Ipsy Bag January 2014

Standard
Ipsy Jan 2014

Ipsy Jan 2014

I  got that bright pink envelope in the mail, which can only mean that it’s Ipsy time again.  If you are new to this blog, Ipsy (formerly My Glam) is a ten dollar subscription service where you receive a cute little makeup bag full of 4-5 deluxe samples and often full-sized products to try out.  They also provide exclusive offers from the brands that were featured for the month.  It’s a really good way to try out new products and brands that you might not otherwise be able to.  January’s bag was full of products to start the new year off with a healthy glow.  So, let’s see what I got.

Proactiv+ Mark Fading Pads

Proactiv+ Mark Fading Pads

Proactiv+ Mark Fading Pads:  “The Proactiv+ Mark Fading Pads are a convenient, single-use, no-rinse peel pad that can instantly boost your skin’s glow and radiance. The pads help remove dead skin cells to unclog pores and remove dull layers to reveal newer, smoother, more even toned skin. With just a few quick swipes you can help fade away post acne dark marks, reduce the appearance of fine lines and enlarged pores.”  The Mark Fading Pads are part of the Proactiv+ Complete Kit along with 4 other products.  They are not sold individually and I have no idea how to calculate the value of these 4 pads, so I’ll estimate them at $0.50 each for a total of $2.

Nourish Organic's Lightweight Moisturizing Face Lotion

Nourish Organic’s Lightweight Moisturizing Face Lotion

Nourish Organic’s Lightweight Moisturizing Face Lotion: “This lotion provides continuous moisture throughout the day while replenishing essential skin nutrients. The advanced, non-greasy formula is also rich in vitamins and antioxidants to boost skin’s defenses and leave skin healthier and younger-looking every day. Moroccan Argan Oil intensely hydrates and replenishes skin.  Rosewater evens out skin tone and smoothes texture.  Shea Butter locks in moisture and improves skin’s elasticity.  100% Natural. USDA-Certified Organic. Fragrance-Free. Alcohol-Free. Ultra gentle for sensitive skin.”  Full size of 1.7 oz retails for $31.99 at nourishorganic.com.  Sample size is .05 oz, worth $6.47

Briogeo Don't Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask

Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask

Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask:  “Repair and treat dry, damaged and breaking hair with Don’t Despair, Repair! deep conditioning mask. Fortified with ultra-hydrating avocado, sweet almond & argan oils, strengthening keratin protein, power-conditioning rosehip oil, soothing aloe, and super hair-essential vitamins B5, D, A, E and biotin. This unique complex of targeted ingredients helps increase hair elasticity and moisture to prevent breakage, promotes healthy shine and luster, and replenishes strength.”  Full size is $26 for 5.25 oz at briogeohair.com.  Sample size is 1 oz, worth $4.95.

Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow in Pearl

Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow in Pearl

Elizabeth Mott Smooth Shadow in Pearl:  “The ultimate gel pencil that’s smooth like butter and packed with deliciously creamy colors. These velvety pencils glide on with ease, and contain just enough shimmer. They’re also waterproof and perfect to wear all day and night, a must have for all color lovers!”  Full size is 1.5 g for $14.99 at elizabethmott.com. Sample is .7 g, worth $7.00.

MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm in Fiesta

MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm in Fiesta

MicaBeauty Tinted Lip Balm in Fiesta:  “MicaBeauty’s 24 hour Tinted Lip Balm conditions your lips without smudge while delivering sophisticated finish. For a sheer wash of color, one swipe is all you need. For a bolder pout, simply apply another swipe and this lip balm will create lips every woman covets. Kiss-proof and smudge-proof!”  Full size is 4g for $30 at micabeauty.com.  Sample is 2.5 g, worth $18.75.

Ipsy Jan 2014

Ipsy Jan 2014

The grand total worth of my January Ipsy bag is around $39.17, depending on how much the Proactiv pads are worth, plus the value of the bag itself (which, frankly, wasn’t that great this month).  Well over my $10 subscription fee as always.  I am pleased with my bag this month.  While nothing made me squeal with delight, I am very happy with almost all of the products that I got.  I was really impressed with the staying power of the two color cosmetics, and will definitely use both the Elizabeth Mott shadow pencil and the Mica Beauty lip balm (which is more of a stain than a balm).  I am excited about the Nourish Organic face lotion and am willing to try the Proactiv pads because my skin does well with salicylic acid.  The only product I will probably not use it the Briogeo hair mask.  I don’t know, maybe I’ll give it a try anyway, but I don’t like getting hair products in my bags.  I’d rather have pretty much anything else.  Other than that, though, my bag was good and I am happy.  Can’t wait until next month.

 

 

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

11 responses »

  1. I got similar products in my bag, though different colors. The organic face lotion is the same. My Elizabeth Mott shadow pencil came in Penny, a gorgeous cool copper with little bits of green shimmer (I love it!), and I got the MicaBeauty tinted lip balm in Natural (I’m not as keen on the balm; feels drying on my lips, and Natural offers a matte finish that looks a little strange on me. Oh, well.) Instead of the hair product, I got a sample of Marula oil, which I rather enjoy. It gave me the opportunity to try a product that I never would have purchased. Now, I’m considering it. Finally, I got Absolute! makeup cleansing wipes instead of the Proactiv pads. All told, I was pretty dang happy with my first Ipsy bag. 🙂

  2. This was my first month subscribing to Ipsy and I received the same bag! I am excited to try out the face products and the smooth shadow pen. Thank you for your post!

  3. This was my second ipsy bag, and I got the exact same stuff you did. The face lotion smells really good (like creamsicle…although I’m not sure how it’s “fragrance free.”) I’m excited for the hair mask, the Proactiv pads, the pencil seems ok and I’m not sure about the lip balm/stain (read that it’s drying.) The bag itself is kind of meh, but overall, I think I prefer this bag to December’s. Can’t wait for February’s! 🙂

  4. It’s weird – I read your Ipsy post every month, and we always get completely different stuff. But this month, we got exactly the same items, right down to the shades of the eyeshadow pencil and tinted lip balm! I wish I understood how their selection system works. 😉

      • Yes, I like my bag this month! I know you said the conditioner was the item that thrilled you the least, but I like it and would suggest giving it a try! And I haven’t tried the eyeshadow pencil yet, but I think it would be a pretty color for the lower waterline. 🙂

Leave a Reply

