Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder

Standard
Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder

Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder

I am very excited to show the the new Maybelline Dream Winder Powder today.  Maybelline discontinued their Dream Matte Powder and added Dream Wonder Powder to their permanent lineup.  I don’t necessarily think that Dream Wonder is a close replacement for those who loved Dream Matte, but I do think that it’s a good addition to the Maybelline line.  For those of you who like pressed powders, Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder is a great new option.

Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder

Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder

Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder comes in a flip up compact with a well for the sponge.  Do not use the sponge that comes with the compact.  Take it as a friendly warning.  I don’t know what Maybelline was thinking when they included this horrible item.  It smells so bad.  The sponge smells like oil and rubber and it is a very potent odor.  And what’s worse, is that the smell clings to skin so that you fingers and face will smell as well.  Just chuck the sponge.  You can easily find replacement sponges that don’t smell to use instead, or you can do what I do and apply the powder with a brush.

Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder

Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder

The formula of the powder itself is very nice.  Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder is smooth and very finely milled.  According to Maybelline, the “Powder is smooth-whipped with 60% less talc, so there’s no chalky dust to cling to flaws. Our powder glides on smoothly for smooth-buffed perfection.”  It’s supposed to feel like a “powder-less powder” that looks like second skin.  I have to say that I agree.  Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder is extremely lightweight and blends into skin seamlessly to give an enhanced and even look that doesn’t look powdery at all.  Dream Wonder Powder minimizes pores and fine lines, and while it doesn’t give the same soft-focus look that, say, Revlon Nearly Naked does, it gives a smoothed over look that hides imperfections.  With my dry skin, I can’t speak to how well it manages oil, but I can say that it doesn’t cling to dry patches or look powdery, so this is great for those with dry skin or older skin.

There are 16 shades in the Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder line.  There is a wonderful selection of light, medium and tan skin tones.  Those who are very fair and those who have very dark skin may have problems finding the right shade.  This is a problem because Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder does have some coverage of it’s own.  I wouldn’t call it a proper powder foundation, but it is not translucent by any means.  It’s a great powder to top off a tinted moisturizer or BB cream for a light, natural look.  If you have really god skin that just needs a little evening, you could probably get away with just using the powder, but the rest of us will need a little more.  Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder wore well on me and stayed for 6+ hours before needing a touch up.

All in all, I think Maybelline Dream Wonder Powder is a great product and recommend it.  It is priced at around $10, but that will vary by location.  Be sure to keep an eye out for sales in the drugstore, and Ulta almost always has a $3.50 off of $10 coupon available to print on the website.  The powder really does look like second skin and blends in flawlessly.  I’d say that it is a win for Maybelline, though people who loved Maybelline Dream Matte Powder may resent the change.  It is not a true replacement, but rather an innovative addition to the line.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

Leave a Reply

