loved your bag and I know that some people who got the same bag that I did loved it as well. I like that Ipsy is offering more variety, I just personally would have liked other items this month. That being said, I still love Ipsy and am very happy with the service.

Leave a Reply

