E.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipsticks Review and Swatches

Standard
e.l.f. Studio Lipstick

e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick

I took advantage of one of the many e.l.f. sales around the Holidays and picked up quite a few of the e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipsticks, which I have for review today.  E.l.f. says: “The velvety, satin texture glides on lips with vibrant color and luminous shine. Enriched with Shea and Vitamins A, C, & E to nourish and hydrate the lips. The rich, creamy formula seals in moisture for long-lasting wear and comfort.”  To be honest, I am of two minds about these lipsticks.  On one hand they are awesome, and on the other they are very frustrating.  Keep reading to see what I mean.

e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick

e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick

Let’s start with packaging.  The e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipsticks come in squared-off tin or aluminum tubes that are actually really sleek and nice.  There is a colored band to indicate the shade and a sticker on the bottom with the shade name.  They are the same size as a Revlon Lip Butter, but a little taller.  The pointed bullets are a traditional shape and size for easy and precise application.  I personally prefer the pointed bullet shape, as opposed to rounded shape (like Lip Butters or Color Whispers) because I have an easier time maneuvering the angles of my top lip.  I really like the packaging, and think the Studio Lipsticks look great.

e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick

e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick

As for formula, the e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipsticks are creamy and glide on smoothly without tugging.  They feel fantastic on the lips and though they do dry down a little after application, they don’t tighten or feel dry on the lips.  They stay pretty moisturizing for several hours for a very comfortable wear.  I sometimes forget that I am wearing lipstick, because they feel more like a thick lip balm.  They aren’t exactly lightweight, but I wouldn’t call them heavy either.  You will definitely feel like you are wearing something, but they don’t smother your lips like heavy lipsticks sometimes can.  I do not feel like the e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick migrates, settles into lines, or accentuates dry lips.  However, the bolder shades (like red) may feather a bit if you have a lot of fine lines around the mouth.  That’s pretty typical for a lipstick though, so I’m not taking any points away for that.

e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick

e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick

Pigmentation is fantastic.  E.l.f. is a vegan line, and vegan lip colors can tend to suffer in the pigmentation department, but the e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick knocks it out of the park.  I have six of the ten shades in the line, ranging from more nude to bold red and they all apply opaque and vibrant.  The shades swatches above are, from left to right: Cheeky Coral Cutie, Rosy-Go-Round, Ravishing Rose, Velvet Rope, and (on the bottom) Red carpet.

  • Cheeky is a dark nude with pink undertones and some shimmer.
  • Coral Cutie is a bright orange-toned coral stain finish.
  • Rosy-Go-Round is a bright raspberry with a semi-gloss to satin finish.
  • Ravishing Rose is a deep mauve with some brown tones.  It has a satin finish.
  • Velvet Rope is a bright warm-toned orange based red with a semi-glossy finish.
  • Red Carpet is a classic Starlet true-red with a stain finish.

I would be 100% in love with these lipsticks if it weren’t for one rather large problem.  The color fades out on me in about an hour.  *sigh*  The really weird part is that the moisturizing feel lasts for two to three hours, but by then the color is long gone.  I’m not sure what it is about my body chemistry, but it does not agree with the e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipsticks.  I’ve read other reviews that say that they last, but not for me.  When the color fades, it does fade evenly, which is a plus.  No ring around the lips issues.  They do not leave any noticeable stain.  It’s really frustrating that I can’t get more longevity out of these, because otherwise the e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipstick would be fantastic.  They feel great, the colors are beautiful and they are only $3 (though you can often find them for $1.50 like I did).  I would still recommend trying them out to see if they last longer on you than they did on me.  It could be that the problem is my chemistry and not the e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipsticks themselves.

Have you tried the e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipsticks yet?  I’d love to know your experience with them and if you have the same longevity issues that I do.  Let me know in the comments below.

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Hi! I just found your blog on Google:) I like your blog very much so far, and now I’m following. I will be posting my review of the e.l.f. Studio Moisturizing Lipsticks tomorrow. I do like them very much, but they dry my lips a bit after a couple of hours. The colors are really pretty I only purchased 2. I can’t wait to read more on your blog:) I hope you stop by mine http://precious416blog.com here on WordPress.

Leave a Reply

