February 2014 Monthly Favorites

Standard
February 2014 Favorites

February 2014 Favorites

It’s the last day of February, and you know what that means- it’s time for my Monthly Favorites.  For those of you who are new to the blog, Monthly Favorites are those products that particularly stood out to me and ones that I reached for over and over throughout the month.  To be honest, February was kind of a blur.  I feel like maybe I was on auto-pilot for some of the time because I am not getting as clear an impression of the month as a whole as I usually do.  I’ve been under a lot of stress and I’m having a hell of a time with my insomnia.  You know how it is sometimes, just going through the motions day after day.  Sleep deprivation had a lot to do with it.  Nonetheless, I do have some favorites that made an impression, so let’s get into it.

Maybelline Master Hi-Light blush in Mauve

Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Mauve

In case you couldn’t tell by the rave I gave it in my previous post, I really loved the Maybelline Master Hi-Light Blush in Mauve.  It is such a beautiful shade, and it wears really well.  Mauve has definitely become one of my favorite blushes in my collection.  I find that I am less of a fan of pink blushes.  I like less traditional shades like bright coral or plum.  Mauve fits right in with that.  It gives me a lovely sheen and looks great.  You should definitely check it out, especially because Maybelline is so often Buy one Get one 50% off at Ulta and certain drugstores.

Nivea Kiss of Olive Oil & Lemon

Nivea Kiss of Olive Oil & Lemon

Last month I showed you Nivea Kiss of Milk & Honey in my favorites.  This month I have the Kiss of Olive Oil & Lemon.  I love this line of lip balms!  They are creamy without being waxy, and so moisturizing.  Kiss of Olive Oil & Lemon has a subtle herbal scent that is simply lovely.  It’s a very unassuming scent, so it doesn’t get in the way.  Just like Kiss of Milk & Honey, Kiss of Olive Oil & Lemon feels fantastic and leaves my lips hydrated and very happy.  The lightweight formula is comfortable and works so well at keeping my lips healthy.  Love it!

NYX Studio Perfect Photo Loving Primer

NYX Studio Perfect Photo-Loving Primer

I discovered the NYX Studio Perfect Photo-Loving Primer and have really been enjoying it.  My favorite primer is Smashbox Photo Finish, and this NYX primer is very similar, but only a fraction of the cost.  It’s very smooth and wears well.  I’m not going to go into too much detail right now because I plan on doing another Battle of the Drugstore Primers soon, but just know that NYX Studio Perfect Photo Loving Primer is fantastic, and well worth a try.

Paula's Choice Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask

Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask

Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask has been a lifesaver this month.  According to paulaschoice.com: “This rich cream mask calms redness, stops flakes, and rekindles the glow.”  The combination of experimenting with skincare (more on that later) and the cold temperatures requiring us to let the heater run so much made my skin super dry and flaky.  No bueno.  The Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask is one of the strangest “masks” I’ve ever used.  It’s a thick cream like a heavy moisturizer that should be left on the skin for at last 20 minutes, or you can also use it as an actual moisturizer overnight.  It doesn’t feel sticky or greasy, absorbs easily into the skin, and works like a moisturizer, so that’s how I have been using it.  The difference in my skin is obvious.  Within two days, my skin looked noticeably healthier and felt much better.  If you have issues with dry skin, I definitely recommend the Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask.  The only down side is that you have to order online.

Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia

Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia

I have been loving my new Giorgio Armani Acqua di Gioia rollerball.  I wanted a perfume that was a little more sophisticated than the scents that I usually go toward (Juicy, Ed Hardy) but not too heavy.  What’s great about Acqua di Gioia is that it still smells fresh and clean, but with a grown up sophistication.  It is an aquatic scent, with light citrus and floral notes.  The scent reminds me of a villa in the Mediterranean, so beautiful.  I can see myself wearing this constantly during spring and summer.  Love it!

Bath and Body Works Sensual Amber

Bath and Body Works Sensual Amber

This month I pulled out my Bath and Body Works Sensual Amber Body Lotion and Shower Gel.  It’s is such a lovely and sexy fragrance.  Bath and Body Works describes Sensual Amber as: “The exotic scent of lotus petals enveloped by golden amber and blended with succulent plum and creamy sandalwood.”  This isn’t a year-round scent for me because it is a little more perfume-y than most B&BW scents, but I love it for late summer/early fall, and also late winter.  It’s a great scent for February, especially around Valentines Day.  Sensual Amber is a warm, seductive scent, but not so heavy that I feel weighed down by it.  I really like it.

Lorde Pure Heroine

Lorde Pure Heroine

My final favorite is a lifestyle favorite.  I’m a bit late to the party, but I’ve been obsessed with Lorde’s Pure Heroine album.  Beyond just “Royals” which is a great song, the album as a whole has a cool, indie-pop sound with witty, intelligent lyrics.  The extended version has six additional songs from The Love Club.  It’s a really good album and probably 90% of what I’ve been listening to this month.  It’s hard to believe that Ella Yelich-O’Connor  is so young and I can’t wait to see what she does next.

That’s it for my February favorites.  I hope that you saw something that you liked.  If you have used any of these products, I’d love to know your thoughts.   Leave me a comment below.  And let me know what your favorites were for February.  I am looking forward to March.  I think I am getting my sleep under control, so fingers crossed I will have better luck with it next month.  Things are slowly moving forward with our upcoming move and we still don’t have details like where and when.  The going theory is that we will be moving in late summer, like August or September.  Having a work-related move with the company relocating us is a lot different than our previous moves and a lot more stressful.  We should be getting more details soon, though, so I am hopeful and excited.  It seems that winter is pretty much over in these parts.  I will miss it when it’s gone.  I have really loved the cold temperatures and snowy weather.  Call me crazy, but winter is my favorite time of year, and I’ve enjoyed it.  I can see spring peaking around the corner, trying to take its place.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

