Bite Beauty Best Bite Set

Standard
Best Bite Set

Best Bite Set

A fun Holiday gift idea is the Bite Beauty Best Bite Set, exclusive to Sephora.  The Best Bite Set contains four mini High Pigment Matte Pencils from the Bite Beauty brand.  This is a brand that is new to me, but I am very interested and excited to show you this set.  I know that many of you are very concerned with ingredients, and Bite Beauty is certainly a brand to look at. What sets Bite Beauty apart is the use of food-grade ingredients, operating on the theory that you are going to ingest at least a little of your lip products so they better not be bad for you.  I love that idea, and it makes perfect sense to me.  Let’s take a closer look.

Best Bite Set

Best Bite Set

Bite Beauty is a Canadian brand that, as far as I know, is only available at Sephora.  Here is what the Sephora website has to say about the brand: “Bite is beauty for lips that’s good enough to eat. With highly pigmented, trend-forward color palettes, Bite’s hydrating formulas are infused with food-grade ingredients—so your lips feel as gorgeous as they look.  Lips absorb what you put on them. For this reason, Bite avoids petroleum by-products and synthetic chemicals, strictly using nourishing, restorative and antioxidant ingredients. Each Bite bullet is handcrafted without compromise and made in small batches to preserve the hydrating benefits of organic oils, fruit butters, and bioactives—for beauty that’s truly better for you.”

BiteBeauty2

Best Bite Set

The Best Bite Set, like I said above, contains four mini High Pigment Matte Pencils.  They are .05 oz each, and they come in a sleek little reusable tin that is a little larger than an Altoids tin.  The tin has a surprisingly good mirror in the lid, so the set is extremely travel friendly.  The pencils are self-sharpening twist ups.   I really like the packaging, except that the caps can be tough to get off initially. The pencils themselves have the slightest hint of a sweet taste.  They have a rather unfortunate scent during initial application, but the smell fades and is not noticeable during wear.  The formula is creamy and they glide on smoothly.  They are comfortable on the lips, especially considering that they are matte, though I do feel the need to apply gloss or balm after an hour and a half or so.  For me that’s really good.  They last a good long time, and I can easily get four hours of wear.  I’m pleased with the formula.

Best Bite Set

Best Bite Set

There are three permanent shades of High Pigment Matte Pencils in the Best Bite Set, Quince, Madeira, and Rhubarb.  The fourth shade, Cranberry, is (I believe) a limited edition shade for the holiday.  Quince is a bright berry, almost fuchsia shade.  Rhubarb, my favorite, is a dark rosy-mauve shade.  Cranberry is a blue-toned dark red, beautiful for this time of year.  Madeira is a pink-toned nude.  I personally love all of the shades except Madeira because I don’t do nudes.  However, I can make it work by layering it with other shades.  Rhubarb and Cranberry are fantastic for me.  In general, I think the shades are pretty wearable and most people will probably like at least three of them.  Check out the swatch below.

Top to bottom: Quince, Rhubarb, Madeira, Cranberry

Top to bottom: Quince, Rhubarb, Madeira, Cranberry

I really like the Best Bite Set.  It has been a great introduction to the Bite Beauty line for me.  I think the set would be a great gift for someone who likes lip products.  They are wearable shades that should please a wide variety of styles and skin tones.  The set is $25, and is available through Sephora.  For reference, a full sized High Pigment Matte Pencil is $24 for .09 oz.  The Best Bite set gives you more than twice the product for basically the same price.  I definitely think it’s worth it.  It is a limited edition holiday set, so I definitely recommend checking out the Best Bite Set from Bite Beauty while you still can.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Monthly Favorites October 2014 | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

