Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara

Standard
PopMascara2

Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara in POP Purple

Colored lashes are all the rage right now, and there is a decent drugstore version to help you get the look.  I’m talking about Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara.  Extra POP Lash comes in three vibrant shades and a basic black.  I was able to find the Limited Edition display at my local Walgreens, but you should be able to find them wherever Rimmel is sold.

PopMascara1

Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara Display

I purchased Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara in POP Purple.  I’m not sure how I feel about colored lashes, but I wanted to give them a try and I figured that purple would be the most unassuming of the shades for my first go.  There have been other colored drugstore mascaras in the past, most notably Maybelline Great Lash, but the color pay-off has never been that great.  I was hoping that Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara would be something different.  Before we talk about color, however, let’s talk about the formula.

PopMascara3

Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara

Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara is a dryer formula, which I happen to like.  I am not a fan of really wet mascaras, so the dryer formula works for me.  The brush is standard, no frills, and tapers at the end. I had no issues with smearing, smudging or flaking.  Unfortunately, while there were no real problems with the formula, there were also no real pluses to it either.  I have sad, wimpy lashes that need a lot of length and volume from a mascara.  While Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara did alright at lengthening, it didn’t volumize very much.  It did not hold a curl and left my lashes stick straight.  I also found that after the second coat, it trended to clump the lashes, but it did not leave them feeling hard or crunchy.  In general, it’s a ho-hum mascara, not great, but not terrible either.  I recommend layering over a different mascara if you want real volume and curl.

You can see from the picture above that POP Purple is  a medium cool toned purple.  I thought that the color pay-off was decent.  It’s better than Great Lash, but not as good as some of the high-end brands.  I have black lashes to start with, so if you have blond or light brown lashes, you will have really good luck with Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara.  Here is a before picture of my puny little lashes on my naked eye.  I’m not wearing anything but Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara in any of these following pictures so that you can really see the product.

PopMascara4

Naked Lashes

I usually apply two coats of mascara, so that’s what I did here in the following picture.  You can see the purple, definitely, but it’s subtle.  Two coats leave my lashes defined, but still clump free.  I think my lashes  look best with two coats, though not the most purple they could be.  You can click on the pictures below to enlarge them for a better look.

PopMascara5

Two Coats of Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara

The last picture is three coats.  As you can see, my lashes are getting clumpier.  You can see the purple better here, though.  Again, if you have blond or light brown lashes to begin with, you will have a much easier time of getting the color to show.  My lashes are wimpy, but they are dark.

popmascara6

Three Coats of Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara

All in all, I think Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara is a decent choice if you want to play around with color.  I would not buy the black shade in this line because there are definitely better mascaras in the drugstore.  If you want a pop of color, though, for $3.99 this is a viable option.  I am curious as to how the other two shades perform.  I wonder of they would be easier or harder to see on black lashes like mine.  I certainly don’t think that Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara is a must-buy, but at the same time, it’s inexpensive and fun.

What do you think of colored mascara in general?  Have you tried Rimmel Extra POP Lash Mascara?  I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Great review! I think the color mascaras are great for a pop of color on the lower lash line. I’ve seen on tutorials that if you put black mascara first then the color one shows more. I love the purple one.

Leave a Reply

