EOTD: Sweet Valentine’s Look

Standard
Sweet Valentine's Look

Sweet Valentine’s Look

Friday is Valentine’s Day and my husband, who couldn’t wait, gave me an early Valentine’s present with the Maybelline Master Hi-Light blush in Mauve.  I’ve had the blush and one of the bronzers for about a week now, and will be doing a full review later this week.  In the meantime, though, I wanted to post this Eye of the Day.  I loved the colors in Mauve, and thought that they would make really beautiful eyeshadows.  I had planned on doing a golden-pink Eye of the Day for a soft Valentine’s Day look anyway, and this fit really well for that.  I played around a little and took pictures to post.  The lighting is a little warmer than usual because it was starting to get dark outside and I had to use indoor lighting.  I hope you enjoy.

Maybelline Master Hi-Light blush in Mauve

Maybelline Master Hi-Light blush in Mauve

This is Mauve.  I’m a sucker for pretty things, and I could not resist.  I’m on a limited “no-buy” for the year because of our move, so I didn’t want to buy them for myself, but I kept talking about them.  The Hubs listened, and he got me Mauve and Deep Bronze.  They are so pretty!  I have been using Mauve everyday since I got it, but need to play with Deep Bronze a little more before the review.

Sweet Valentine's Look

Sweet Valentine’s Look

For the eye look, I applied the golden shade all over the lid, followed by the light champagne shade to the brow bone and the inner corner.  I used the cranberry shade in the crease, which was pretty warm, so I applied the dark mauve shade over it do deepen it up and give it some dimension.  This look is supposed o be sweet and light for those who don’t do smoky eyes and I think that it works really well for that.  This is totally appropriate for day to night if you are going out right after work for drinks with the girls or dinner with your sweetie.

Sweet Valentine's Look

Sweet Valentine’s Look

I lined my eyes with a combo of black and brown shadow just go give my eye some definition and darken my lash line.  You can definitely do more with liner, but again, I wanted to keep it sweet and simple.  I use Maybelline the Rocket mascara.

Sweet Valentine's Look

Sweet Valentine’s Look

I hope that you like the look.  I am planning to do a bolder, darker Valentine’s look later this week, but it depends on how the weather treats me.  I use natural light for my pictures, so if it’s dark outside, I have a hard time getting good shots.  We are having a winter storm for the next couple of days, so I’ve got my fingers crossed that I can get a look up.  I know the lighting in these shots was different than usual, but was it alright?  I’d really appreciate the feedback on that.  I don’t want to do a EOTD or a tutorial if you can’t really see it, so let me know in the comments below what you think.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush and Bronzer | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

