Jordana Twist and Shine Moisturizing Balm Stain Review

Standard
JordanaTwist1

Jordana Twist and Shine Moisturizing Balm Stain

Today I have two of the Jordana Twist & Shine Moisturizing Balm Stains to review.  Earlier this month I showed you the display of some of the new products out for Fall from Jordana.  One of them was the Twist & Shine Moisturizing Balm Stains.  These really intrigued me because of the similarity to the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains, which I love.  My hope was that Jordana’s version would be just as good (or better), but for half the price.

Here is what Jordana has to say about the Twist & Shine Moisturizing Balm Stains: “Moisturizing Balm Infused with a Light-Weight Stain.  Applies with a Glossy Finish then Transforms into the Perfect Flush of Color.  Long-Lasting, Retractable, No Sharpening Required.”  Shades in the collection include: Nude Chic, Sweet Pink, Tropical Frenzy, Candied Coral, Honey Love, Cranberry Crush, Rock n Rouge, and Terra Crave.

The Jordana Twist & Shine Moisturizing Balm Stains do really remind me of the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains.  They are a little bit more hydrating than the Revlon version, but they aren’t super moisturizing either.  They glide on smoothly and feel really nice and hydrating for the first 45 minutes to an hour, but then they dry down a bit.  I’d say that they fall in between Revlon Balm Stains and Maybelline Color Whispers when it comes to moisture throughout wear.  The Twist & Shine Balm Stains go on with a subtle shine that is not glossy at all.  The shine wears off within the first hour and leaves a satin sheen behind.  The color fades evenly, and the darker shades leave a stain behind, but the lighter shades do not.  They are comfortable on the lips and wear very well.  I get 3-4 hours of wear time if I’m not eating or drinking.  Twist & Shine Balm Stains don’t need to be sharpened, simply twist them up.

I picked up Candied Coral and Cranberry Crush for myself.

JordanaTwistCoral

Jordana Twist and Shine Moisturizing Balm Stain in Candied Coral

Candied Coral is a bright pink-toned coral shade.  While the formula was comfortable, this mod shade is a little tough to wear and it does settle into lines and emphasizes “lip cleavage” (you know what I mean).  If you have young, smooth lips you will probably love this shade, but drier or older lips may look better in another shade.

JordanaTwist2

Jordana Twist and Shine Moisturizing Balm Stain in Candied Coral

JordanaTwistCranberry

Jordana Twist and Shine Moisturizing Balm Stain in Cranberry Crush

Cranberry Crush is a lovely berry shade that can be sheered out or built up to pretty bold color. Unlike Candied Coral, Cranberry Crush is very forgiving.  It does not settle into lines and would look beautiful on almost anyone.  Olive skin tones may have issues with this shade, but otherwise it would be a good choice for a wide range from fair to dark skin tones.  It’s also a great way to dive into the trend for this Fall of berry, wine, and plum lips.

JordanaTwist3

Jordana Twist and Shine Moisturizing Balm Stain in Cranberry Crush

I am very pleased with the Jordana Twist and Shine Moisturizing Balm Stains.  I am definitely going to get more shades.  The best part, is that these great lip products are only $2.99.  You can afford to experiment with many shades at that price.  There is a good selection of nudes, neutrals, pinks, and red.  I definitely recommend checking the Jordana Twist and Shine Moisturizing Balm Stains out.  I find Jordana at Walgreens, but I believe that they are also available at K-Mart and some Wal-Marts.  And of course you can find them online.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Monthly Favorites for September 2013 | Beauty in Budget Blog

  2. Pingback: November 2013 Favorites | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

