Essie For the Twil of It

Standard
essieTwilofit1

Essie For the Twil of It

I am really trying not to buy anymore nail polish because I have so many, and for the most part I’ve been successful.  But, when I saw Essie For the Twil of It from the Fall 2013 collection I had to have it.  The only Essie nail polishes I own are the special effects top coats, so they aren’t regular polishes.  I wanted to try Essie and I’m a real sucker for duochromes.  I resisted Essie For the Twil of It for about a month, but I finally caved and am glad that I did.

Essie For the Twil of It is a really beautiful metallic steely gray that shifts from teal to purple.  There is an iridescent shimmer that can be seen in the sun.  It is much darker than WnW Gray’s Anatomy, and Essence Where’s the Party which is also more purple.  It is a dead-on-dup for OPI Peace & Love & OPI, but I’m not a fan of OPI’s formula, so I passed on that one. I definitely think the shade is a must-have for this Fall.

I am loving the formula of Essie For the Twil of It.  It’s metallic, so I did worry about streaking, but Essie seems to level itself out.  It looked a little streaky in application, but it fixed itself after a minute.  Now that’s quality!  I could have gotten away with just one coat because the opacity is really great, but I usually do two, so that’s what I did this time.  I topped with Seche Vite.  I painted my nails Monday night, and now it’s Thursday and there are no chips.  My nails chip pretty fast, so I am really pleased with the longevity.  (I used CND Sticky Base Coat, which may have something to do with it too.)  Pardon the nick on my ring finger.  That one was my fault and I was too lazy to fix it.  You know how it is.

essieTwilofit2

Essie For the Twil of It- direct Sunlight

Here is a shot in the sun where you can see the shimmer come out of that steely gray.  It will go so well with the wine and berry lip colors that are trending for Fall.  All in all, I am very pleased with Essie For the Twil of It, and I’m glad that I broke my ban on buying nail polish for this one.  For the Twil of It get’s my stamp of approval and I think you should check it out.  Essie is available at drugstores, Ulta, and Target.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

