e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette

Standard
e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette

Today I am bringing you the e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette for review.  I was really interested in the e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette because it looked like it could be an inexpensive alternative to the Urban Decay Face Cases.  You can see my review of the Shattered Face Case here.  Obviously Urban is much better than e.l.f. in quality, but the design of a compact, travel friendly case that contains everything you need is definitely similar.  E.l.f. says of their Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go palette: “Don’t let its small size fool you, this micro-mini palette that packs a HUGE punch, fitting a 22 piece makeup collection right in the palm of your hand! Smaller than your smartphone, enjoy everything you need to beautify your eyes, lips, and face all in a convenient, sleek palette that’s perfect for the girl on the go. Fits easily in any purse or makeup bag, even your pocket!”  Let’s see how it stacks up.

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette

For me, the main selling point of the e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette was packaging.  As soon as I saw it, I thought of the UD Face Case.  I’m sure that was by design since e.l.f. often knocks off higher end products.  (I have no problem with this practice and fully support it.)  So I’m going to talk a bit about packaging and functionality.  The Mini On The Go Palette is really small, much smaller than the UD Face Cases.  It’s about the size of a credit card, but an inch tall.  There are three levels to the palette.  The top level contains ten eyeshadows and a sponge applicator.  The second layer reveals five lip colors and a small lip brush.  The lower layer contains three blushes, a very small blush brush, and a mini mascara.  There is also a full-size mirror attached to the lid, but unlike UD Face Cases where there are mirrors for each layer, e.l.f.’s version can only be accessed when the eyeshadow layer is opened.  Unfortunately, that makes applying the lip and cheek products a little more difficult when actually on the go and having to rely on just this mirror.

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette

I really like the compact design of palettes like this, except that I think e.l.f. tried to jam too many products inside.  There just isn’t enough real estate for 10 shadows, 5 lippies, and 3 blushes, plus tools and a mascara.  Although I think the pan size for the lip products is actually pretty decent, the dime size eyeshadow pans are even smaller than e.l.f.’s usual fare and the blushes are simply ridiculous.  I don’t think that I’ve ever seen blush pans so small and impractical.  What’s even worse is that the pans are set pretty deeply making it almost impossible to get a decent blush brush in there.  The included brushes are cheap and tiny.  I would have preferred a full top layer of three blushes that could actually be used, followed by a lower layer of shadow with fewer pans to accommodate the mascara compartment.  The lip layer alone works in the palette and is functionally designed.

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette

As far as quality, e.l.f. is usually hit and miss, and that’s still true for the  Mini On The Go Palette.  The eyeshadows are chalky and not very pigmented.  there are a few good shades, (specifically the browns, gold, and green) but most of the shadows are lacking.  It’s strange because it seemed like e.l.f.’s formula was improving over the last year or so, and their palettes were getting better.  The Mini On The Go Palette, however, is well below the standard that e.l.f has set.  The lip colors are decently pigmented, but waxy and smelly.  They have a horrible plastic smell that is very unpleasant.  They are a not too drying, nor are they particularly moisturizing.  The shade range is surprising, but the color doesn’t really last very long.  The lip colors aren’t terrible, but they aren’t my cup of tea.  The three blushes are fantastic.  They are pigmented and smooth.  It’s so unfortunate that it is so hard to actually use them because the blushes could have been where this palette really shines.  Unfortunately e.l.f handicapped their best feature by making it almost impossible to get to these great blushes.  Here are some swatches.

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette eyeshadow

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette eyeshadow

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette lip colors

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette lip colors

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette blush

e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette blush

As much as I appreciate e.l.f. trying to give us less expensive alternatives to innovative higher end products, the e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette really missed the mark.  Poor design and poorly formulated products make this a miss for me.  To be fair, I did not try the mascara, so it may be fabulous, but I am generally not a fan of e.l.f. mascaras, so I skipped it.  I think the e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette could have been great if e.l.f. had taken more time and put in more effort.  Unfortunately they just didn’t, and the result is a mediocre product at best.  Right now, the e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette is priced at $10 for 0.66oz/18.65g of product.

Have you tried the e.l.f. Studio 22 Piece Mini On The Go Palette?  What were your thoughts?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Well, shoot. As soon as I saw this I thought, “Ooh, knockoff Face Case!” But it sounds like it really didn’t pan out. Darn – it seemed like such a good idea. Thanks for writing this review and saving me $10! 🙂

Leave a Reply

