Spotted: New for Spring 2014

Standard

I’ve spotted some of the new displays for 2014 while out around town, so I snapped some pics to show you.  I meant to get these up earlier, but with the Holiday and my husband having the whole week off, I haven’t had much time to post to the blog.  There were several new display to see, so I’m going to split this post up into two, as not to overwhelm you with one giant list.  Let’s start with Revlon, Almay, and CoverGirl.

Revlon Age Defying CC Cream

Revlon Age Defying CC Cream

First up is Revlon Age Defying CC Cream.  I’m a little confused about American CC creams to be honest.  My best guess is that American CC creams fall somewhere in the middle of BB creams (tinted moisturizer)  and regular foundation in terms of pigment.  Of curse true Asian BB and CC creams are completely different, but let’s ignore that for now.  If you like a lighter foundation then you may want to check it out.  Anti-aging benefits are definitely nice to have.

Revlon Photoready Skinlights

Revlon Photoready Skinlights

Legend has it that many years ago, Revlon had a shimmering cream highlighter in a pump tube called Skinlights that was discontinued.  Well now, for 2014, Revlon is bringing it back.  The new Revlon Photoready Skinlights come in squeeze tubes of four shimmering shades.  I have no idea if the formula is the same as their previous incarnation, but if you are a fan of cream highlights (*cough- Benefit Highbeam -cough*) then you may want to take a look.

Revlon Cheek Boutique

Revlon Cheek Boutique

The Revlon Cheek Boutique is a collection of new Revlon blushes for Spring.  There are three new Highlighting palettes, seven (!!!) new powder blushes, and (though you can’t see it in this display) one new cream blush shade.  I haven’t used Revlon blushes myself, but I am excited to see such a large cheek collection with so many shades.  Unfortunately, they look really expensive, so be sure to keep an eye out for a sale.  Ulta often has Revlon buy one get one half off.  If you add in the $3.50 off of $10 coupon that is always available to print off their website you can save a good chunk and get the prices back down to reasonable.

AlmayColorWhipped

Almay Shadow Softies

Almay Shadow Softies are a fun and interesting product.  They are eyeshadows with an unusual texture.  They aren’t powder, cream, or mousse.  They are very similar to the Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blushes that came out a while back in that they smush down and mold like silly putty.  While they may be fun to play with, I’m a little hesitant to pick any up.  I liked the Bouncy Blushes, but I do remember there being issues with pigmentation in the lighter shades.  Also, I’m not sure that I’d like this texture on my eyes.  But, the Shadow Softies are definitely something different, and that’s always worth at least a look.

CoverGirl Spring 2014

CoverGirl Spring 2014

Some new CoverGirl products for Spring 2014 are the Tru Blend Fixstick Concealers and the Tru Magic line of products.  The Fixstick concealers look very similar to the L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Crayon Concealers sticks that came out in 2013.  They are twist-up chubby stick concealers.  I believe that they come in 5 or 6 shades.  An exciting product that is causing quite a buzz is the Tru Magic Skin Perfector.  The Tru Magic line includes the Skin Perfector, the Luminizer (to highlight), and the Sunkisser (to bronze).  While a cream highlighter and bronzer are nothing too innovative, the Skin Perfector is.  Think of it as a pressed silicone primer that is meant to prime or mattify in place of pressed powder.  There are similar products on the market from Smashbox and Mally, but none in the drugstore.  I don’t know how the Tru Magic Skin Perfector performs, but kudos to CoverGirl for working outside the box.

Do any of these new offerings or Spring look interesting to you?  have you tried any of these products already?  let me know in the comments below.  Next week I’ll bring you part two of this post with new products from Sally Hansen, Maybelline, L’Oreal, and Rimmel.  It’s that time of year.  The Spring collections are out and there is a lot to see.  There are a few specific items that I want to pick up over the next month or so, but I am going to be putting myself on a tight budget for most of 2014.  I’ve got some big plans and need to save.  It’s going to be tough with all of the tempting items popping up, though.  I can tell you that for sure.  What products are you looking forward to for Spring 2014?

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

3 responses »

  1. The only thing I find appealing here is the Cover Girl Tru Magic Skin Perfector. As I’m getting older the pores on my nose are ever more visible and I’ve tried everything to hide them. The only thing that has worked a little is the Benefit Porefessional but even that isn’t always effective. I’ve learned that any product that claims to hide pores is guaranteed to make them more visible than ever. But I’m always looking for a new primer/mattifier so I’ll give this a shot.

Leave a Reply

