Ipsy Bag December 2013

Standard
Ipsy Bag December 2013

Ipsy Bag December 2013

The last Ipsy bag for 2013 has arrived and I have it to show to you today.  The theme for December is Celebration, and Ipsy says that there is always a reason to get gorgeous, feel glamorous, and celebrate!  I have mixed feelings about this months bag.  On one hand, it’s satisfactory and I’m really excited about one of the products.  On the other hand, I feel like the last bag of the year, the Holiday bag, should have been better.  I feel like December and January bags should be amazing and knock my socks off, which this bag did not do.  The bag isn’t bad, but it didn’t blow me away.  More likely than not, my lack of enthusiasm is probably due to shade selection.  The products themselves aren’t a problem, but these aren’t the shades that I would have chosen for myself.  At any rate, I’m going to stop babbling and get into the bag.

Ipsy Bag December 2013

Ipsy Bag December 2013

Speaking of the bag, let me just say that I love the actual bag that the products came in this month.  It’s this totally awesome textured black bag that can absolutely be used as a clutch.  It would look fantastic with a holiday dress.  This is my favorite bag of all the bags I’ve received from Ipsy, and I’ve been a subscriber for over a year.  I would totally buy this for myself if I saw it in a store.

Be a Bombshell The One Stick in Flustered

Be a Bombshell The One Stick in Flustered

Be a Bombshell The One Stick in Flustered: “An all-in-one multiple stick with a smooth texture. Apply to eyelids, cheeks or lips for the perfect pop of color anywhere!”  This is a full size sample worth $16 at beabombshell.com.

NYX Extra Creamy Round Lipstick in Goddess

NYX Extra Creamy Round Lipstick in Goddess

NYX Extra Creamy Round Lipstick in Goddess: “A classic lipstick for all occasions that has a mineral-based emollient formula, beautiful velvet texture, saturated color, and resists wear and smudging.”  This is a full size sample worth $4 at nyxcosmetics.com.

IpsyDecLash

Andrea Strip Lash

Andrea Strip Lash: “Be your most beautiful everyday. Andrea lashes are the perfect compliment to your natural beauty. Strip Lashes are lightweight, easy to apply, and comfortable to wear.”  Ulta is the distributor that Ipsy is using for these lashes, and they are $3.99 at ulta.com.

POP Beauty Bright Up Your Life Eye Shadow Trio in Smokin' Hot

POP Beauty Bright Up Your Life Eye Shadow Trio in Smokin’ Hot

POP Beauty Bright Up Your Life Eye Shadow Trio in Smokin’ Hot: “This palette of hues adds definition & intensity to lids, creating a broad range of looks that complements all eye colours. From brightening bare to sultry smoke, these hues blend smoothly onto the lid, adding a veil of silky luster that will outlive the day or night!”  This trio is a sampling from the larger 10-pan Smokin’ Hot palette that retails for $24 at popbeauty.co.uk.  Sample is worth $7.20.

Starrily Nail Polish in Bzzz Bzzz

Starrily Nail Polish in Bzzz Bzzz

Starrily Nail Polish in Bzzz Bzzz: “This nail polish is seriously all the buzz. Features a combo of yellow and black glitters in a clear base. Big 5 Free and not tested on animals. For best results, use as a topcoat.” Mini bottle is listed for $5.00 at starrily.com.

Ipsy

Ipsy

My overall grand total for the December Ipsy bag is $36.19, well over my $10 subscription fee.  Not my favorite bag, but still pretty decent.  Like I said earlier, there isn’t anything wrong with these products, but the shades just aren’t my style.  I don’t see me using the nail polish at all.  I’m also not likely to use the smoky shades in the POP Beauty trio.  I’ll probably end up including them in the products I’m collecting for my next giveaway.  I am trying to experiment with false lashes, so I’ll get some use out of these ones.  I really like NYX Round Lipsticks so it is a good addition to the bag, but when I saw the shade I immediately thought of my mom, so I may just throw it in her stocking.  I am truly excited about the Be a Bombshell The One Stick.  I can’t wait to try it and compare it to the NARS Multiple that I have.  That product and the awesome bag make my December Ipsy an overall success for me.  I am looking forward to seeing what Ipsy has to offer next month for the first bag of 2014.  To get your own Ipsy bag, you can use the referral link listed on the sidebar, or click on this link.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

8 responses »

  1. I agree with you on the colors. They just aren’t universally flattering nor are they very versatile in terms of individual makeup styles.

    I don’t subscribe to any beauty subscription plans because none of them seem to make any effort to tailor the product shades to the individual customer’s coloring and makeup style. It just seems to me this would not be terribly difficult to do. If IPSY did that, even if it raised the cost of the bags a couple of dollars a month, I wouldn’t hesitate to sign up!

    • It is definitely a gamble. I’ve really liked Ipsy overall, and I totally think it’s worth it, but I certainly haven’t liked everything that they have sent me. It would be awesome if part of the beauty style quiz included preferred shades, but as it stands the questions are pretty generic. Oh well.

  2. I like the the shades you got for the The One Stick and NYX lipstick — I got an oddball frosty pink for my The One Stick that’s unflattering on me no matter which way I use it and the lipstick is a dated frosty mocha. I’ll probably toss those off to my sister. Also, my eyelashes are two different sizes — one is noticeably much bigger than the other and I’m afraid to trim it for fear of ruining the set. I always love Ipsy, but I was pretty bummed about the unusable colors I got this time. Props for full sizes and better quality bags though! Ipsy is usually a hit for me. Just got unlucky this time. 😦

Leave a Reply

