Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush and Bronzer

Standard
Maybelline Master Hi Light Blush and Bronzer

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush and Bronzer

I finally have my review for the new Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush and Bronzer as promised.  The Master Hi-Light Blushes recently came out as part of Maybelline’s Spring 2014 collection along with the Master Glaze Blush Sticks.  Though the Blush sticks look pretty cool, I was immediately drawn to the Master Hi-Light Blushes because of the beautiful basket weave design and gorgeous color combinations.  I am a sucker for pretty products, and these are very, very pretty.

Maybelline Master Hi Light Blush and Bronzer

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush and Bronzer

The Master Hi-Light Blushes are described as: “Light diffusing Face Studio Master Hi-Light blush and bronzer formulas have an expert balance of shade and shimmer illuminator for natural glow. Skin goes soft lit with zero glitz.”  Make no mistake, these are shimmer products.  The name “Hi-Light” is a really good indicator of what you are going to get.  These are illuminating blush/highlighter combo products, which I actually really love.  I like shimmery blushes because it saves me from having to use separate highlighting products that are often way too shimmery for my taste (theBalm Mary Lumanizer, I’m talking to you).  There are four blushes and two bronzers as part of the permanent collection, though Maybelline did release a Limited Edition Master Hi-Light blush and (I think) bronzer in the new Dare to Go Nude Collection.  The LE shade is in Natural, I believe, and it’s a nude-ish champagne shade as to be expected.  I don’t have information for the LE bronzer.  The four permanent blush shades are Nude, Pink Rose, Coral, and Mauve.  The two bronzers are Light Bronze and Deep Bronze.

Maybelline Master Hi-Light blush in Mauve

Maybelline Master Hi-Light blush in Mauve

I chose to get the blush in Mauve and the bronzer in Deep Bronze.  I loved the shades in both.  Mauve is a warm plum-toned mauve shade with a lot of champagne shimmer.  The blush is finely milled so that the shimmer isn’t over-powering and it blends really well, but not so finely milled that it doesn’t stick to the cheek.  Depending on the brush that you use, there may be a lot of fall-out.  I prefer a duo-fiber stipple brush (e.l.f.’s as a matter of fact) for almost all of my blushes, so I didn’t have much of a fall-out issue, but it really does depend on what you use.  When I swatched the blushes (below) I used the brush that comes in the bottom compartment (it’s the flip up type of packaging) and there was a ton of fall-out, so I definitely don’t recommend using that brush.

Maybelline Master Hi Light Bronzer in Deep Bronze

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Bronzer in Deep Bronze

Deep Bronze is a warm, golden bronze shade.  Again, the Master Hi-Light blushes and bronzers are quite shimmery, so I wouldn’t recommend Deep Bronze for contouring.  It’s a great bronzer shade, though, especially if you have medium or dark skin.  I can’t wait for summer when I have a little more color because this will be excellent on the cheek as a blush for that golden bronze look that is so popular during the summer months.  There is a lot of red in this shade, so it’s more suited for those with neutral or warm undertones in their skin.

Mauve on the left and Deep Bronze on the right

Mauve on the left and Deep Bronze on the right

Here is an extremely concentrated swatch of the two shades.  Obviously you wouldn’t wear them this heavy on the cheek.  But I wanted to show you what they look like when you swirl your finger across all the shades in each product.  Mauve is on the left, and you can really see the champagne and gold blending with the berry and plum shade to create this gorgeous deep rose gold color.  Deep Bronze on the right looks like a molten copper as the two gold shades mix with the brick and dark brown.  Very beautiful.  You can also see that the shimmer is very fine and not chunky glitter at all.

Maybelline Master Hi Light Blush in Mauve

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Mauve

Here is Mauve blended out on the back of my hand.  It is such a unique shade in my opinion.  This is two layers, so you can wear it more sheer if you have a lighter skin tone.  You can also build up the shade even more, but two thin layers are prefect for me.  It wears very well, and didn’t fade on me at all throughout the day.  It is a lightweight product and did not look powdery or patchy.  I was a little concerned that the color wouldn’t be even because of the basket weave, but it looked smooth and even with no single shade sticking out more than the others.

Maybelline Master Hi Light in Deep Bronze

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Bronzer in Deep Bronze

Here is Deep Bronze.  It applied just as well as Mauve, and is a beautiful warm tan.  The only caution I have for Deep Bronze is that it may pull orange on certain skin tones, so I’d avoid it if you have cooler undertones.  Otherwise, it will look lovely.  Again, this is two layers and the shade can be worn more sheer or built up for bolder color as desired.

Maybelline Master Hi Light Blush in Mauve

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Mauve

Here is a pic of me wearing Mauve so you can see what it looks like on the skin.  I am realy impressed with the Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush and Bronzer based on these two shades.  The illuminating sheen that these products provide is simply beautiful, and the cute basket weave design looks pretty in your collection.  I definitely think that you should check them out for yourself.  As an added bonus, as you saw in this post, you can also use these products as eyeshadow palettes.  Both the blush and the bronzer have great shades that work well together on the eyes.  The shades in the Mauve blush are what is on my eyes in the picture above.  I can’t say enough good things about it.  Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush and Bronzer get two thumbs up in my book.

About beautyinbudgetblog

I am a self proclaimed eyeshadow junkie whose main hobbies include shopping, reading, singing, and mainlining caffeine while hanging out with my friends. I love interesting socks and have amassed quite a collection. The place that I want to visit before I die would be Greece. I like to read all seven Harry Potter books once a year the way some people read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. (Sorry JRRT, but JKR kicks butt in my book.) I love art, and use my creativity in many different ways through painting, crafts, and makeup. I love to cook and try new things, and I especially love to eat. My favorite "date" is to go wine tasting, and do so with my husband once or twice a year. I love musical theater and think the world would be much better off if we all just watched more musicals. I am 100% a cat person and, although I think dogs can be really cute and sweet, they make me sneeze so cats will always rule. I love faeries and magic, mythology, theology, philosophy, and psychology. I regularly do logic puzzles and sometimes crosswords. I adore Bette Midler, Betty White, and Carol Burnett. I am not ashamed to admit that I watch Glee. I would like to start making some of my own clothes because I can't stop myself from buying fabric. I'm sure that there is much more, but I'm suddenly distracted by something shiny.

5 responses »

  1. Thanks for the review! I’d been wondering about these, so it’s good to read that you like them. I actually got one of the Maybelline Master Glaze Blush Sticks and I LOVE it, so I think this whole line must be a hit! 🙂

    • You know, I’m not sure. I thought that they were previously released in the UK, but when I went back to check, I couldn’t find where I thought I saw that info, so it could have been a different product I was thinking of. Sorry, I wish that I could be more help.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Favorites (and Fails) for November and December 2015 | Beauty in Budget Blog

Leave a Reply

