Ipsy, February 2014

Standard
Ipsy February 2014

Ipsy February 2014

The recent snow has really slowed down the mail here on the East Coast, so I did not receive my Ipsy bag until last night.  Finally.  I’m on a limited “no buy” this year, so Ipsy is important to help satisfy me with new products without going shopping.  The extra wait time before getting my bag was torture.  Especially after seeing everyone else’s bag and all the great stuff inside.  For those who don’t know, Ipsy is a subscription service.  For $10 a month, you will receive a makeup bag containing 4-5 deluxe beauty samples.  You often receive full size products, and the overall value of each bag will vary from month to month, but it is always well over the $10 subscription fee.  The theme for February was “love at first site,” and though I’m not sure I’m quite there, I am pleased with my bag this month.  So let’s get onto the goods.

POP Beauty Plump Pout Mini

POP Beauty Plump Pout Mini

POP Beauty Plump Pout Mini in Peony Petal:This plumping pout perfector combines the high-shine of a lacquered gloss with the long wear of a stain and is packed full of lip-plumping peptides and avocado and jojoba oils. Lightweight, creamy texture immediately merges with lips & delivers intense glossy color for an extremely long-lasting finish!”  Full size is $16 for 8.5g at popbeauty.co.uk.  Sample size is 4g, worth $7.53.

Zoya Nail Polish

Zoya Nail Polish

Zoya Nail Polish in Dot:This season’s Zoya Nail Polish Naturel Collection are full of pure pigment, intense color and modern complexity that are a perfect transition into Spring.”  This is a full size bottle, worth $9 on zoya.com.

Tini Beauty Eyetini Cordial Cream Shadow + Base In One

Tini Beauty Eyetini Cordial Cream Shadow + Base In One

Tini Beauty Eyetini Cordial Cream Shadow + Base In One in Ambrosia:Say goodbye to creasing and fading with Eyetini Eye Cordial Shadow Tint & Base. Eye Cordial’s revolutionary formula glides on beguiling creamy color and sets to a transfer-resistant finish that doubles as a wear-extending base under powder shadow.”  This is a full sized product worth $18 at tinibeauty.com.

IPKN NY Moist & Firm BB

IPKN NY Moist & Firm BB

IPKN NY Moist & Firm BB: “The IPKN NY Moist & Firm BB is a moisture gel matrix with rich hydration and nutrition that effectively moisturizes skin. This BB treatment perfectly adheres to skin just like natural skin for complete coverage. Vitamin E helps healing of damaged skin cells and scars, which promotes skin soothing effects in addition to blemish coverage. Moisture silicone barrier boasts a non-sticky matte feeling, making any additional powder unnecessary. Contains ceramide and collagen, which takes care of internal elasticity and skin lines.”  Full size is 1.3 oz, worth $35 at beautychoice.com.  Sample is .05 oz, worth  $1.35.

City Color Be Matte Blush

City Color Be Matte Blush

City Color Be Matte Blush in Fresh Melon: “Available in 4 shades, this silky-smooth, highly pigmented matte blush compliments and blends evenly with your skin’s natural glow. Extremely buildable to create a subtle or dramatic look.”  This is a full size product worth $2.99 at citycolorbeauty.com.

Ipsy February 2014

Ipsy February 2014

The grand total worth of my February Ipsy bag is $38.87.  Overall, I am really pleased.  I am excited to try the cream shadow because I didn’t know Tini Beauty did anything other than nail polish.  When I first saw the Plump Pout I was a little nervous because I’m not usually a fan of lip plumpers, but I tried it and it doesn’t feel irritating at all.  It’s a pretty color, so I’m happy to have it.  I’m a blush junkie, and that City Colors blush is a very pretty color, so I can’t wait to try it.  I am happy to receive a Zoya polish, which is a great brand, though I wasn’t thrilled with this color.  I already have a polish that is very similar, so I may just include this one in my upcoming giveaway (more on that later).  The only sample that I’m not excited about is the BB cream.  I am willing to try it, but I do wish that the sample was larger.  I don’t mind it, but I for me, I would have rather gotten the Pacifica Body Butter or the Skyn Iceland Mask that I saw others get.  That being said, these are good samples and I am satisfied.  Good job Ipsy, I think I’ll get good use out of this group.  If you are interested in getting your own Ipsy bag, please use this referral link to Ipsy’s website.  I can’t wait to see what Ipsy has for us for March, and hopefully my bag won’t be so late next month.  What did you get in your Ipsy bag?  Were you happy, just satisfied, or was February a disappointment.  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

4 responses »

  1. Annnnnd now we’re back to our bags being different. I got the blush, the Zoya nail polish (although in a different purple color that I really like) and the Pop lipgloss, but instead of the cream eyeshadow and BB cream I got a Mally Beauty eyeliner and a set of false lashes from J. Cat Beauty. I’m really disappointed by the lashes, since Ipsy already sent me a pair in a previous bag a few months ago, and they were really terrible. But otherwise I’m happy!

    • The purple polish shade looked very pretty. I wish I had gotten that one instead. I saw those lashes and they look really long. How is he Mally liner? I’ve heard a lot about the brand, but I haven’t really explored it.

      • I actually haven’t tried the eyeliner I got (it’s silver, which is kind of a weird color & I’m trying to figure out how to use it), but I have another one from Mally and really enjoy it. And the Mally Evercolor Poreless Face Defender is a HG product for me! 🙂

        • That’s interesting. I have the Poreless Face Defender and don’t use it as much as I thought I would. Maybe I’m not using it correctly because I know people rave about it. How do you use it, and what about it works best for you?

Leave a Reply

