Glamor Cat Halloween Tutorial

Standard
CatTutorial4

Cat Halloween Tutorial

I’m back with another Halloween tutorial, and this time, it’s a cute Cat look.  I wanted to give you some ideas for relatively easy costumes that you could do last minute if you didn’t manage to come up with a plan yet.  A Cat costume is one of the easiest last minute costumes to come by because all you need is a pair of ears and maybe a tail.  Throw on some black clothes and you are good to go.  Cat makeup can be as simple or as complicated as you choose for it to be.  At the most basic, you need winged eyeliner and some painted on whiskers.  The most complicated looks require full face paint and a level of artistry that is beyond my skills.  I went for something in the middle.  This look seems more complicated than it is, but go ahead and adjust it as your skill level demands.  I apologize ahead of time for the weird lighting.  The daylight was going in and out so I couldn’t get the same consistency a I would have liked.  Oh well.  Also, all of my pics can be enlarged by clicking on them.  Enjoy!

CSwarmcat

Coastal Scents 88 Warm palette

I used the Coastal Scents 88 Warm palette for the entire look, but you can use any eyeshadow in your collection.  It only took four shades.  You’ll need a basic matte white, a brown crease color (I chose a shimmery golden brown), a basic matte black (no close up), and a medium matte(ish) brown for the stripes and contour.  Go ahead and apply your foundation as you normally would.  Prime your eyes with your favorite eye primer.  The eyeshadow for this look is very simple because it’s the eyeliner and brows that really stand out.

cat1

Steps 1 and 2

Step 1: After primer, apply the white shadow all over the lid.  You may notice that I have a light tan shade as a transition color, but it ended up not being necessary, so go ahead and skip it.

Step 2: Apply a medium brown shade to the crease.  I opted for a shimmer shade because I love shimmer shadows, but any shade in the medium brown family would work.  An antiqued gold shadow would look lovely here too.  Do what makes you happy, just don’t go too dark.

cat2

Step 3

Step 3: Apply a matte black shadow thinly in the crease.  I have hooded eyes, so I placed the black so that it is just barely seen when my eyes were open.  Don’t go too crazy with the black.  You just want to create depth, you don’t want to smoke it out (or at least I didn’t).  Make sure that you can still see the white on the lid.  Re-apply if necessary.

cat3

Steps 4 and 5

Step 4: With white face paint, or NYX Jumbo pencil in Milk, draw a V down from your forehead and continue it down your nose.  Fill it in, blend it out, and top with the white shadow.  I didn’t make mine too stark because I have large pores and the white really accentuated them.  If you have better skin than I do, the white is adorable, but you can skip this step if it’s not your speed.  Sorry that this isn’t the best picture, but the full face shots should give you the right idea.

Step 5: With a pointed brush, apply a matte brown shadow to the sides of your nose and connect up into the inside of your lid above your crease color.  This isn’t really about contouring as much as re-shaping.  Cats have squared off, boxy noses and that’s the shape that we are going for.

cat4

Step 6

Step 6: Time for the eyebrows.  I used the matte black shadow to fill in my eyebrows like I normally would.  Then with the same angled liner brush, I flicked out the black shadow to look like hair or whiskers.  Cats don’t really have eyebrows, per se, but they have tufts of fur and some whiskers in the eyebrow area, so that’s what we’re going for.  Try to get your brows even, but it doesn’t have to be perfect.  No one is perfectly symmetrical.  Remember, your eyes and brows are sisters, not twins.

cat5

Step 7

Step 7: Line your eyes.  I used a black gel liner and an angled brush.  I wanted a thick, dramatic line.  Wing it out, and bring it all the way to a point in the inner corner.  That makes it look extra feline.

Step 8: Lashes.  Here is where I completely fell down on the job.  I had planned to apply false lashes so that they’d stand out against the black liner.  I recommend doing just that.  However, not only did I forget to apply the falsies, but I forgot my lashes entirely!  I didn’t even use mascara.  How did that happen?  I don’t really know what to say about that.  Definitely use mascara if you try the look.  *headdesk*

cat6

Step 9

Step 9: With the same shadow you used for the nose contour, draw some “stripes” on your forehead.  Two of my stripes are on the white, two are not.  Make the inner stripes longer than the outside stripes.  You can also use this shadow to contour your cheeks.  I used NYC Sunny, but it was a little too warm.  On the cheeks, keep the stripe theme going and make your contour more angular than you normally would.

cat7

Step 10 and 11

Step 10: With face paint or NYX Jumbo pencil, color in your upper lip area all the way up to your nose.  Basically give yourself a white mustache.  Hot, lol!

Step 11: With a black eyeliner pencil (I used UD Zero), color in the tip of your nose.  I felt like a flat top was more cat-like, as opposed to a rounded top.  Bring the liner down to your lip in a straight line in the center.  Instead of drawing in whiskers, I added dots because I thought it would look better.  With everything else so feline, I felt the illusion of whiskers would suffice.  You can draw full whiskers in if you are so inclined.

cat8

Step 12

Step 12: With the same black liner, line your lips and blend the liner down so that you get an ombre effect.  I actually really like the look of my naked lip like this, so you may want to start with a nude lipstick and blend the liner into that.  I ended up using a red lipstick for a glamor cat lip.  The liner turned the red dark and vampy.  Very cool.  One note for safety, if you use eyeliner on your lips, be sure to sanitize it before you use it again on your eye.  You don’t want to cross-contaminate mouth to eyes.  That would be bad.

CatTutorial1

All Done!

And that’s the look.  You can find cat ears all over the place from Halloween stores, to Target or Wal-Mart, even some drugstores.  Black clothes complete the outfit and that can vary from a slinky black dress for a sexy cat, to a more conservative black pants and shirt.  Or, maybe you hopped on the tuxedo top trend and can be a black and white tuxedo cat (trade out the brown stripes for black or dark gray).  There are a lot of options without having to buy anything, which is great if you are running out of time.

CatTutorial3

Cat Halloween Tutorial

I hope that you liked this tutorial.  I enjoyed making it and I love how it came out.  If you missed my Jem (80’s glam rock) tutorial click here to see it.  If you try this look, let me know.  I’d love to see how it works out for you.  🙂

CatTutorial2

Cat Halloween Tutorial

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Halloween Tutorial: Sweet and Sassy Giraffe | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

