Monthly Favorites January 2014

Standard
January 2014 Favorites

January 2014 Favorites

Today’s post is the first monthly favorites post of 2014.  For those of you who are new to the blog, monthly favorites are those products that particularly stood out to me and ones that I reached for over and over throughout the month.  January’s favorites are more focused on skincare than makeup, but I do have a couple cosmetic items to show as well.  So, let’s get started.

Soap & Glory Hand Food

Soap & Glory Hand Food

I’ve been loving Soap & Glory Hand Food for my dry winter skin.  When the weather is dry and cold like this I feel like applying lotion often, and Soap & Glory Hand Food is very nice and the scent is delightful.  What’s great about it is that Hand Food gives me the moisture that I need without feeling greasy.  The lotion dries down pretty quickly.  I hate lotions that linger after I rub them in and make me want to avoid touching anything for a few minutes.  No one’s got time for that.  Hand Food smells amazing and makes my hands soft without taking up too much of my time.

Weleda Skin Food

Weleda Skin Food

I’ve been using Weleda Skin Food off and on for about a year, but it has been a real savior for me the last two months.  For some reason my feet decided that they wanted to resurface themselves, so they’ve been extra dry, cracking and peeling.  I don’t know what happened because I didn’t to anything different, but my skin just freaked out in a major way.  Using Weleda Skin Food really helped and healed my skin.  It’s a thicker balm-type of product, so it’s great for nighttime use.  It has a very earthy smell, which could be a turn off for some, but it is a little miracle worker for troubled skin.  Weleda is sold at health food stores like Earth Fare and it’s also sold at Target, as well as online.  If you have super dry areas that need a little extra help, I really recommend Weleda Skin Food.

Nivea Kiss of Milk & Honey

Nivea Kiss of Milk & Honey

I have a new favorite lip balm in Nivea Kiss of Milk & Honey.  It is creamy without being waxy.  There is no noticeable taste or scent.  It’s a very unassuming lip balm that feels fantastic and leaves my lip hydrated and happy.  I enjoyed the Nivea lip butter in Macadamia kiss, but don’t like balms that come in a tin.  I prefer this type of convenient mess-free balm.  I really like the formula because it’s extremely moisturizing, but also lightweight.  I am definitely going to stock up.

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer

I bought this Too Faced sample kit from Sephora over the Chistmas buying frenzy, and the Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer was one of the included items.  I have heard so much about what an awesome product it is that I decided I needed to see for myself.  Honestly, bronzer isn’t an item that I get very excited about, so I wasn’t sure how much I’d like Chocolate Soleil.  As it turns out, I really like it a lot.  It’s such a great shade for contouring.  The picture above makes it look warmer and lighter than it does in real life (sorry, I was having lighting issues because of the weather).  In reality, it is a medium matte brown that looks great as a contour shade that’s not too orange, but those with lighter skin may want to use caution.  It would be too dark for fair skin, or those with light skin that use a heavy hand.  (If that’s the case, Milk Chocolate Soleil would be a better shade for you than the original.)  And yes, it does smell very convincingly like chocolate.  Yum!

Maybeline Color Tattoo in Pomegranate Punk

Maybeline Color Tattoo in Pomegranate Punk

I pulled out Maybelline Color Tattoo in Pomegranate Punk this month and have really been enjoying the looks I am creating.  It looks beautiful alone, and also as a color base to use with my Naked 3 palette.  I forget how great these Color Tattoos are, and then I pull one out and get obsessed all over again.  They are especially good for quick and easy looks because you can definitely wear them all by themselves applied with a finger, and they last all day without creasing or fading.  At least they do for me, but I don’t have oily lids to contend with.  Pomegranate Punk is a beautiful shade for brown eyes like mine, and I definitely need to use it more often.

Chocolate Soleil Bronzer on top and Pomegranate Punk on the bottom

Here is a swatch of the makeup items.  Too Faced Chocolate Soleil is on the top, and Pomegranate Punk is on the bottom.  January was a really good month.  2014 has kicked off to a great start and I am looking forward to the months to come, but it has been stressful.  I will be moving across the country later this year and I am realizing just how much is going to be involved in that trek.  I don’t have all of the details (it’s a work thing so there are other factors) and the not knowing is a major stressor in my life.  I am a little “OCD” and find comfort is lists and plans.  Not knowing the when, where, and how is going to cause me issues, so the next few months will be all about a growing experience in learning to let go and trust that things will work out in their own time.  Wish me luck.  :/  On the upside, I have been enjoying the cold winter weather.  I know that many of you are praying for Spring, but I am happy as a clam snuggling up in my sweaters and slippers.  Things are good.  🙂

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. Love the tattoo shadows. I really need to wear mor makeup. I have so much but rarely go anywhere so I just don’t do it. I think I need to make 2 days a week a makeup day just because I deserve to look awesome.
    I also think I might have to let my Lil’ Aubrey try Weleda. winters just play hell on her ,already dry, skin. Sound like this might be good for her.

Leave a Reply

