New CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup

Standard
CoverGirl True Blend Foundation

CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup

Today I have the new CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup to show you.  I am not normally a big fan of CoverGirl foundations, but I loved the CG Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 foundation so much that I wanted to give the new reformulated CG True Blend a shot.  CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup is described as: “TruBlend Liquid Makeup blends seamlessly for a flawless look. Perfectly matches 99 percent of all skintones. Available in 21 shades – 7 light, 7 medium, and 7 deep to easily find your perfect blend. You won’t know where your makeup ends and your own skin begins!

CoverGirl True Blend Foundation

CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup

You may remember this display picture that I posted a while back of the newly repackaged and (I believe) reformulated CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup.  I never used the old True Blend, but many years ago I did use the CoverGirl Clean Liquid Makeup and wasn’t impressed.  That’s the main reason that I haven’t really explored the CG foundation line.  Cover Girl really expanded the shade selection for the True Blend Liquid Makeup collection.  The shades are broken up into three main shade ranges: light, medium, and deep.  Within those ranges, there are 7 different shades.  In theory, with 21 shades, there should be no problem finding your perfect match.  There are a couple hitches in that plan, though.  First of all, the new shades don’t line up perfectly with the old shades.  For example, the shade L5 is suppose to be Creamy Natural.  I have the CG Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 foundation in Creamy Natural and it matches my skin really well.  Unfortunately L5 is a little dark for me.  I can make it work with strategic use of bronzer, especially now that the warmer months are headed our way, but it would have been nice if the foundation had matched other foundations of the same shade name.  The other issue that I ran into is that CG True Blend oxidizes on me.  I know that CoverGirl is notorious for oxidizing, but I did not have that issue with CG Outlast.  Be really careful when choosing a shade and make sure to check swatches online or use testers if available.

CoverGirl True Blend Foundation L5

CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup in L5

The CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup formula is just average in my opinion.  It’s definitely liquidy and not creamy.  Be sure to shake the bottle up before each use because, as you may be able to see in the photo above, the formula separates easily and often.  (This is a bad sign for someone with oily skin.)  If you are someone who likes light, natural coverage then you may like it very much.  If you have some issues to cover, though, CoverGirl True Blend is not for you.  CoverGirl claims that the foundation is buildable, but I have to disagree.  I always use two coats of foundation.  The first layer applies smoothly and looks really nice.  It’s a little dewy, and looks like skin.  It’s a natural and beautiful finish.  The second layer is a completely different story, however.  The foundation sticks to itself when layered, and the second coat ends up pulling up the first layer when you try to blend.  It ends up looking patchy and terrible.

CoverGirl True Blend Foundation L5

CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup in L5

Here is what CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup looks like when blended out.  This is one layer.  Again, if you don’t have any major flaws that you need to cover up and you like light foundations, you may enjoy CG True Blend.  One layer isn’t enough coverage for me.  Wear-time is okay.  Six hours or so before it starts breaking down.  Again, it’s not bad, but it’s nothing great.  I am not sure how CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup works for those with oily skin, but my guess is that it’s not the best choice.  The shorter wear-time, dewy finish, and high moisture content that makes it separate make me think that it is much better suited for normal to dry skin.  There is a very subtle “makeup” smell if you are really trying hard to find it, but most people won’t notice and it dissipates quickly.  It feels light on the skin and is a comfortable wear.  It’s not bad in certain circumstances, but it does have a lot of room to improve.

Like I said before, CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup is just an average foundation.  I think that some people would really like it if they have the right skin type and minimal coverage needs.  It is definitely not for me, and I think there are enough minuses across the board to say that you can skip it without missing much.  There are other similar foundations that are better quality from L’Oreal or Maybelline.  If you are interested in a really great CoverGirl foundation, I am a big fan of the CG Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 foundation.  I would definitely recommend that one over True Blend.  How about you?  Have you tried CoverGirl True Blend Liquid Makeup?  What were your thoughts?  Let me know in the comments below.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

2 responses »

  1. Darn, I had been hoping this was as good as the 3-in-1, but it sounds like it’s kind of a dud! Thanks for the review. I’ve also been curious about the Cover Girl Whipped Foundation; have you tried that one?

    • Yes I have, and it’s ok, but it has some issues as well. It feels great on the skin, but it has some major longevity issues. It has a satin finish, medium coverage, and is probably best for normal to dry skin because it breaks down easily. Also, the color range is tough and the shades tend toward pink and orange. I much prefer Revlon’s whipped creme foundation.

Leave a Reply

