WnW LE No Neutral Ground Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley

Standard
No Neutral Ground Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley

No Neutral Ground Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley

I’m a bit late to the table with this post because the Wet n Wild In the Spotlight Collection has been out for a while.  But, this collection didn’t show up in my area until about three weeks ago, so since it is still in stores and many of you may not have gotten access to the collection until recently, I still wanted to show you some swatches.  There are three Color Icon Eyeshadow Medleys in this holiday collection, but the only one that I was really drawn to was No Neutral Ground.  From what I’ve read online, it was definitely the best choice.

Wet n Wild In the Spotlight Collection

Wet n Wild In the Spotlight Collection

Wet n Wild has been disappointing lately.  Their Fergie collection shadows and the Pop Art collection were nowhere near the quality that we have come to expect from the regular Color Icon line.  We know that WnW can do better, and it’s frustrating that they haven’t been living up their potential.  There were some Eyeshadow Medley palettes released in the Spring, but they were hit and miss.  I thought about skipping this round as well, but liked the shades in No Neutral Ground and wanted to give it a chance.  I’m glad that I did, because I feel like WnW is back with this palette.

No Neutral Ground Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley

No Neutral Ground Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley

No Neutral Ground contains eight shades.  The top three are sparkle overcoats.  You can use them as regular shadows, but they are designed to be more sheer and they are glittery.  The three middle shades are normal shadows with a satin shimmer finish.  They have decent pigmentation, not as good as the old WnW 8-pan palettes, but still good.  They aren’t quite as soft as the original 8-pan palettes, which is why they are slightly less pigmented, but that also makes them easier to work with.  There isn’t as much fall-out.  I’ve had no issue with them blending, and with a primer, they are bold and long-lasting.  The two shades on the bottom are matte shadow liners.  These two shades are fantastic.  Super creamy and pigmented, the formula is so good.  I’ve used them both in the crease and as liners, and they work equally well for both uses.

No Neutral Ground Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley

No Neutral Ground Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley

I have read several reviews of the other two Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley palettes from the In the Spotlight Collection and they haven’t been as positive as the reviews for No Neutral Ground.  They haven’t been all bad, but more of a mixed reception, whereas most of the reviews I’ve seen for No Neutral Ground have been positive.  It certainly seems that it’s the best of the three in the collection.  In the Spotlight is limited edition, so if you are interested in any of the palettes, you probably shouldn’t wait too long.  Though I do like this palette, I am concerned that the quality of Wet n Wild shadows simply isn’t as good as it used to be.  I hope that they have learned from the negative feedback that they have received from their 2013 offerings, and that this palette is an example that they will be heading back in the right direction for 2014.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

