Naked 3 Review and Swatches

Standard
Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

Today I have the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette to show you at last.  I’ve had the palette for a little over a week now, and have been able to play with it a little bit, enough to share my thoughts.  Naked 3 is a palette of rose colored neutrals and I think that it rounds out UD’s Naked palette line perfectly.  With the bronze-hued neutrals of the original Naked palette, the taupe neutrals of Naked 2, and now the rose-hued neutrals of Naked 3, what other shades could a neutral lover want?  I think that the Naked 3 palette is beautiful and unique, but the real question is whether or not you need it in you collection.

Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

Naked 3 comes in a very similar packaging to Naked 2.  The difference is that the color is more of a rose gold, and it has a ridged texture.  Though I love the color, I think that the texture is ugly.  But that’s just me.  Otherwise, the packaging is exactly like the Naked 2 with the snap closures and full mirror.  I’ve never had any issues with my Naked 2 packaging, though I know some people have had issues with the lid cracking at the seam.  I never fold the lid all the way back under itself, so that may be part of it.  I’ve traveled with my Naked 2 and it held up fine, so I have no complaints.  The palette comes with a dual ended brush, similar to the Naked 2.  I wish that they had gone back to including an eyeliner like they did with the original Naked.  I would have loved a dual ended liner with a brown and a purple shade.  Oh well.  The brush is fine, but if my Naked 2 brush is any indication, I just won’t end up getting much use out of it.

The shadows themselves are everything we’ve come to expect from Urban Decay: creamy, blendable, and crazy pigmented.  Here is what Urban has to say: “Experiment with 12 NEVER-BEFORE-SEEN (and insanely beautiful) rose-hued neutrals—from pale, shimmery pink to deep black matte with rosy red micro-glitter.  It’s finally here: the long-awaited follow-up Naked and Naked2 (two of the industry’s all-time bestselling palettes)! And this time around, we’re giving you a dozen NEW ways to get Naked. (Yes, we loaded this palette with 12 NEVER-BEFORE-SEEN shades.)  Choose from every finish imaginable: ultra-smooth mattes, gorgeous pearls and glimmering metallics. From the palest, shimmery pink to deep, warm black, these neutrals will make you want to get Naked all over again. Every shade features our Pigment Infusion System, the proprietary blend of ingredients that gives each shade its velvety texture, rich color, serious staying power and blendability.”  I you’ve seen the previous Naked palettes, then you know that matte shades are the minority.  Like in the previous Naked offerings, there are three mattes out of the twelve shadows.  There are a couple glittery shades, and several satin an shimmer shades.  If you are a matte lover, the Naked palettes have never been the best option for you and that has not changed with Naked 3.  However, if you like shimmer this is a really gorgeous palette.

Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette

You can see just by glancing at it that Naked 3 is lot different than the first two Naked palettes.  The shades aren’t similar at all to either of the first two, so you can justify having two (or all three).  The palette is unique to my collection because until this past year I wasn’t that into pink or rose shadows.  I’ve discovered a new appreciation for pinks and purples, so Naked 3 came at a great time for me.  I don’t have the LORAC Unzipped palette or the LE Laura Mercier Artist 2 to compare the shades to, so I’m not sure how similar Naked 3 is to those.  I don’t have anything like Naked 3, which makes it a great addition to my collection.  Let’s get on to the swatches.  You can click on any of my pictures to enlarge.

L-R: Strange Dust, Burnout, Limit

L-R: Strange Dust, Burnout, Limit

The first four shades are:

  • Strange- a matte cream with pink undertones
  • Dust- a glittery icy pink
  • Burnout- a peachy pink satin
  • Limit- a matte dusty rose
L-R: Strange Dust, Burnout, Limit

L-R: Strange Dust, Burnout, Limit

I love Strange and Limit, and think that I’ll get a ton of use out of them.  Strange s a great highlight and Limit is a wonderful transition shade for lighter looks.  Burnout is beautiful too, and all three of these shades are smooth and buttery.  Dust is probably the worst shade in the palette, though not a real dud compared to other brands.  It’s a glittery shade with a lot of fallout and needs to be built up for full color pay-off (which I had to do in the swatch above).  It’s a lovely color, but works best with a sticky base or over other shadows to add some shimmer.

L-R: Buzz, Trick, Nooner, Liar

L-R: Buzz, Trick, Nooner, Liar

The next four in the palette (which appear a little lighter in this picture than they are in real life) are:

  • Buzz- a gorgeous plum-toned, shimmery rose with silver micro-glitter
  • Trick- a metallic rose gold with copper undertones
  • Nooner- a matte mauve that is a bit darker than Limit
  • Liar- a metallic rosy mauve
L-R: Buzz, Trick, Nooner, Liar

L-R: Buzz, Trick, Nooner, Liar

I love Buzz, Nooner, and Liar.  They are similar shades, but different enough to serve different purposes and all three perform perfectly.  Trick is the least pigmented shade in the palette.  It is really beautiful, but has a sheerer formula than the other shadows.  Trick and Dust are the only two shades that  have any complaints about.  The other ten shadows are flawless.

L-R Factory Mugshot, Darkside, Blackheart

L-R Factory Mugshot, Darkside, Blackheart

The final four shades are:

  • Factory- a dark pink-toned brown satin
  • Mugshot- a metallic mushroom taupe with pink undertones
  • Darkside- a deep grayish taupe with purple undertones
  • Blackheart- a blackened purple with red glitter
L-R Factory Mugshot, Darkside, Blackheart

L-R Factory Mugshot, Darkside, Blackheart

These last four shades are smoky and gorgeous.  I’m a taupe lover, so I can’t get enough of Factory, Mugshot, and Darkside.  While Blackheart does contain glitter, it isn’t as messy as Dust.  It’s actually much easier to apply than I initially expected.  I think it’s a much more interesting shade than a typical matte black (of which I have several) and though I don’t think I’ll get as much use out of it as some of the other shades, I do like it.

Blackheart in the sun

Blackheart in the sun

Here is a closer look at Blackheart.  I took this photo in the sun so that you could really see the glitter.  It doesn’t look quite so glittery on the eye.

The Naked 3 Palette also came with a sample four pack of the different Urban Decay Primer Potion options.  You get a decent amount of the Original, Eden, Sin, and Anti-Aging Primer Potion formulas.

Primer Potion Samples

Primer Potion Samples

I am really glad that I got the Naked 3 palette.  It’s a great addition to my collection, and I’ll get good use out of it.  If you like rose tones, then you may really like it as well.  I do not think that this is an “everything you need” palette, though.  What I mean is, though you can create many lovely looks by just using this palette, I feel like it’s better for someone who already has options.  If you have a decent collection, you will probably love this addition.  If you are a makeup beginner and have few shadows, you may want to invest in one of the earlier Naked palettes or a different neutral palette that has more versatility and is more universal.  The Naked 3 color palette will not suit everyone.  I love that it’s different, and I’m not met with more soft matte browns, champagnes, and shimmery bronzes.  I love those type of shades, but how many neutral palettes does one girl need, y’know?  Naked 3 is something else, but those differences do make the palette appeal to a slightly narrower market.  The bottom line is that you need to look at your collection and the shades that appeal to you.  If you think that Naked 3 is a good choice for your situation, then you will not be disappointed.

Naked 3 is available at Sephora and Ulta, as well as Urban Decay’s website.  It does keep selling out, but they are doing a good job of restocking quickly so you should be able to find it soon if you can’t find it now.  Naked 3 retails for $52 at all three retailers.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

