Perfect Palette Tag

Standard

I have something fun for today.  I’ve been seeing the Perfect Palette tag going around youtube for a while now, and I really wanted to do it here on the blog.  It’s a short, 8 question tag that focuses on palettes, and who doesn’t love palettes?  I decided to set some rules for myself that the palettes have to be pre-arranged (as in no Inglot or Mac (etc.) palettes with shades that I choose myself).  Also, as it worked out, these are all non-drugstore brands.  If you want me to do something like this with drugstore, let me know.  So, now let the fun begin.

Tarte Gorgeous Getaways Palette

Tarte Gorgeous Getaways Palette

Best Packaging: I could have gone many ways with this category, and almost went with my Balm Jovi Palette because it’s adorable, but instead I chose the Tarte Gorgeous Getaways Palette.  Although it is a little bulky, I just love that it has the travel palette so you can take each quad of shadows and a blush with you.  The packaging really sold me on this palette, and I am so glad that I got it.  This one was limited edition for the holidays, so I don’t think that you can still get it (but I could be wrong).  Sorry about that.  I promise that this is the only palette in this post that you can’t get your hands on.

Urban Decay Dangerous palette

Urban Decay Dangerous palette

Best Color Payoff: I chose the Urban Decay Dangerous palette for this category, but really any UD palette would have done.  I went ahead and swatched the shadows so that you could see them.  This is done with no primer and with me just swiping the color once on my hand.  They are all crazy-pigmented and totally gorgeous.  Look at those jewel tones.  Urban Decay has some of the most pigmented shadows on the market, in my opinion.  Even though this came out a long time ago, the Dangerous palette is currently $16 on UD’s website (which is how I got it).

Lorac Pro palette

Lorac Pro palette

Most Versatile:  I had to go with Lorac Pro for the most versatile palette.  It has an entire row of matte and an entire row of shimmer and metallics.  There are many neutral shades, but there are also some color shades to add some variety.  You can accomplish so many looks with this palette and the shadows work really well with each other.  Lorac Pro is one of my favorites and is totally worth the money.

Urban Decay Shattered Face Case

Urban Decay Shattered Face Case

Best for Traveling: I love my Urban Decay Shattered Face Case for traveling.  It’s so compact, but fits an entire face worth of makeup inside (minus foundation and mascara).  The packaging is sturdy, so I don’t worry about it opening or breaking in my bag.  I took the Shattered Face Case to Orlando with me, and I had no problems with it.  It was handy and a good addition.  Urban Decay Shattered Face Case is an Ulta exclusive, and is currently on sale at ulta.com.

TheBalm Shady Lady palettes

TheBalm Shady Lady palettes

Biggest Regret:  So, here’s the deal with TheBalm Shady Lady palettes.  I got these on super sale.  They retail for $39.50 each on thebalm’s website, but I got all three for around $30.  It was a great deal, and they are really good palettes, but I never reach for them because I have other palettes that I like better.  Even though the sale was amazing and theBalm has really good eyeshadow, I shouldn’t have gotten them because I never use them.

the Balm Jovi palette

the Balm Jovi palette

Best Color Names: For me, a music lover, hands down the best shade names are in the Balm Jovi palette by theBalm.  I love everything about this palette, and the packaging is so freakin’ cute.  The shade names just kill me.  Alice Copper, Lead Zeppelin, Third Eye Blinded… I mean come on!  And the classical section is great too.  I had to get this palette as soon as I saw it.

TheBalm Nude Tude

TheBalm Nude Tude

Least Used:  I do not regret getting TheBalm Nude Tude palette because it is really great, but I do not use it as much as I should.  As good as it is, I prefer the Naked 2 and the Lorac Pro for neutral eyes.  I pretty much stopped using Nude Tude as soon as I got Lorac Pro.  I really should go back to it because it’s so pretty and the shadows are really good.

Urban Decay Naked 2

Urban Decay Naked 2

Most Used, Most Loved, Desert Island:  I have to say that my most loved palette is my Urban Decay Naked 2.  I’ve used it so much and it hardly looks like I’ve put a dent in it.  I really love taupe eyeshadow, and the Naked 2 palette is perfect for me.  I like the packaging, and Urban Decay shadows are fantastic.  I had a hard time deciding between this and the Lorac Pro, but I just really really love Naked 2, so it eventually won out.

I hope that you enjoyed this tag.  I had fun putting it together.  I have a ton of palettes because I am addicted to eyeshadow and love palettes so much.  I didn’t realize how many theBalm palettes I have.  I also have quite a bit of Urban Decay.  I definitely need to pull out some of my less loved palettes and show them some attention.  I think I’m pretty set on eyeshadow for a while.  😉

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

8 responses »

  1. I’ve been meaning to do a post based on this tag, too! Such a fun idea. And btw, I have all three Shady Lady palettes, too, and I also rarely use them. Not sure why, but maybe the weird color combinations have something to do with it…. Anyway, great post! 🙂

    • If you do, be sure to comment with the link so that I can go check it out. I’m glad I’m not the only one who let’s the Shady Ladies just sit there. You’re right, it is an odd combination of colors.

    • Totally! I don’t have the Original Naked palette because I feel like those shades aren’t as unique in my collection. I have an over abundance of golds and bronze tones. I’m sure the shadows are awesome, but I really love Naked 2.

    • I’m glad that you liked it. I thought it was really fun too. Every time I saw it in a youtube video, I kept thinking that I had to do it here. Not having enough palettes to do it may not be a bad thing. I have way too much makeup! 😉

Leave a Reply

