Monthly Favorites for September 2013

Standard
Sept2013Favs

Monthly Favorites for September 2013

Is the first week of October already almost over?  How did that happen?  September really flew by for me.  I have my September favorites to show you today, but before we get into them I have couple quick announcements about the schedule for October.  First of all, my anniversary is on Tuesday and The Husband took a couple days off of work for a four-day weekend.  I won’t be posting next week until Wednesday.  Also, the last week of October I will be in Walt Disney World, so there will probably be no posts for that week.  I am going to try to get a couple put together and post-date them for that week, but I’m not sure that I’ll have the time.  Maybe a guest post or two?  I’m not sure yet, but plan on that being a hiatus week.  Thanks for understanding.  Now on to my favorites.  For those of you who are new to this blog, “Monthly Favorites” are the items that really stood out to me that I reached for over and over again throughout the month.  I didn’t have a ton of favorites this month, but the ones that I do have I really, really like.

Sept2013MTcleanse

Michael Todd Honey and Oat Deep Pore Cleanser

The first two products I have as favorites are both from Michael Todd True Organics.  I reviewed the entire line of products in the Dry Skin Regimen here, so be sure to check that post out for a lot of information about the company and each product.  I am especially loving the Honey and Oat Gentle Deep Pore Cleanser.  First of all, it smells like honey suckle or maybe honey and orange blossoms.  It smells amazing.  It leaves my skin feeling so fresh and soft.  I feel like it really cleanses my skin without drying it out in any way.  I love it!

Sept2013MTeye

Intensive Eye Treatment

The other Michael Todd True Organics product that made it into my September favorites is the Intensive Organic Cream Eye Treatment.  Again, be sure to read the full review for more information.  I really love how silky smooth this eye cream is.  It feels so luxe, like I’m treating my skin to high-end spa treatment type stuff.  The best part?  It’s 90% Organic.

mayfalsies

Maybelline The Falsies Big Eyes mascara

Next up is the Maybelline Volume Express The Falsies Big Eyes mascara.  This is the one with the regular brush for your top lashes and the small brush for your bottom lashes.  I don’t usually use mascara on my bottom lashes because I find mascara wands unwieldy on the bottom lashes and I use eyeliner there, so it’s not necessary in my opinion.  But, I wanted to give it a try and maybe skip the bottom liner.  I really like the formula of The Falsies Big Eyes mascara.  It’s not too wet (I like a dryer mascara) and it gives nice length and volume to my sad wimpy lashes.  It doesn’t replace my CoverGirl Lash Blast, or Maybelline the Rocket as my favorite drugstore mascaras, but it’s a nice change and a good option.  I really liked the small brush for bottom lashes.  It was a lot easier to handle than a regular size mascara wand and a good option for when I wanted to do minimal eyeliner.

Sept2013Jordana

Jordana Twist & Shine Balm Stain in Cranberry Crush

I recently reviewed the Jordana Twist & Shine Moisturizing Balm Stain in Cranberry Crush, so you can check out that post for details and swatch photos on my lips.  In short, it’s a chubby lip pencil that goes on smoothly and feels great on the lips.  Cranberry Crush a lovely berry shade that looks beautiful both sheered out and built up for bold color.  I like this one a lot and will be going back for more shades, probably Terra Crave and Honey Love.

jordanaAlmond1

Jordana 12 HR Eyeshadow Pencil in Continuous Almond

Also a new item from Jordana is the 12 HR Made to Last Eyeshadow Pencil in Continuous Almond.  This baby is awesome.  I thought about doing a full review, but since I only have one shade of the 12 HR Made to Last Eyeshadow Pencils and I knew it would be in my favorites, I opted not to.  So, I’ll say a little more than usual here.  If you have tried the Milani Shadow Eyez 12 HR Eyeshadow Pencils then you have an idea of how the Jordana pencils perform.  Milani and Jordana are sister companies, so there is some crossover.  The pencils are smooth and creamy, have great pigmentation, and last all day with no creasing or fading.  They are fabulous bases under powder shadow instead of a primer or can be worn alone.  They really great part is that they are as fabulous as the Milani version (which easily rivals Urban Decay), but for half the price.

jordanaAlmond2

Jordana 12 HR Eyeshadow Pencil in Continuous Almond

Here is a closer look at Continuous Almond.  It’s the perfect nude base.  Milani Shadow Eyez are all shimmery or metallic except for a limited edition collection released this past spring of neutral shades.   Jordana’s Continuous Almond is pretty much a dead on dup for Milani LE Almond Cream.  So, if you missed out, definitely pick up Continuous Almond.  There are eight shades total in the collection, some shimmery and some matte finishes, and they retail for $3.50-$3.99.

That’s it for my September favorites.  Definitely check out my previous reviews for some of these products.  I am very happy that October is here.  As you can tell from the first paragraph of this post, I’ll be pretty busy with some great things to look forward to.  I’m going to try to do a couple Halloween tutorials if I can manage it.  Do you have any requests in that department?  If so, let me know in the comments below, and if you have any questions about the products featured here let me know as well.

4 responses »

  1. Where do you find Jordana products? I don’t think I’ve ever seen them in all my time rooting around various drugstores/Target/Walmart/Ulta… Walgreens?

    • I have only ever seen Jordana at Walgreens. I’ve heard that it’s also available at K-Mart, but I don’t have one near me. You can also get Jordana online at cherryculture.com and jordanacosmetics.com.

  2. Nice review. :)) I would want to try any of those products one of these days. Hope you can post some photos of you wearing the mascara and eyeshadow.. Thanks much..

Leave a Reply

